We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mansion Lions Hotel
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing Holiday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

After having visited this hotel last year, and enjoyed our stay, this year it was a very different story. The standard of the food was poor and was served cold, in some cases. The service was even worse as most of the waitrons could not speak or understand English, with the result that it was very frustrating trying to place an order. On a positive note, the accommodation was very good and the Hotel is situated right on the beachfront.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GogoGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    58
    39
    69
See reviews for
38
66
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I have read some very critical reports about this hotel - all I can say is - IGNORE THEM ALL !
I stayed there with a friend this week, we had booked two single rooms, what we got on arrival were two lovely twin rooms each, very spacious, beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. Ok, I have heard moans about long corridors to the rooms, but come on - this is a beautiful old hotel, not a purpose built lump of concrete, so what do you expect ? Dining room service was very friendly and extremely efficient, the full English breakfast was well cooked and presented. All the staff were very friendly and always there when you needed them.
A beautiful place to stay on the seafront, I hope I will be able to go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The hotel looked great in brochure but upon arrival with our coach party we found our room in desperate need of some new paint and up dated bedding including a new bed., also a basin plug would have been an asset.
. Curtains were hanging off the rail.
We could have done with another bedside cabinet in our twin room.
We had a leaking ceiling during a heavy rain fall. There were more leaks all over the hotel.
There were 2 lifts, one for guests which could only take 4 people at a time and a service lift which was not used , we can only assume it was broken.
The ballroom was very large and sparse and also needed a lick of paint.
One guest and his wife who was in a wheelchair had a ground floor room with access to a patio which would have been very nice if the staff could have found the key for the outside door. They also had to exit the back of the hotel with the wheelchair and walk right round the hotel to take advantage of the decking area which was for smokers.This was not swept atall while we were there and we ended up emptying the ash trays ourselves into a carrier bag.
On a more positive note the Reception area and bar areas were very nice, with beautiful ceilings chandaleirs and bevel edged mirrors.
The meals were lovely and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
The garden was lovely and well cared for, although the water features did not appear to be working.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Eastbourne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

A reasonable hotel that needs refurbishment.My wife and I had a premier room with a lovely seaview throuh a large bay window which was the redeeming feature.The room was very big but tatty with holes in the wall and poor quality of fitments.The bathroom wasn`t that good either with a small shelf only for our stuff, which was constantly wet.
The room needed a proper clean as under the seat cushions were years of grime and food,very off putting.
The staff need to attend a customer care course as my greeting upon arrival at the hotel was hello that will be £410 please, which was the incorrect amount any way.When we checked out on the Monday morning the lift had stopped working and there were a lot of elderly people in the hotel who needed assistance but none was forth coming.Luckily we were only on the 2nd floor so were able to drag the cases down the stairs.
Next August this hotel is defferently not on the list,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just stayed at the Mansion (Lions) hotel for a family party, which my mother-in-law made the booking for two rooms. On arrival, we had to wait 15 minutes in a queue to check in as a coach party had just arrived and were taking priority (I assume that coach parties are the majority of their business). We were given two rooms, room 204 and room 325, both for the same price. We must have been lucky as our room (room 325) was huge! Unfortunately though, my in-laws room must have once been the linen cupboard next to the stairs as it was tiny - at least half the size of ours!

Our room was ok -- that's all I can say about it. The bed was comfy but the decor was very dated. There was a rotten hole in our window sill and the ceiling looked like it had experienced several water leaks in its life. But worst of all was the small bathroom with a shower over the bath that nearly scolded me when both the hot and cold mixer tap were run together (a call to Reception gave me the solution -- run only the cold until the water cools down and then introduce a small amount of hot! They even acknowledge that this was a waste of water!!). Breakfast was a poor event with a very limited selection (full English or kippers; muesli that resembled saw dust; luke-warm toast; and a fresh fruit selection consisted of prunes, tinned grapefruit or tinned mandarins.) We were pre-allocated two tables of two across the room from one another and put the staff into a spin asking to sit together (we later watched as our name places were moved around the room three times -- a complete waste of the staff's time).

The decor throughout the hotel is run down and needs a serious cash injection. And the staff felt the same - run down and unenthusiastic. This is the best way to describe this hotel. I imagine once it was majestic. Now it is lacklustre.

As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is a large maze of corridors, with rooms up and down further stairs off the main staircase/lift. I would worry about staying here if you stuggled with mobility.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mrs_Humps_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 km away
Albany Lions Hotel
Albany Lions Hotel
#38 of 41 in Eastbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
0.6 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansion Lions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Lions Hotel

Property: Mansion Lions Hotel
Address: Grand Parade, Eastbourne BN21 3YS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Lions Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Expedia so you can book your Mansion Lions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing