We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
10 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Autograph
US$458
View deal
Booking.comUS$468
PricelineUS$468
Expedia.comUS$468
TravelocityUS$468
Orbitz.comUS$468
Prestigia.comUS$485
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,564)
Filter reviews
1,564 results
Traveller rating
953
417
127
30
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
953
417
127
30
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club colony club water sports water taxi ice lollies junior suite omelette crystal cove banana boat water skiing sister hotel egg station spa pool paddle boarding fresh towels jet ski sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,564 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2022

The shining stars of Tamarind are the staff. They are genuine, friendly and hard working.

However; the grounds are in desperate need of repair (see pictures).

-The beach wall by 246 restaurant has collapsed, rendering it unusable and unsafe. No seaside dining as advertised on their website. This was a major disappointment to my entire vacation.
The concierge was helpful in making reservations at sister properties, but the expense of getting there and back is your responsibility.

Due to this collapse the beach below is unusable as well. The beach that is useable is jam packed with loungers right on top of one another.

-The cushions for all the loungers are in bad shape and need replacing.

-If you plan on snorkeling (and you should), you need to bring your own gear. Covid has prevented the distribution of gear, which to my major disappointment, found out too late (I have several sets at home that I did not pack because the website advertised snorkeling). Dave at water sports saved my vacation by taking me to shop where I could purchase a snorkel. I can’t thank you enough Dave. The reef right off the beach is brilliant. Full of fish you can re-visit on a daily basis.

--The bar is fairly stocked. No Banks beer (local beer) which was disappointing. We walked across the street to the gas station to purchase some for our room. Only one type of rum, Mount Gay (local rum), but only white and dark. Mount Gay has several delicious rums that are not stocked at Tamarind.

Christopher at the bar is management material. Tito and Ray were always willing to listen to my unusual drink requests.
Akeila never let my sparkling wine gets below half full. She was lovely.

-Positano, next door is part of the dining exchange program and is worth going. You cannot go to their bar and have a drink on the seaside deck unless you book a dinner reservations. I found this unusual.
So, make a dinner reservation for 7:00 pm and go at 6:00 to sit on the deck and watch the sunset with a cocktail.
Colony Club is a “sister” property, but you have to pay for all meals and drinks. You can use their beach and loungers and pool only. The grounds are glorious and worth a visit.

-Take a water taxi ride even is you don’t want to visit the sister properties. It’s a free way to see the magnificent west coast.

Room tip: Avoid rooms facing Highway 1 - I can imagine they are noisy as this is a main road.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nordicblonde21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Antonia Hinds - Operations Manager, Other at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2022

Dear Nordicblonde21,

Thank you for taking the time to share aspects of your recent stay with us. From what you have highlighted, there are still some areas that need additional attention by our team, and I give you our promise that we will continue to do just that to ensure that the overall holiday experience with us is a 10/10.

I am pleased to learn, though, that you managed to explore some of our sister properties and their offerings, as this is something that continues to set us apart from the competition. Perhaps on your next visit, you might be inclined to try even more of what we have to offer as a group, as we continue to try to exceed our guests' expectations at every turn.

All the very best to you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2022

Wonderful setting with friendly staff, great food (Ether made wonderful omelettes), facilities (pools, beach, water sports, bar). The room was clean and comfortable for the little time we spent in it and big enough for the 4 of us (two girls aged 6 and 8).

A minor thing we found could be improved - vegetarian options for children, especially when the menu is a La Carte

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AndrewCrook75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Antonia Hinds - Operations Manager, Other at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2022

Dear AndrewCrook75,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that we were once again able to grant you and your family that special holiday experience. I have noted your feedback on the vegetarian options for children and will be sure to share this with the culinary team. Thank you once again for choosing Tamarind and all the very best to you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2022 via mobile

Just had a fabulous week at Tamarind with our family. Everyone had an amazing week. As all inclusive packages go, this one is excellent.
The food was absolutely delicious. Every evening felt like we were dining a la carte, with full table service and a different menu each night to select from. This was a lovely surprise as we’d assumed it would be all buffet. The chefs are wonderful as are the hotel staff in the restaurant, pool bars and reception.
Buffet breakfast and Lunch service is a choice of buffet or a la carte at the restaurant.. both lovely food.
The wine and cocktails were also top notch..
Our children, 24, 22 and 16 made the most of the inclusive water sports every day and did waterskiing, tubes, banana, Hobicats, kayaking and swimming with turtles ( extra charge for the trip). Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MrsTatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Antonia Hinds - Operations Manager, Other at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Dear MrsTatt,

I see that we managed to tick all the boxes on your family trip. Thank you so much for sharing your comments, especially those about food and beverage, as this is an experience we are currently working on to improve. As a hotel, Tamarind also tries to cater to families of all ages, so learning that your adult and teenage children found so many enjoyable things to do each day is testament to our efforts at making holidays fully inclusive. Hopefully we get to welcome you all back again very soon, but in the meantime, do continue to stay safe and thank you once again for choosing Tamarind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2022

Thanks to everyone at Tamarind Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable - 10 of us , two Families of 5 (older children 13+).

We stayed at the Tamarind recently (Aug22) and had a fab time. Rooms were clean and comfy with ocean views that you just can’t get tired of . Staff were all amazing without exception but would like t o mention Antonia / Kwasi/ Alicia (concierge) in particular - thank you.
Food was plentiful. Breakfast always welcome , lunch whenever we could fit it in and the a la carte evening meal was supplemented by small buffet and the all day menu - as has been mentioned in other reviews maybe a little more authentic cuisine would not go amiss (such as jerk chicken or goat curry) as a daily standard dish .

Drinks were free flowing and always happy to top up the glass , which in the case of red wine resembled a vase rather than a glass! (Again no complaint…)

The water taxi to the nearby elegant resorts is a lovely touch and enables you to see the resorts elsewhere.
Recommend the Drifters deck at CRystal Cove for lunch , makes a change.
Colony Club can be visited for food but no drink as far as I understand.
Also worth a look - nice beach and pools .(via the watertaxi)

Positanos (ex Daphnes) and Waves are both worth considering as alternatives for evening meals. Both decent .

Entertainment in the evenings was very limited. Imagine this will gradually grow as the situation improves post Covid. The group that played Sunday lunchtime were excellent

Thanks again.

Date of stay: August 2022
1  Thank 1se7_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Antonia Hinds - Operations Manager, Other at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Dear 1se7_11,

The title of your review says it all!! Thank you for sharing your feedback and for singling out those staff members (I see I made the list as well :) that made your trip that more special. It is always heartwarming when reviews like yours are shared with the team, and this one will be no different. As a group, we continue to work on improving on everything that we do, so thank you once again for your comments. All the very best from the staff and management of Tamarind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2022

Just got back from a superb 10 nights at Tamarind Cove with my family and we all thoroughly enjoyed the whole trip. The location on the beachfront is fantastic, our room had a view out over the south pool and the sea which was just brilliant to wake up to every morning. The facilities are good, with two 'family' pools and one adults one (which is part of the spa). There are also complementary watersports, with a really helpful team on hand who will teach you how to sail a Hobie Cat or waterski if you want to do a bit more than sit by the pool(!). The food was of a very high standard across the board and I was really impressed by many of the dishes we had in the restaurant. What makes the place really special though is the staff... from the front desk and activities people, through the cleaners and porters, to the bar and restaurant staff; everyone here made us feel really welcome and we felt that we were looked after extremely well.

I've seen other reviews mentioning that the rooms need a bit of a makeover and I think this is a fair point... there is some room for improvement in that space and hopefully Marriott's acquisition of the property will address that. They were fine for our needs though, and there was so much to do that we were only really sleeping in the room - so it's still comfortably a five star review from me. Can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Antonia Hinds - Operations Manager, Other at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels - All-Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Dear Tim H,

Thank you for posting such positive details on your recent stay. When we get reviews like yours, it certainly makes everything that we do that more special and worth every moment. With that being said, here's to another superb 10-night stay on your return trip. All the best to you and yours from the Tamarind Team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews