We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
134
151
71
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
151
71
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews driver paul dining room meal times evening meal coach tour turkey and tinsel premier room shower room band stand great holiday our waiter per day would recommend this hotel to anyone excellent hotel fruit juice reception staff nothing too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel fine food ok entertainment could be better but location excellent with good friendly staff will give the Imperial another go room spacious shower could've been bigger like most of Britain's hotels it is a little dated but not as bad as some of the reviews say

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Stayed at Imperial for 4 nights with Robinsons from 7/09/18. Reception was fantastic when we asked to change our room as we needed a shower, Good food, good entertainment. Thanks Imperial staff for a great time.

Room Tip: Inform if you want a shower
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coateseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdsworth-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear coateseee,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us. Really pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The staff and the food were very good but things for us were spoilt because my daughter is disabled and the bathroom was too small. The worst thing though was that it was very hot weather and there was no air conditioning, every room was too hot. Sleep was almost impossible.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank wildergwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdsworth-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear wildergwen,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave your review. Your comments have been noted and passed onto our management. We hope to see you again in the near future. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

An amazing hotel, wonderful food and very friendly staff. Well worth the visit. Just spent 8 days there and really enjoyed it, has entertainment most evenings. One of the best hotels I have visited yet, will return again.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank grahammarles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdsworth-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear grahammarles54,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We’ve stayed with Robinsons at the Imperial for many years.
The reception and other public areas look good, though wifi is poor.
The rooms are clean but very dated.
The furniture wouldn’t be out of place in a secondhand shop.
The over shower bath, worked by the taps, not a powershower, is very hit and miss. More miss than hit temperature wise, almost impossible to keep a constant temperature.
Our bathroom had no extractor fan so ,this being the July heatwave, we opened the window to try to cool things down.
Big mistake, as the net curtain got blown out of the open window leaving the bathroom in full view of the hotels across the road - no privacy in any part of the bathroom. Same in the bedroom which was uncomfortably hot, even on the second floor.
I can safely say that the food quality and choice his now very poor compared to January this year.
One night I ordered a cheese salad, which was a minute portion of salad that was also way past it’s best, very limp and pathetic.
Another night Chickpea curry with naan, chutney and poppadom, except it didn’t come with either poppadom or chutney.The naan was minute and barely cooked
Fruit cocktail with cream for me, cheesecake with whipped cream and a coulis for my wife, except that i got no cream, neither did my wife.
The increasing arrogant waiter ‘couldn’t find any in the fridge’ until I’d almost finished so we both eventually got pouring cream.
Choice of fruit juice at breakfast was poor, no pineapple juice.
Continental breakfast was also poor. No chance of banana unless you took your own, just apple and pear available.
Best not mention the toast, down to the usual standard with barely enough butter or spreads for two people.
Penny pinching was pretty evident.
The staff looked very overworked, as always. But with the exception of our waiter weer polite and efficient, though not as talkative as previous visits.
Recent previous experience of a written complaint to Robinsons shows that there’s little point of complaining as the director who responds simply tells you that you’re making it all up. (Northumberland ‘building site’ 5 day tour.)
I can no longer recommend robinsons as quality has plummeted from it’s previously ‘adequate’ level.
After 16 years of patronage we’re going elsewhere, the quality just isn’t worth the money.

Room Tip: Try to get one on the lower floors with a fan in the bathroom, the upper floors are unpleasant and unbearably hot.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piedwagtail91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holdsworth-Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear piedwagtail91,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is valuable. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially after so many years of patronage. All your comments will be passed on to our hotel staff and management for review. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews