We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
126
106
25
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
106
25
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great rail journeys five courses silver service elegant dining room traditional hotel superior room small bathroom lovely hotel north wales course evening meal shower curtain the ground floor hotel is situated public areas car park high standard pleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Having attended the Dunoon previously I was really looking forward to my meal. I have to say I was disappointed as were other members of the party. The Hotel had previously been given details of all the meals provided. My dish lamb was tasty but only warm it was returned to the kitchen but didn't appear any warmer second time around. The only potato was a small scoop of mash the vegetables when they did arrive were cool and not particularly appetising. Main courses were still arriving as some people had almost finished. The presentation was more nouveau cuisine than as before good wholesome food. I personally feel it is a retrograde step. Also perhaps if more staff had been employed the meals would have been hot, perhaps.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abbey141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Over night stay with 9 others. Excellent service nothing to much trouble. Myself and Wife Vegans served a delicious breakfast and looked after from the moment we arrived. Would definitely recommend to anyone

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 657melvyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Visited on my own, nice room, staff good, hotel a little worn bit really a pleasant stay.
However at breakfast the hotel really let itself down. Only wanted sausages and beans for breakfast to go on my toast. What came was absolutely atrocious. About two tablespoons of beans and one sausage. Obv

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mobile787459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

This is a quiet and quaint hotel that has charming public areas and excellent staff.

The hotel is situated within the town and is an old, large building. As a result, noise levels can be a little higher than preferred as floorboards can squeak and doors can bang, especially if you have inconsiderate neighbours. Also, as is the case with most local hotels, don't expect great views from your room, especially if you overlook the back of the hotel which is not picturesque by any means.

Sadly during my stay, I think there was a local issue with the drains. Certainly, the bathroom (which was actually well appointed) did smell very strongly throughout my stay and this was intrusive into the bedroom. As I say though, this could have been more of a local problem.

The small car park in the rear of the hotel is a bonus. On a busy rally weekend I had no issues securing a spot.

Good breakfast and a very enjoyable and comfortable stay all in all- excellent comfy beds and nice linen.

I would return for another short stay if the hotel was convenient to an event I was attending.

Room tip: Front facing still will not have good views but will be better than those facing the back
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterTravel_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here recently and received a lovely warm welcome, all the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the waiters in the restaurant, nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was always outstanding and all local produce used. Rooms were clean and bathroons stocked with Moulton Brown toiletries, which was a nice touch. This hotel is in an excellent location in Llandudno, a short distance from all local amenities. Have had a very enjoyable stay and definitely looking forward to returning.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lotterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews