We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
483
122
41
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
122
41
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conwy castle national trust the cottages country house the main house private garden formal gardens small kitchen no tea or coffee making facilities drawing room historic hotel dining room north wales steam room public rooms bodnant gardens birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Four of us stayed in this cosy country house owned by the Natural Trust and once again we enjoyed the cosy ambiance, the pleasant staff and this time we discovered the tower!!. The gardens are a delight and dinner and breakfast were excellent. This is definitely worth a visit and there are special deals from time to time

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

At the last minute I’d opted to extend a short break in North Wales with a night at this National Trust property. It proved to be a wise decision. The hotel, part of which is thought to date back to the 13th century, is situated on a hill surrounded by acres of mature parkland, a world away from the busy resort of Llandudno just a couple of miles away. Access to the main hall from the car park is by a potentially challenging flight of stone steps, although guests with mobility problems can drive directly to the main entrance and staff are happy to assist with luggage.
I was staying in the main hall: accommodation is also available in cottages in the grounds. Having checked in, I was shown to my superior double room on the second floor where I was given a quick briefing on the hotel’s facilities and was offered refreshments. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, just water and homemade biscuits, so anything else has to be ordered from room service.
The large room had a double bed (actually two singles pushed together), dressing table, two phones, TV, DVD player and free wi-fi (no problems connecting). The predominantly cream colour scheme made the most of the natural light from the leaded windows with their coloured glass borders and views over the grounds. The bathroom with bath, over-bath shower and large washbasin was accessed through double doors and down a flight of five steps. Bathrobes and quality toiletries were supplied. The toilet was through a door off the bathroom with a further step to negotiate.
The public areas were everything you would expect from a country house hotel: portraits and stags’ heads lining the staircase, the elegant first-floor drawing room and the main dining room with chandeliers and a huge fireplace. There’s no bar as such: drinks can be served anywhere in the hotel, but most guests seemed to favour the refined atmosphere of the wood-panelled lounge with its well-stuffed sofas and cosy fire for a pre-dinner drink. During my short stay I didn’t make use of the spa facilities (in a separate building).
Dinner was a three-course affair with plenty of choice. The cooking wasn’t particularly ground-breaking, but I thoroughly enjoyed my seared scallops starter, main course of Welsh lamb and cheese from the well-stocked trolley. For a hotel of this standard, the wine list offered plenty of good-value options including a decent selection of house wines available by the glass, carafe or bottle. Service was first-rate.
Next morning I was served breakfast in a smaller room off the main dining room where I was able to take in the splendid view over the gardens to Conwy Castle and the mountains beyond. Breakfast consisted of the usual buffet items plus hot dishes and tea or coffee served at the table. The standard tariff includes a continental breakfast. A cooked breakfast is included only for guests on the very good value dinner, bed and breakfast deal – others pay a £7.50 supplement. Unfortunately on this visit the wild autumnal weather wasn’t really conducive to a post-breakfast stroll through the extensive gardens and grounds, but I’m sure I’ll be returning to check those out before too long.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CrossDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Enjoyed a wonderful three night break at Bodysgallen. Classic room in the main house was very comfortable , food excellent and the pool very good. Staff were all friendly and efficient. Not cheap but the price included service charge , free wifi , use of all facilities so good value

Room Tip: Classic double in the main house was fine.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

A beautiful old hall set in stunning scenery.

If you're looking for a comfortable place to use as a base in Beautiful North Wales, then this should be high on your list. Full of old world charm and staffing to match.

Excellent restaurant, comfortable beds and exquisite setting, what more could you ask?

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Bigpeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

Bodysgallen stands in an historic park with Snowdonia as a backdrop, but in addition it has one of the best gardens in the National Trust portfolio and I include all the houses open to the public and not just the hotels. Indeed the gardens are so extensive we missed the "secret" knot garden until we went round for a last look. So, just being there is good for the soul. But the delights do not end there for the hotel is very well run in all respects. To accommodate our dog we stayed in one of the cottages which had a sitting room and a small kitchen. The bedroom was a bit small but not seriously so. The main sitting room in the hotel was warm and very comfortable
Turning to the food, the breakfasts were excellent, the buffet even including poached pears, and the dinners evidenced considerable originality at very reasonable prices.
So, our stay was memorable for all the right reasons and the hotel deserves an unqualified recommendation.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Bloodhound44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews