We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An anniversary to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We have just returned from celebrating our wedding anniversary at The Salthouse Harbour Hotel. Although the journey through Ipswich town centre wasn't encouraging, the staff and service was quite exemplary. We originally had a room on the 1st floor but due to an electrical fault we were moved to a very nice room with balcony on the 5th floor. This turned out to be beneficial as there was a quite a lot of rowdy noise from the street below during the early hours of the morning. The restaurant, dinner and service was all good, however I objected to the discretionary 121/2% tip added to the bill, preferring to decide on what amount I give.

Room Tip: Harbour view, higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PFM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear PFM16,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your comments. We're glad we were able receive an 'exemplary' comment from you as that is what we're aiming for. In terms of the discretionary tip; all guests are free to choose whether they tip or not.

With very best wishes,

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Very nice staff drinks very expensive and room was nice but I have never paid £295 for one night very over priced you expect in London but not Ipswich , and that did not include any breakfast or evening meal would rather of stayed in premier inn at quayside for £80 the night including a nice breakfast

Room Tip: Don't eat or drink in there go to next door izacs reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Glenn

Thank you for leaving a review and we’re really glad that you had a good stay. We’re sorry you feel the hotel is overpriced but we are a four star property with a totally unique environment and atmosphere. The restaurant is also highly praised and our staff aim to ensure that every guest’s experience is special. We hope to see you again soon – and perhaps you would phone us direct to make arrangements for your next visit.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The only drawback is locating the hotel via the one way system, so we advise printing out a map... our sat nav became confused. Fortunately, we had left equipped and the signs for the university at the marina made it all much easier. Parking adjacent to the hotel, we were ready for check-in and a glass of Prosecco. "What, no Prosecco?" "No madam, the management suggests an Argentinian sparkling wine that is far superior." So we went with that and duly confirmed their opinion. The room was large, comfortable, well-equipped and containing the copper bath that is featured in all the hotel publicity. We would have preferred more room around the bed with less risk of crashing into the bath in the night, however, but we are getting on a bit! Restaurant food and service were great, views over the marina splendid and watching Ipswich at play on a Sunday was great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Margaret
T
hank you for your review and for taking the time to leave us such great comments. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that the copper bath lived up to expectations. It’s always great to hear when people try something new, and love it, so we’re glad our Argentinian sparkling wine hit the mark.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Receptionist at Check-in and concierge were friendly and helpful.
Hotel is very stylish, modern and clean. Free parking space available.
we've had "Salthouse Front Facing twin". Very spacious and comfortable.
Tiny balcony but the amazing harbour view made up for that. which was my highlight as I love harbours :)
Restaurants and bars in the Hotel and close to the hotel. 7 minutes walk to the nice town of ipswich. We've had a very nice stay and if we'd come back to ipswich we would defintely stay there again.

Room Tip: Salthouse Front Facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngieJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Angie

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we’re so glad you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Harbours certainly have a magic of their own and we’re glad ours obliged by being so picturesque.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We stayed for a couple of night in this hotel and we were very happy with almost everything, the view is amazing, the restaurant was very good, and the room with the copper bath was spacious and beautiful, we will visit again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HenryAnderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Henry

We’re so glad our view wowed you, you loved our food and that your stay was a happy one. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
1.4 km away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 18 in Ipswich
547 reviews
25.7 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
8.5 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
14.4 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
30 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salthouse Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salthouse Harbour Hotel

Address: 1 Neptune Quay, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ipswich
Price Range: €127 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salthouse Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This artfully designed boutique Hotel and Restaurant in Suffolk reflects luxury and dazzles in the waterfront of Ipswich's vibrant Harbour quayside at night. The Salthouse Harbour Hotel goes beyond what you expect and exudes its 4 star status in every curious corner, eccentric sofa and unstuffy cushion. The sea-salted brickwork exterior has been restored & rejuvenated into a ship shape contemporary warehouse of rich modern interiors and rooms adorned with vintage furniture, sculptures and eclectic art. Within its comfy chic decor, although the mood is friendly and relaxed, the staff are professionally attentive to your every need. The cuisine is exciting and the popularity of the Salthouse Eaterie fills this delightful waterfront restaurant as soon as the tables are laid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Salthouse Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salthouse Harbour Ipswich
Hotel Salthouse Harbour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing