We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
pentahotel Ipswich(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$90
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,492)
Filter reviews
1,492 results
Traveller rating
991
347
99
38
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
991
347
99
38
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopper baththe penthousesail loftmarina roomsalt housesister hotelscallopslovely hotelin bury st edmundssuffolk breakfastafternoon teacar parkfront facinghuge bedbreakfast in bedboutique hotelbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,492 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The only drawback is locating the hotel via the one way system, so we advise printing out a map... our sat nav became confused. Fortunately, we had left equipped and the signs for the university at the marina made it all much easier. Parking adjacent to the hotel, we were ready for check-in and a glass of Prosecco. "What, no Prosecco?" "No madam, the management suggests an Argentinian sparkling wine that is far superior." So we went with that and duly confirmed their opinion. The room was large, comfortable, well-equipped and containing the copper bath that is featured in all the hotel publicity. We would have preferred more room around the bed with less risk of crashing into the bath in the night, however, but we are getting on a bit! Restaurant food and service were great, views over the marina splendid and watching Ipswich at play on a Sunday was great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Margaret
T
hank you for your review and for taking the time to leave us such great comments. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that the copper bath lived up to expectations. It’s always great to hear when people try something new, and love it, so we’re glad our Argentinian sparkling wine hit the mark.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Receptionist at Check-in and concierge were friendly and helpful.
Hotel is very stylish, modern and clean. Free parking space available.
we've had "Salthouse Front Facing twin". Very spacious and comfortable.
Tiny balcony but the amazing harbour view made up for that. which was my highlight as I love harbours :)
Restaurants and bars in the Hotel and close to the hotel. 7 minutes walk to the nice town of ipswich. We've had a very nice stay and if we'd come back to ipswich we would defintely stay there again.

Room Tip: Salthouse Front Facing
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngieJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Angie

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we’re so glad you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Harbours certainly have a magic of their own and we’re glad ours obliged by being so picturesque.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We stayed for a couple of night in this hotel and we were very happy with almost everything, the view is amazing, the restaurant was very good, and the room with the copper bath was spacious and beautiful, we will visit again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank HenryAnderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Henry

We’re so glad our view wowed you, you loved our food and that your stay was a happy one. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We were treated to a night at the Salthouse by our children for our silver wedding anniversary. We checked into the sail loft marina room with its wonderful view over the marina. The room was quite large with fantastic balcony doors opening up to give light and views of the harbour. The furnishings were contemporary and comfortable and the room was perfectly laid out. The staff were exemplary from taking our luggage up to the room to serving us lunch outside in the sun so we could watch the world go by. We took dinner in the hotel. This too was to class my only observation was that the hard floor and high ceiling maxe this very busy and popular restaurant somewhat noisy for a couples dinner. Otherwise first class.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Phil

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and we’re so glad that your anniversary stay was such a lovely one. Reading words like ‘perfect’ and ‘exemplary’ really do mirror how we hope our guests feel during a stay at the Salthouse Harbour Hotel.

Thank you too for your comments about the acoustics in the restaurant and we’ll certainly take a look at what can be done here.

Best wishes

Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were two couples both celebrating our respective ruby wedding anniversaries. We were given our rooms which were spacious and comfortable. We had chosen to book under their dining experience. This covered room dinner, bed and breakfast. The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you salthouse harbour for making our weekend happen so easily!

Stayed: October 2017
Thank junior58_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnCowan, Operations Director at Salthouse Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear junior58_13

Thank you for your review and we’re so glad that your ruby wedding anniversary, and that of your friends’, was such an excellent experience for you all. Thank you for choosing the Salthouse Harbour Hotel and we hope we’ll see you again.

With best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews