We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stop looking at other hotels and just book it and enjoy "fantastic food"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merrion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Stop looking at other hotels and just book it and enjoy "fantastic food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned today from another lovely three night break with a party of friends and my wife has already paid a deposit for November 2012
Full praise to all of the staff who engaged us in a really professional manner and to the chef's responsible for my expanding waist line

This hotel is ideally suited for all that Llandudno offers and you will be hard pressed to find better; especially where the food is concerned

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor near to reception sometimes allow you to pick up on the hotels free wi-fi; wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tan-monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thanks for posting your review we do appreciate it. As for you expanding waistline, you can blame it all on us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    60
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
92
92
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We decided to spend a couple of days in North Wales / Llandudno as a break and we were primarily looking for a central location, car parking (this can be difficult in Llandudno in season).
The Merrion Hotel satisfied all these requirements and more, it has a sense of calm and peace about it, which I cannot describe.
The hotel was very clean, spacious rooms with a good view of the bay. The breakfast were excellent.

Room Tip: Get the front Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_BlueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I have stayed as one of a golfing party in March for the last three years, and we are due again this year. We count ourselves as fortunate to have discovered the Merrion and it contributes substantially to what is always an extremely enjoyable experience. None of the facilities can be faulted. It would be churlish to mention that the lift is a little on the slow side, and that there are no outside sitting areas, but just the thought of the quality and variety of the food more than compensates. Here's to 2012.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doublebogeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am delighted you enjoy staying with us at the Merrion for your annual golf break, it is always a pleasure having your group in the hotel. It is worth saying to those who do not know the area that we have some superb golf courses around Llandudno, from challenging links courses to long parkland courses all within a few miles of the hotel.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to seeing you in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

the best tinsel and turkey we have ever had. lovely staf excellent food prepared by a superb chef.

Room Tip: go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank austinallegro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
Thank you very much for your comments, I am very pleased you enjoyed your Tinsel and Turkey break so much, your rave reviews about the food will be passed on to my brother in the kitchen.
Have a great New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
presston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Excellent hotel, food outstanding, must have brilliant chiefs. Staff friendly and pleasant with nothing being too much trouble. Parking excellent, and we really appreciated the night staff seeing to my mobility scooter so that it was ready for use at my pleasure.
one of our best holdays ever, and our thanks go to the Bream family who greatly deserve every accolade. The Merrion caters well for the disabled, We will be back without doubt.

Room Tip: No tip, but we never heard a complaint about any roo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you very much for your excellent review, I am pleased you had such a great holiday. If on your next visit you would prefer to hire a mobility scooter rather than going to the trouble of bringing your own, the reception staff would be pleased to arrange it for you.
Many thanks from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#28 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 km away
Tynedale Hotel
Tynedale Hotel
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#19 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.9 km away
Cae Mor Hotel
Cae Mor Hotel
#37 of 60 in Llandudno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 km away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Property: Merrion Hotel
Address: South Parade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno
#22 Family Hotel in Llandudno
#28 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Merrion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing