We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort and attentiveness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great comfort and attentiveness”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a fantastic three day mid week winter break in this house, it is really a gem - beautifully kept in a magnificent garden which even in the middle of winter is full of interest with fabulous topiary and shrubs. From the moment we walked in we felt at home, the staff are very friendly, welcoming and attentive. The spa superb, we had several treatments which increased our relaxation 10 fold. There are lots of nooks and crannies in beautiful reception rooms where you can sit and enjoy reading your book beside an open fire, I even fell asleep (to my shame - did I snore?!) in the middle of the day and no one disturbed me! We will definately return, thank you everyone at Bodysgallen!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    132
    39
    25
    17
See reviews for
113
386
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire.uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed on a special winter break package for one night in January. As we drove along the winding drive amongst 200 acres of parkland and viewed the beautiful 17 century hall and its stunning formal walled gardens we thought that we would be experiencing something special.
We were not disappointed- we had booked the Conwy suite and although a little dated it was extremely comfortable and the views of Conwy castle and the formal gardens were spectacular.
The Spa facilities were very good and my husband and I had one of the best massages we have ever had and the prices were extremely competive.
We dined in the formal dining room and the pre - dinner drinks were taken sitting by a roaring log fire and we were given a plate of free canapés which added a nice touch. The wine list was excellent and not overly expensive considering the quality of the wine. The dinner itself was good but a little overpriced. However, the upkeep of such an old beautiful listed building must be incredibly high .
All the staff were friendly and helpful.We will definitely return to celebrate a special occasion .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheshireuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This was our second stay in less than a year for a special occasion and prior to that we ate there for a very significant family date. On both occasions that we have stayed we have been delighted with the accommodation. This time we went for a 2 day break on a special January deal and were given a lovely cottage in the grounds though very close to the main house. Everywhere, cottage and main hall, was beautifully warm and the breakfast was very good both in terms of selection and quantity. The Bistro was closed in January on Sunday and Mondays evenings and as we were going to events at the theatre we did not have time to eat in the main restaurant so cannot comment on the dining experience on this occasion though we have been very satisified with it on previous visits.

You can soend hours walking around the grounds and gardens and enjoying the view of Conwy and its castle from the garden terrace

For anyone who wants to get away from it all in a comfortable historic setting then this is the place. Expensive, yes but late availability and other offers can make it more affordable. We shall be back.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchenette then you need to ask for a cottage in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012


My wife and myself ate in the Bistro which serves as a pleasant location for an evening meal !
The waitress who was serving was very pleasant and accommodating but the size of the main meal which I ordered (Belly pork) would not even make an ok starter ?
We eat out quite frequently in the North Wales area but here at Bodysgallen was at the "upper end" of what we usually expect to pay and compared to other local restaurants represented poor value for money !!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gegs321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington, cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just the drive up to the hotel can make you feel you are disappearing into history and getting away from it all. It is set in beautiful well kept grounds surrounded by trees. The gardens are small and very well maintained. The hotel is steeped in history with oak panelling log fires and formidable looking portraits and ancient landscapes on the Walls.

The main restaurant is formal and a little austere, made up by the fact that the staff are friendly and efficient. The recently added bistrol 1621 is less formal and I preferred the food here.

We stayed for a two night break in bailiffs cottage, a short walk from the hotel and spa. A cute home from home with all facilities. Amazing shower, good beds, molton brown toiletries and huge thick towels.

I could not fault the spa. The staff were attentive but not overly so. The treatments lived up to expectations and the therapists are obviously well trained. Nothing was too much trouble. The swimming pool area was clean and tidy. Breakfast served in the little coffee area after an early morning swim was brilliant.

Now, the price !!!!! I could have gone away for a whole week on what it cost to stay for 2 nights and have 5 beauty treatments between the two of us, however it was worth the money for the luxury of the surroundings, the food and the excellent service given by the staff.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy choose a cottage. They also allow dogs in the cottages too. Be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brock2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandudno
3.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
1,209 reviews
1.8 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
3.6 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.9 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
776 reviews
3.7 km away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#25 of 60 in Llandudno
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodysgallen Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodysgallen Hall & Spa

Property: Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Address: The Royal Royal Welsh Way, Llandudno LL30 1RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Llandudno
#17 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
#18 Family Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodysgallen Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 200 acres of its own parkland to the south of Llandudno with spectacular views of Snowdonia and Conwy Castle. Believed to have 13th century origins, Bodysgallen Hall provides all that is best in country house hospitality. Beautiful gardens include a rare 17th century parterre of box hedges filled with sweet-scented herbs, a rockery with a cascade, a walled rose garden, and several follies. Historic House Hotels Ltd bought and rescued the house from a dilapidated state in 1981 and restored the 17th century house and gardens. In September 2008 Historic House Hotels Ltd and its interest in all its properties were given to the National Trust to ensure their long-term protection, with all profits benefiting the houses and the charity.The 15 extremely comfortable bedrooms in the Main Hall offer several different room types, including the four elegant principal suites. Each bedroom is individually decorated and furnished with antique furniture, paintings and prints, enjoying glorious views of Bodysgallen's parkland or gardens, with some rooms having further reaching views of Conwy Castle or the distant Mountains of Snowdonia. There are 16 cottage suites with picturesque names like The Smithy, Box Cottage and Pineapple Lodge, are situated in the grounds, and provide accommodation for guests preferring a greater degree of privacy. Many cottages enjoy their own private gardens and some are in close proximity to the Bodysgallen Spa. All are charming and delightful. The Dining Room in the main hall has been awarded three rosettes for fine dining by the AA - the only restaurant in Llandudno to be awarded such - and offers imaginative meals prepared from fresh local produce and complemented by fine wine, and overlooks the gardens and has been recognised as one of the best places for Sunday Lunch in the United Kingdom by The Observer newspaper.The Spa is approached by a short walk through the garden or by a private road. Converted from an original stone built farm it contains a magnificent 50' swimming pool edged with comfortable reclining chairs, whirlpool spa bath, steam room and sauna. A superb gymnasium has all the latest technologically advanced equipment, suitable for all ranges of fitness. A comfortable Club Room is a place where guests and members can relax and enjoy drinks and light meals, which in the summer are also served on the terrace. Residential guests have full use of the Bodysgallen Spa.Bodysgallen Hall is situated about 2 miles south from Llandudno and the North Wales coast. It is surrounded by over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and wooded parkland. Bodysgallen Hall has magnificent views of Snowdonia, and Conwy Castle. It's the perfect setting for a relaxed holiday at all times of the year. The hotel is ideally placed for visiting the many historic castles and stately homes in North Wales as well as the famous golf courses that adorn the coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bodysgallen Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodysgallen Hall Hotel Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall And Spa
Bodysgallen Hall Llandudno
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing