We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
71
88
27
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
88
27
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern hotelsquiet positiongeorgian houseold treescul de sacrabbits running aroundthe main hotel buildingpruneslarge gardengood sizenice groundsdead end roadminutes drive awayfull englishplenty of parkingevening mealbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our way home from Europe, and were very comfortable. The room (ours was in the annex) was well provisioned and of a good size. The main hotel building is a grand old country house with lots of character, and the large area of garden with old trees, lovely shrubs and rabbits running around is very atmospheric, a delight to stroll around and redolent of times gone by. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was beautifully cooked. The hotel is located on the old Norwich Road, now a cul de sac and thus very quiet. All in all a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 865ChristopherW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us; we look forward to your return hopefully in the futhure

Yours Sincerely

Frankie - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Georgian period and a credit to the Best Western brand. Excellent staff. Excellent food and bar (worth exploring). Quaint old world rooms. Awesome breakfast. Will definitely reuse. In a quiet area of Ipswich with occasional horses going past. Particular thanks to the team who stayed a little later to cook me dinner when my flight arrived late into Stansted.

Room Tip: One over the garden is nice.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank MikeTittensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018


Thank you for taking the time to complete the customer review survey. We were thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your loyalty to our brand; please look forward to a warm welcome back in the future.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely Frank Manners - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely quiet location only a few minutes away from the centre of Ipswich. We were made to feel welcome and special from the moment we made the booking to the time we checked out. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty. Again a wonderful experience

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alastair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018


Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had a pleasant stay; we hope you will continue to support us in the future, and we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Frankie Manners-Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Met by friendly, helpful staff. Room large, clean and comfortable with nice view over car park to countryside. Evening meal very good, well presented and extremely delicious. Impressed by the trouble taken to ensure I had a gluten free meal. Staff were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Can only comment on our room, sorry
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your review, we strive to maintain the highest standards for our guests and are happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Frankie Manners – Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Just visiting Ipswich for Mother's Day weekend, this hotel is 5 minutes walk from mother-in-law so we booked for the Saturday night.

Situated by a quiet dead end road, although we had a ground floor room right on the road side of the hotel, we didn't hear any traffic.

Room big enough and the en suite with walk in shower was small but not too cramped.

Tea and coffee plus good storage space plus TV. Bed felt quite firm but we both got a good nights sleep.

Hotel has bar and restaurant although we didn't use either.

Nice grounds and good parking behind.

Would have no problem staying here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rusters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claydon I, Manager at Best Western Gatehouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks you for your feedback, I am pleased that in general your stay was pleasant. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if I can be of any further assistance, many thanks.

Kind regards
Frankie Manners Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews