We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Friendly Hotel”
Review of Park View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park View Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Great little hotel with a welcome second to none , on arrival greeted by a quintessentially English lady with the charm of an English Rose so made welcome before even getting the key to my room. The room was very spacious , clean and tidy with a large bed with welcoming white linen. In a nice location close enough to both seafront and town centre. No hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone planning a visit to Eastbourne.

Room Tip: Double Superior (Pimpernell Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017

We had difficulty getting accommodation in East Sussex (Glyndebourne was on, and some other events) but eventually booked into the Park View Hotel. We were there for only one night so this isn't a comprehensive review. The hotel is in a very high, very narrow building but luckily with a lift (albeit a tine and very slow lift). The proprietor was cheeful and welcoming, the room and bed comfortable and the en-suite clean and airy. While there is nothing particularly outstanding about this hotel it was clearly a good choice for us for the one night. We had to hurry away in the morning with no chance for breakfast but that did smell good. Large and long flight of setps to the front door.

Room Tip: Go high if you like small lifts ortherwise go low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BillChadkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at Park View hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful character building with high ceilings and large bedrooms. Jane is an absolute star! I booked the room as I was attending a party at Winter Gardens, which is literally 1 minute walk from the hotel. When I mentioned my party dress was a bit too long, Jane offered to do the alterations. On top of this she also lend me one of her coats so I could arrive at the party in style! I have never had such a lovely service. On top of that, Jane is really good fun. My room was spacious, with all facilities I required.The location is ideal, it is just a few minutes walk to the sea front in a nice quiet area.. This is one of those places that make you feel welcome and at home. I will definately return to this hotel when I am in the area...

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkviewhotel2016, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

It is always a pleasure to help those who really appreciate it ... Thank you for your perceptive comments... you highlight all the important aspects that I attempt ot provide.....Hope i see you again ... we can have more fun !!!

Jane Manners
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Great family run hotel. Just keep Jane informed of your wishes and a pleasant stay is guaranteed. The location was perfect as I was attending a Bridge Congress in the Winter Gardens, just across the road. My room, 3a was done with TLC and although small was good value. Have already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Any. Just give your preferences to Ms Manners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkviewhotel2016, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Thank you for speaking my thoughts....
Sorry, but I don't have the time to respond to the many reviews.... I feel my time is better spent communicating with the guests I have around me .... as most of you will know, I am a bit of a chatterbox!! I really enjoy the banter, the fun and laughter we share, the positive ideas that are exchanged, resulting in a relaxed, fun stay for most of my guests! No boxes to tick, no reports to write, just a positve/worthwhile friendly exchange! We all learn, we all have fun, and we all feel recharged to face the challenges of everyday life ....
So , please come and stay... but please communicate first... your wishes, your specific needs, so that my efforts are directed in the right direction for you !!! But most of all, bring a positve mind... it's infectious !

Thank You for reading ..
Jane Manners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The reviews here are very extreme - either a shambles or quirky and friendly. The location is good, rooms are ok for the price point, so it really depends on what you want from a landlady. Waiting 2 hours to check in whilst you hear the mobile phone you are supposed to call ringing unattended nearby is either completely unacceptable or you think sometimes people forget that the best thing with mobile phones is that they are......mobile, ie you take them with you when you pop out to watch tennis. There is nothing average about this place but I could not decide what the real rating should be here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank gipsona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkviewhotel2016, Owner at Park View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

The prices i charge do not allow for a constant receptionist.....apologies for leaving my mobile, so i could return within 2 mins.....but your friends did say they were waiting for you , and they knew where I was... watching the Tennis !!! It's why i live here, so i try to go over the road to watch it, play when i can ... It keeps me human !!Jane Manners
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#6 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,796 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,522 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#33 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Lansdowne Hotel
1.1 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 40 in Eastbourne
955 reviews
1.6 km away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Hotel

Address: 8 Wilmington Gardens, Eastbourne BN21 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Eastbourne
Price Range: €51 - €113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THe Park View Hotel is a small Independently run Hotel, offering a personal, individual service for all its guests. In order to make full use of this, it is best to ring, and specify any particular requests. Opposite the Congress Theatre, the Towner Art Gallery, and Winter Gardens, near to the Devonshire Park Tennis Centre, also very near to Darley road, Brighton universities. Parkview has it's own private car-park for 9 cars: it is best to ring if you require a reserved space, free road side parking is available at the front of the hotel. Victorian and traditional decor, all rooms en-suite, access to internet in all rooms,free.....also a lift. Within walking distance from the town centre and the sea-side, room service available for breakfast. Full English breakfasts, also smoked salmon with poached eggs, kippers if you like, and continental, cheeses, jams and English honey. Breakfast from 7.30-9.30 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing