We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly truly wonderful - it felt like coming home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This hotel was amazing.

What makes it so special that's easy the staff - nothing is ever too much trouble. They make you feel special at all times and go way above anything I've experienced before - you feel like you're coming home. I can completely understand why people visit year after year.

The food was great we were on a full board basis sometimes a little slow on occasion but chill you're in the Caribbean have another rum punch or glass of wine. I think my children piled on half a stone each at least with the pancakes and syrup and breakfast ;)

When we first arrived there was an incident the first night which is referred to on another trip advisor review - children screaming. Just to clarify we had the room next door it was 1 nine year old child behaving badly they left the following day - the hotel couldn't have done anything about it at 10.30 at night - definitely not worth the poor review from a previous post.

The rooms are spacious and clean, the setting is beautiful, the staff are amazing you will love every minute. Already booked again for next year.

Special thanks to Akeisha, Shantelle, Sharisa, Patrick and Arden you all contributed to making our stay truly wonderful thank you.

An indication on how good we went to Disney last year 3 out 4 children preferred the Tamarind and I think my son only preferred Disney as he couldn't go on all the rides so has grown since so is hopeful!

Room Tip: Sea view every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clawit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/ Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear clawit,

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback about your recent five-star trip to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such an amazing trip and that you were all able to thoroughly enjoy the variety of our dining options (including the pancakes!). We will pass along your kudos of the staff- our team is proud to know they played such an integral part of your fond experience of the resort.

We do hope that you will be one of the families that returns year after year! We cannot wait to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Tamarind to celebrate my 27th birthday and it was awesome. The front desk staff and bellman were so welcoming, the water sports were great and the staff at the restaurant staff were so friendly with my 2 year old son. He really enjoyed his stay and all he could talk about was breakfast and the pool lol. The service was great from the bar staff to the room attendants. The rooms were clean and well equipped and it was truly a relaxing environment. I look forward to staying with Tamarind again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Neisha M,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your five-star stay at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels. Our team is thrilled that your 27th birthday was one to remember and that you and your party were able to take advantage of the complimentary water sports. Our goal is for our staff to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere to all of our guests, so we are glad that you were able to experience this with the front desk and restaurant staff and the bellman. We are pleased to know that your son enjoyed his time splashing around the pool, as well.

We appreciate your kudos and hope to welcome you back at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This property is simply paradise! Great beach, excellent snorkeling, wonderful ocean front room . Couldn't ask for anything more. All the staff are so friendly and very helpful. Loved this spot on the west coast and we do plan on returning in the future!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday at the Tamarind, this is our fourth visit and the hotel remains our favourite destination.
The Tamarind is a superb hotel, expertly managed and staffed.
The hotel is elegantly designed, well maintained with beautiful gardens, it is located on a lovely stretch of beach with plenty of loungers, excellent water sports and friendly / helpful beach staff.
Our room was amazing, over looking the sea and gardens, it was kept lovely and clean, very spacious, nice bathroom and having good WiFi in the room was a bonus. Beach towels were placed in the room daily.
We dined at the Tamarind or Colony Club (sister hotel which is a short taxi ride) every evening and the food was excellent. There was always a different choice on a daily basis and I was very pleased the hotel has a separate amazing vegetarian menu.
We like everything about the Tamarind, however what makes it very special are the staff who are warm, friendly, helpful and professional. From our arrival till departure everyone was excellent and a number were truly outstanding, to mention only a few names here Markisha, Antonia, Natasha, Chris, Arden, Raquel and Mariner.
During our stay we celebrated a special occasion and we had a romantic dinner on the beach. Everyone at the hotel made it a very special evening and we would highly recommend the romantic dinner.
This is a short review of our experiences at the Tamarind during our recent visit and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mona N,

Thank you for joining us at Tamarind! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing visit and we do value your five-star recommendation to other travelers. We appreciate your kind words of the staff and are glad that they played such an integral role in your trip. Additionally, we are happy to hear that you were able to experience all of the wonderful dining options that are offered at Tamarind and the neighboring sister hotels.

We cannot wait to welcome you and your husband again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Difficult to give a full review of the hotel because it was low season and had hardly any guests so cant judge what the atmosphere is like. The hotel is a nice size with apartments spread along the beach. Depending on which room you choose sizewise mine was very large. Large balcony, usual tv, fridge (no minibar), ironing board and a few toiletries. My room was a little bit shabby and needed refreshing. Great view of the beach. The pool areas were well looked after and plenty of sun beds although I dont know what this would be like in high season. Nice little touches like bringing water around, ice lollies and bits of fruit. Entertainment only a couple of times in the week although was that because it was low season. Wednesday cocktail night. Some nights in the bar there was nobody in it. But for a couple of steps it is almost on the beach and that is a big plus. Sun beds on beach. Free water sports. Food O.K., a big choice at breakfast and eggs cooked any way always great. I would say dont go half board as there are plenty of restaurant in the Holetown area. To me the best thing about the hotel was the Staff from the restaurant, to the bar, the maids and the Manager all friendly, polite and just want to make your holiday lovely. Would I go back again - I doubt it because I rarely go the same pace twice but would be good to know what it is like in high season. Its advertised as a 4.5 star hotel but I would say it is only 4 star max.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 411sunny2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear 411kitty2011,

We thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review Tamarind. Providing our guests with excellent and attentive service is of top priority to us, so we are thrilled that our staff made an impact on your holiday. It sounds as if the sun beds on the beach and our beach ambassador service, with the lollies and water, made for a very relaxing stay. Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the stunning views throughout the various areas of the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamarind for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paynes Bay
3.4 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
0.2 km away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
640 reviews
0.5 km away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,867 reviews
2.3 km away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
305 reviews
1.1 km away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#6 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind by Elegant Hotels

Address: PO Box 429, Paynes Bay, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Paynes Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Paynes Bay
Price Range: €225 - €1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind rests on a 750-foot crescent of premium West Coast white sand beach and is as family-friendly as it is an exclusive adult hideaway. Tamarind features contemporary guestrooms, an intimate spa and relaxation space and two restaurants. Contemporary sun loungers, day beds and decks, transform outdoor spaces into outdoor 'living rooms' providing flexible spaces for dining, drinking, relaxing and events. Complimentary features include: motorized and non-motorized watersports, daily buffet breakfast, WiFi in rooms and throughout property, fitness center and classes and water taxi to other Elegant Hotels' west coast properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Tamarind by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind By Elegant Hotel Paynes Bay
Tamarind Cove Saint James
Tamarind Cove Barbados
Hotel Tamarind Cove
Tamarind By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Paynes Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing