We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (1,457)
    Filter reviews
    1,458 results
    Traveller rating
    969
    337
    97
    38
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    969
    337
    97
    38
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscopper bathsail loftmarina roomthe penthousesalt housesister hotelscallopsin bury st edmundslovely hotelfront facingsuffolk breakfastafternoon teafree standing bathcar parkbreakfast in bedboutique hotelhuge bed
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,342 - 1,347 of 1,458 reviews
    Reviewed 6 September 2010

    We stayed in a loft sail room on a special champagne deal. Although the food is not michelin quality it is perfectly adequate and the restaurant, hotel and rooms more than make up for it. The room opened out onto the marina and this was most pleasant and we will certainly be going back

    • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MJPR
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 August 2010

    I travel to Ipswich too frequently on business. The Salthouse is the clear winner out of all the hotels that I've stayed in. Rooms are immaculately clean, modern and have a general feel of quality (things like the bathroom fittings and showers). The restaurant is good enough to compete without the hotel's clientele. Good choice for breakfast with everything being freshly prepared or cooked. Staff are friendly, unobtrusive and helpful.Tellingly, there's staff continuity - the night porter has worked there since I can remember and the lady serves the breakfast has been there for a similar time.

    The only problem is parking. There aren't enough spaces for the number of rooms. Valet parking isn't the solution. Parking problems are however to be expected given that the hotel is in a choice location, with the marina at the front and the town behind.

    All in all, it's a superb hotel. It's a benchmark for any hotel in the UK;

    • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank yahooholidays
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 August 2010

    I recently stayed at this hotel for one night.
    The room was dark and had one or two ugly columns. The whole feeling of the room was that it needed refurbishing.
    It was noisy from the outside and I was unable to sleep with the window open.
    There was also a constant humming noise coming from inside too which was not made any easier by not being able to have the windows open. There is a pub/restaurant next door and also a generator or something.
    Breakfast was awful, pancakes like leather. Fruit salad not fresh but straight out of the fridge.
    No, I would not return to this hotel and was glad to leave.

    • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Sallychristine
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 August 2010

    My first visit to Ipswich was made exceptional by the hotel. The staff were all courteous and helpful and food very good. Will stay again when visiting Ipswich.

    • Stayed: August 2010
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ANZ8740
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 August 2010

    I stayed at this hotel with my family in July, as we were going to a family wedding in Ipswich. The hotel was in a stunning location and we had fab views overlooking the harbour. The rooms were really well decorated and the beds were very comfy. The rooms were also big and had everything that we needed apart from air conditioning (note to owner, the rooms get very very hot at night).
    What stood out at this hotel, however, was the friendly service of the staff.
    Nothing was too much trouble for them from when we arrived to when we left. My husband is allergic to feathers so when we phoned reception late on the Friday evening to ask for a change of pillows, the pillows arrived with a smile within minutes.
    Unfortunately my stepdaughter fell ill while we were there and had to stay at the hotel instead of coming to the wedding with us. The staff looked after her above and beyond the call of duty and for this I am very grateful.
    The food in the hotel was of a good standard and so all in all I would say that we had a very pleasant stay.

    • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank travelling_wish
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews