We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merrion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$105
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. George's Hotel(Llandudno)
US$126
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$317
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trevone Hotel(Llandudno)
US$113
US$110
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Broadway Hotel(Llandudno)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Headlands Hotel(Llandudno)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Queens Hotel(Llandudno)
US$158
US$142
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hen-Dy(Llandudno)
US$115
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
260
73
17
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
73
17
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreamsea viewwhist holidayfood glorious foodsecure parkingfirst classturkey tinselevening mealfirst floorlamb shankmy mumlovely hotelreception staffnightly entertainmentmobility scooterfamily run hotelbeds were very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We decided to spend a couple of days in North Wales / Llandudno as a break and we were primarily looking for a central location, car parking (this can be difficult in Llandudno in season).
The Merrion Hotel satisfied all these requirements and more, it has a sense of calm and peace about it, which I cannot describe.
The hotel was very clean, spacious rooms with a good view of the bay. The breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: Get the front Sea view room
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Big_BlueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have stayed as one of a golfing party in March for the last three years, and we are due again this year. We count ourselves as fortunate to have discovered the Merrion and it contributes substantially to what is always an extremely enjoyable experience. None of the facilities can be faulted. It would be churlish to mention that the lift is a little on the slow side, and that there are no outside sitting areas, but just the thought of the quality and variety of the food more than compensates. Here's to 2012.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doublebogeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am delighted you enjoy staying with us at the Merrion for your annual golf break, it is always a pleasure having your group in the hotel. It is worth saying to those who do not know the area that we have some superb golf courses around Llandudno, from challenging links courses to long parkland courses all within a few miles of the hotel.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

the best tinsel and turkey we have ever had. lovely staf excellent food prepared by a superb chef.

Room Tip: go for a sea view room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank austinallegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Thank you very much for your comments, I am very pleased you enjoyed your Tinsel and Turkey break so much, your rave reviews about the food will be passed on to my brother in the kitchen.
Have a great New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Excellent hotel, food outstanding, must have brilliant chiefs. Staff friendly and pleasant with nothing being too much trouble. Parking excellent, and we really appreciated the night staff seeing to my mobility scooter so that it was ready for use at my pleasure.
one of our best holdays ever, and our thanks go to the Bream family who greatly deserve every accolade. The Merrion caters well for the disabled, We will be back without doubt.

Room Tip: No tip, but we never heard a complaint about any roo.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you very much for your excellent review, I am pleased you had such a great holiday. If on your next visit you would prefer to hire a mobility scooter rather than going to the trouble of bringing your own, the reception staff would be pleased to arrange it for you.
Many thanks from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We discovered the Merrion by chance in 1995 and were so impressed we have been back every year since usually twice a year, occasionally three times, either on short breaks to coincide with the W.N.O. opera visits to the theatre or on the special short breaks(which are very good value for money). Any organization, whatever its business or function, is judged by its staff. In this regard the Merrion cannot be faulted - the staff are cheerful, polite, friendly and obliging, nothing is too much trouble. This allied to the excellent food with a wide choice on the menu combines to provide an ideal hotel for the discerning holiday-maker. I have stayed in hotels run by the big chains - Best Western, Hilton, Barcelo and so on but give me the Merrion every time. Cannot recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: Choose a front room for the view out over the bay.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Thank you very much for your great review, we are very proud of our staff and your comments will be passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews