We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
228
385
258
78
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
385
258
78
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mark snow shearings coach shearings hotels sea view self drive our waiter entertainment manager evening entertainment entertainment area sea front weekend break half board fourth floor great position long weekend standard room bar prices
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

My parents & I stayed in this hotel for the weekend from the 10-13 August, this was our second stay here.

Last time we had rooms at the back of the hotel this time we paid more for seaview.

Our rooms was on the fourth floor, the rooms them self was fine and acceptable for what you pay.

The food, again it was ok not the best nor the worst, the breakfast sometimes looked over done, I avoided the bacon, for evening meals they do it in two settings,!I would recommend the 7.15 setting as the first gets crowded and busy.

The waiting staff was nice and friendly but it was chaotic at times and you could see them under pressure, they didn’t seem to have much direction on what was going on either and a lot of them didn’t speak English very well so it created a lot miscommunication.

The bar staff & cleaning staff was again nice and friendly and accommodating.

We also spoke to Mark the entertainer chap who was lovely and friendly.

Now going on to the hotel itself, it’s in desperate need of refurbishement, I’m aware they are doing it but it doesn’t show on the entrance which is dire need of a facelift, the lifts imo are accident waiting to happen they are old, small and decrepited and at times you couldn’t use them as they was taken up by cleaning staff or other guests so took forever not good when youron the fourth floor or old.

Most of the clientele of the hotel are the elderly most are over 70.

The hotel has the heating on all the time, it even worse in the dinning room, you best to bring a fan or ask for one at reception as most of the windows only open so far.

Now to the main issue we had no hot water from the Friday til the Monday we left, I only found out when I went to have a bath, the lack of communication was poor, it’s only when we enquired we was informed and and wasn’t told to the following day that they couldn’t l repair till Monday which would be to late by then, we wasn’t given any alternative so had to rather not bath or bath in cold water, which is wrong, especially as I said most of the guests are elderly and my parents are both pensioners and was quite distressed by the whole thing, as a apology they gave out free drink vouchers which allowed you four drink, again not good enough imo, a lot of people went home we decided to stay but felt misled that if we had left on the Saturday we would of been refunded but wasn’t given the option.

Unfortunately the whole thing put a dampener on the holiday, we paid a lot of money for services and never got them and the lack of communication and movement was below standard this will be our last trip to the hotel, your best trying the Clairmont

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank pixienovax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you pixienovax for putting together a very comprehensive review. Thank you for what in the main is positive feedback regarding the team.
You are quite right to mention the lack of hot water, our boiler broke down on Friday 10.08.18 and with all efforts made by two different plumbing experts , we were not bale to get hot water back at the hotel until Monday. I can appreciate this was an inconvenience and not a situation we like having to communicate to our customers. The free drinks offered was simple a gesture of good will during this challenging time and the majority of customers where every pleased with this. I know once the information that the boiler was not able to be fixed until Monday this was communicated to our customers as a matter of urgency.
Your comment regarding the hotel needing refurbishment this is currently under review and areas of the hotel have already started to be improved.
All feedback is vital to help us make any improvements to the hotel in the future. Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

I wish to put on record how disappointed we were with our stay at the Burlington Hotel in Eastbourne and the journeys too and from the hotel
We accept the very hot weather was obviously a problem that all parties had to contend with.
Firstly the Journeys.
We left the departure point in Bedford at approx 8.45am and arrived at the Shearing’s Interchange. After a wait of approximately 2 hours in what could be described as a vast shed full of sweaty bodies we boarded our coach to take us to the Hotel.
Our ticket stated that our seat numbers were 13C and 13D. These did not exist on the coach, the highest seat numbers were 12C and 12D.After a talk with the coach driver he advised that there were 2 seats available due to a couple not arriving.
On the return journey we arrived at the interchange at 2.15pm to transfer to the coach which was to take us home. After a wait of 2.5 hours in hot and smelly waiting room we finally boarded our coach to take us home. Ours was the last coach at the interchange. After it arrived at the interchange and before we could get on board the driver took the coach to be filled with diesel which added to the delay. On the journey to the interchange there was a problem with the seating again, although not with us, but this was resolved after a discussion.

The Burlington Hotel.
This was by far the worst Hotel my wife and I have stayed at.
Rooms.
We were told that our room, 343, was classified as “superior” which we had paid extra for. If this was superior then I pity those who were accommodated in a standard room.
343 was at the rear of the hotel as had a small single window which had its opening limited to about 12 inches. It overlooked partly courtyard and partly the hotel wall. A pigeon roosted overnight on a pile of pigeon droppings. It was so hot in the room that we asked for a fan which was provided. This was kept running all night. In the morning we asked for a different room and we were allocated room 314. This was situated at the front of the hotel and was much cooler in the evening than room 343 although we still needed the fan. There was no offer from the staff to assist us in the move. In room 314 there was a heavy winter weight duvet on the bed so because of the excessive heat we asked for a sheet to be provided. Initially were given a sheet off another bed in an adjacent room but this was unacceptable and we asked for a freshly laundered sheet which was provided. To categorise room 314 when compared to “superior 343” it was more like luxury.
As regards relaxation, some of the radiators in the hotel were running hot because they could not be turned off otherwise some rooms would lose their hot water. This obviously added to the discomfort of the excessive heat. This problem must have existed for many years. Surely it cannot be that difficult to add a couple of isolating bypass valves to the offending radiators

Food.
Being generous we would rate it as poor bordering on unacceptable.
It was mainly frozen and very small quantities were served. There were never any fresh vegetables with the hot main course meals. They were served as a mush in a side dish. On the Wednesday we decided to try a vegetarian aubergine bake with parmesan cheese. The bake was luke warm, the vegetables were uncooked and the cheese was cheddar. When the waiter saw that we had not eaten the meal and we told him why he said that this dish had been a problem the previous week but the hotel still served it. The waiter did offer to replace the dish but we declined. There was not even a pot of tea on the table. Tea was served via a thermos jug into a mug and was seldom hot.
On the Thursday we decided not to chance the restaurant food and had an enjoyable Italian meal in the town.
Breakfasts were not too bad provided the overcooked bacon was avoided and you checked the eggs carefully.

Staff friendliness.
Generally the staff were friendly and helpful.

Were there any plus points? Well the coach driver had very good knowledge of the area and kept up an interesting comment on the trips .

Would I holiday again with Shearing’s? Never, not whilst they operate their Interchange system, even if the holiday was given as free.

Y

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are essential. Avoid rear rooms if possible
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LONNIELEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We had booked into the above hotel for a three night stay, via Shearings self drive breaks. This was to celebrate My Husbands Birthday.
unfortunately this was the last week-end in July and the hottest day on record. We had paid an extra £99.00 for a premium room. The room itself was very nice and well appointed, however the situ of the room was awful, overlooking the car park and filthy dirty roofs, walls and window ledges. Also it was next door to the so called lifts and so very noisy! It was also noisy as the widows didn't fit and in the wind kept banging until we stuffed them with paper.to add to this the lock on the main door to the room di not always close and lock!

The back entrance, from the car park was very dangerous as the steps were not secure, and the entrance in general was dirty All in all the whole hotel was in need of a complete refurbishment.

The Food in the dinning room on the first night was disscusting, meat so tough that even a steak knife would not go though it our Fish and Chips were tough, the food did
marginly improve over the next two days but not that much,
The staff in the hotel did their best and tried to be helpful but as most were not and di not speck or understand much English the communication was very difficult and therefore our requests etc were not given.

To add to the discomfort he central heating was on full in the main of the Hotel!!! When the weather was in the 35cs

I worry about the safety of this hotel as the lifts were very small and in a very run down state. One could only take two people and no Luggage and the other could take two people and one suitcase.

My other main worry is that at approx.:03.00hrs on our last morning the fire alarm sounded and the guest were milling around not knowing if it was a false alarm or not there were no fire marshals giving information or helping the many disabled guests!!!!! Eventually were had a message via other guests that it WAS a false alarm.

Next morning no explanation from the hotel manager or staff.!!!!!

I will never book a Shearings break again and I have informed the local council of all of the above.

Room Tip: don't think there are any
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

I have read your comments with interest Gloriai G and I am disappointed you felt you had to reward your stay with a one star review.
All my team work hard to deliver excellent service to all our customers and yes whilst some of them their English may not be the best they work hard to compensate for this. Your comment stating most of the staff do not speak or understand English is not a fair comment. All management and Heads of Departments speak perfect English. We have three dining room staff who are working hard to improve their English Language skills and we are fully supportive of this.
The heating was not on during your stay and as stated in previous feedback there are a couple of rads on our hot water system. why would we have heating on in such hot weather.!!!
you are quite right to mention the fire alarm. I can appreciate in the middle of the night this can be upsetting, The people who did leave their rooms where asked to stay in the ballroom. It was quickly identified that it was water that had caused the activation of the alarm so there was no threat to our customers at this time. Staff where available and were all visible by wearing Hi Vis jackets.
Your description of the lifts is not correct. The smaller lift takes 2 people with luggage and the second larger lift will take 8 customers. We are able to transfer 25 pieces of luggage in the bigger lift on arrivals and departure. Both lifts are regularly inspected for any defects. Sad to read you will not use our company again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Arrived Friday on a Self Drive Booked in for the 3 night Stay with another Coupled that we Recommended this Hotel took a Shower after a long drive and the water was very cold asked my wife to phone Reception was informed there is no hot water in the whole hotel for Showering or Washing but will be repaired soon as we was leaving our Room Cold water hit me on the head on looking up there was water leaking from the ceiling and running down the door and wall the room was very damp and smelt which is I am sure a health risk have taken photos on the saturday early evening was told no Hot water till at least Monday so we could move out now we tried lots of hotels along the seafront and as it was August there was no vacancies managed to find a hotel for Sunday early Morning and could not wait to take a hot Shower How anyone can go 4 Days without a Shower Beats me absolutely Disgusting We have Stayed at this hotel many times with no problems and it was very upsetting on this occasion

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank timetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank yu time travellers. Yes the lack of hot water during your recent visit was challenging time for all. Your feedback regarding the leak from the room above has been identified and addressed.
I hope you wil not l let no this unexpected situation deter you from visiting us again. You have previously stayed and know we provide a great service. I do hope you will revisit in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 5nights , boiler broke in hotel on the Friday there was NO hot water anywhere in Hotel, so had to boil kettles to be able to wash, not acceptable to have to go e day and nights without hot water

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sjs2562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurlingtonEastbourne, General Manager at Bay Burlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you sjs2562, This was a difficult two days whilst we had no hot water. Glad to say back up and running. Every effort was made late on Friday evening to rectify the situation by our engineers . They were unable to provide the required part until Monday. I know its not a substitute replacement for hot water but we have received great feedback for the free drinks vouchers that where provided for all customer during the time the water was not available. We don't like it when something stops working, and given a choice it would never happen. That said things do breakdown and when they do try very hard to ensure the minimum amount of upset is caused to all our customers.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews