We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandy Lane Hotel(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
769
319
90
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
319
90
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubcolony clubwater sportsjunior suiteice lolliesocean viewrum punchcold towelswater taxiomelettethe cliffwater skiingbanana boatsecond visithappy hourcrystal covebottle of wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This hotel, formerly a 5 star hotel, now a 4 star hotel looked a little tired on arrival but our room was lovely. We had a pool facing room but could see the sea from our balcony. The room was comfortably furnished with the usual super king bed, plenty of storage for clothes and cases, and a lounging area near the window wall onto the balcony. The bathroom was adequately fitted out with a good shower over the low level bath and the usual toiletries. We were only bed and breakfast but there were several options available. Breakfast was really good with lots of choice. The hotel had two bars and my husband preferred the main bar to the pool for two reasons cold beer and proper glasses. We had one evening meal at the hotel which was very nice but rather pricey for what it was and my husband like to see what he is eating and as we were outside the lighting was rather sparse. All the hotel staff were lovely as was the local taxi firm they used which was quite reasonable. There was a bus stop outside going one way into Holetown and the other to Bridgetown. They had several pools which were adequately provided with sun beds as was the beach. The hotel was not busy when we went so not too sure if this would b e the same in high season. A very pleasant stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear ChrissyColl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent adventure to Barbados with your husband! I am delighted to hear that the two of you enjoyed a lovely week together at Tamarind. It sounds as if from the daily cocktails to the frequent pool dips, you had a wonderful and memorable holiday. Our entire team is pleased to learn that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast fare and that the staff graced you with warm hospitality.

We appreciate your kudos and do hope to see you back at Tamarind in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

From that very first moment we arrived at the hotel the team took “going that extra mile” a mile further. The team immediately observed that my partner was on crutches and took the incentive on moving us to an easily accessible room whilst offering a lot of care and assistance along the way. We were also immediately made to feel like a member of the family, everyone gets to know you on a personal level whilst being super friendly and attentive. Everyone that we spoke to in the hotel had stayed before and regularly revisit, which is what we will be doing. If you’re looking for a quiet paradise with amazing surrounding, team, food and service, then i highly recommend the Tamarind. Massive shout outs to Kendra, Karnell & Mark for all their assistance, recommendations and hospitality, it’s completely understandable why they have been working at the hotel for many years. Thank you for making our stay truly memorable :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jac j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Jac j,

We are glad to read your warm comment concerning Tamarind- thank you very much for taking the time to let us know your satisfaction with your recent stay.

We are so fortunate to have a fabulous team here, and they love to see that you appreciate your efforts, so thank you for mentioning them by name. We love to see that the team went out of their way to make sure you and your partner had comfortable accommodations and that you took great memories home. It pleases us to know that you found your paradise with amazing food and service at Tamarind.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to your Bajan home soon.

Warmest Regards, 

Maggie L. 
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

From the minute we walked into reception & out to the beach( complimentary rum punch in hand) we felt like we'd come home, stunning beach on the doorstep & all the amenities you could want in the hotel including great food.
The warmth that comes from the staff is just wonderful, always a smile & always time for a chat, my husband loved chatting to Patrick who works outside keeping everything immaculate, everyone was so lovely but the people that made our 2 visits so special are Joseph Cherubin, always giving that extra service & even giving his own time to us. As did Tito, Special thanks also to Wayne Alleyne & little & large Marks!
I'm grumpy to be home & cant wait to go back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Sally A,

Thank you for submitting your feedback and taking the time to post your five-star review of your recent stay at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels. From the rum punch to the doting staff, it sounds like you and your husband had a fantastic holiday. Our team is thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of our complimentary amenities and that the staff was always there to go the extra mile for you! We are pleased to know that you have a new home away from home and cannot wait to welcome you back to it very soon.

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This hotel was amazing.

What makes it so special that's easy the staff - nothing is ever too much trouble. They make you feel special at all times and go way above anything I've experienced before - you feel like you're coming home. I can completely understand why people visit year after year.

The food was great we were on a full board basis sometimes a little slow on occasion but chill you're in the Caribbean have another rum punch or glass of wine. I think my children piled on half a stone each at least with the pancakes and syrup and breakfast ;)

When we first arrived there was an incident the first night which is referred to on another trip advisor review - children screaming. Just to clarify we had the room next door it was 1 nine year old child behaving badly they left the following day - the hotel couldn't have done anything about it at 10.30 at night - definitely not worth the poor review from a previous post.

The rooms are spacious and clean, the setting is beautiful, the staff are amazing you will love every minute. Already booked again for next year.

Special thanks to Akeisha, Shantelle, Sharisa, Patrick and Arden you all contributed to making our stay truly wonderful thank you.

An indication on how good we went to Disney last year 3 out 4 children preferred the Tamarind and I think my son only preferred Disney as he couldn't go on all the rides so has grown since so is hopeful!

Room Tip: Sea view every time
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clawit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/ Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear clawit,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback about your recent five-star trip to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such an amazing trip and that you were all able to thoroughly enjoy the variety of our dining options (including the pancakes!). We will pass along your kudos of the staff- our team is proud to know they played such an integral part of your fond experience of the resort.

We do hope that you will be one of the families that returns year after year! We cannot wait to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Tamarind to celebrate my 27th birthday and it was awesome. The front desk staff and bellman were so welcoming, the water sports were great and the staff at the restaurant staff were so friendly with my 2 year old son. He really enjoyed his stay and all he could talk about was breakfast and the pool lol. The service was great from the bar staff to the room attendants. The rooms were clean and well equipped and it was truly a relaxing environment. I look forward to staying with Tamarind again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Neisha M,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your five-star stay at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels. Our team is thrilled that your 27th birthday was one to remember and that you and your party were able to take advantage of the complimentary water sports. Our goal is for our staff to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere to all of our guests, so we are glad that you were able to experience this with the front desk and restaurant staff and the bellman. We are pleased to know that your son enjoyed his time splashing around the pool, as well.

We appreciate your kudos and hope to welcome you back at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews