We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Treasure Beach by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The House by Elegant Hotels(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$855
US$782
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach View(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$271
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
US$426
US$344
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$408/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
US$142
US$97
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Old Trees Villas(Paynes Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,253 results
Traveller rating
795
330
92
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
330
92
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubcolony clubwater sportsjunior suiteice lolliesocean viewrum punchwater taxicold towelsomelettethe cliffwater skiingbanana boatsecond visithappy hourcrystal covebottle of wine
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,253 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at Tamarind to celebrate my 27th birthday and it was awesome. The front desk staff and bellman were so welcoming, the water sports were great and the staff at the restaurant staff were so friendly with my 2 year old son. He really enjoyed his stay and all he could talk about was breakfast and the pool lol. The service was great from the bar staff to the room attendants. The rooms were clean and well equipped and it was truly a relaxing environment. I look forward to staying with Tamarind again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Neisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Neisha M,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your five-star stay at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels. Our team is thrilled that your 27th birthday was one to remember and that you and your party were able to take advantage of the complimentary water sports. Our goal is for our staff to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere to all of our guests, so we are glad that you were able to experience this with the front desk and restaurant staff and the bellman. We are pleased to know that your son enjoyed his time splashing around the pool, as well.

We appreciate your kudos and hope to welcome you back at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels again soon!

Kindest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

This property is simply paradise! Great beach, excellent snorkeling, wonderful ocean front room . Couldn't ask for anything more. All the staff are so friendly and very helpful. Loved this spot on the west coast and we do plan on returning in the future!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Xallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I have just returned from our holiday at the Tamarind, this is our fourth visit and the hotel remains our favourite destination.
The Tamarind is a superb hotel, expertly managed and staffed.
The hotel is elegantly designed, well maintained with beautiful gardens, it is located on a lovely stretch of beach with plenty of loungers, excellent water sports and friendly / helpful beach staff.
Our room was amazing, over looking the sea and gardens, it was kept lovely and clean, very spacious, nice bathroom and having good WiFi in the room was a bonus. Beach towels were placed in the room daily.
We dined at the Tamarind or Colony Club (sister hotel which is a short taxi ride) every evening and the food was excellent. There was always a different choice on a daily basis and I was very pleased the hotel has a separate amazing vegetarian menu.
We like everything about the Tamarind, however what makes it very special are the staff who are warm, friendly, helpful and professional. From our arrival till departure everyone was excellent and a number were truly outstanding, to mention only a few names here Markisha, Antonia, Natasha, Chris, Arden, Raquel and Mariner.
During our stay we celebrated a special occasion and we had a romantic dinner on the beach. Everyone at the hotel made it a very special evening and we would highly recommend the romantic dinner.
This is a short review of our experiences at the Tamarind during our recent visit and we look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mona N,

Thank you for joining us at Tamarind! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing visit and we do value your five-star recommendation to other travelers. We appreciate your kind words of the staff and are glad that they played such an integral role in your trip. Additionally, we are happy to hear that you were able to experience all of the wonderful dining options that are offered at Tamarind and the neighboring sister hotels.

We cannot wait to welcome you and your husband again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Difficult to give a full review of the hotel because it was low season and had hardly any guests so cant judge what the atmosphere is like. The hotel is a nice size with apartments spread along the beach. Depending on which room you choose sizewise mine was very large. Large balcony, usual tv, fridge (no minibar), ironing board and a few toiletries. My room was a little bit shabby and needed refreshing. Great view of the beach. The pool areas were well looked after and plenty of sun beds although I dont know what this would be like in high season. Nice little touches like bringing water around, ice lollies and bits of fruit. Entertainment only a couple of times in the week although was that because it was low season. Wednesday cocktail night. Some nights in the bar there was nobody in it. But for a couple of steps it is almost on the beach and that is a big plus. Sun beds on beach. Free water sports. Food O.K., a big choice at breakfast and eggs cooked any way always great. I would say dont go half board as there are plenty of restaurant in the Holetown area. To me the best thing about the hotel was the Staff from the restaurant, to the bar, the maids and the Manager all friendly, polite and just want to make your holiday lovely. Would I go back again - I doubt it because I rarely go the same pace twice but would be good to know what it is like in high season. Its advertised as a 4.5 star hotel but I would say it is only 4 star max.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 411sunny2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear 411kitty2011,

We thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review Tamarind. Providing our guests with excellent and attentive service is of top priority to us, so we are thrilled that our staff made an impact on your holiday. It sounds as if the sun beds on the beach and our beach ambassador service, with the lollies and water, made for a very relaxing stay. Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the stunning views throughout the various areas of the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tamarind for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/ Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This was our second holiday in the Tamarind with our family and we were not disappointed. After an issue with Virgin with our original hotel not actually being built we opted to return to the Tamarind as we knew how good it was. Staff are welcoming, polite and very helpful. We ended up with two suites on the ground floor overlooking the gardens which were both spacious and well equipped. Hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the bars and dining areas are of a high standard. Meals in the A La Carte are a little pricey but no more than you would pay for similar quality out and about in Barbados. Happy hour from 4:30 is the time to get your cocktails as the drinks are also a little pricey. Beach is picture perfect and we never had any problems getting sun beds. Free watersports for the kids was a big hit and the guys that run the activities are friendly and professional. Lots of guys on the beach selling jet ski rides, jewellery and paintings but most of them will move on if you politely decline.Would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families alike as there is nothing you can really fault. Only issue we had was with a large party that were staying while we were in resort getting drunk, swearing and intimidating guests on a daily basis. Management tried to deal with this but in my opinion they should have done more. However, like the weather you can't plan for this and it would not stop us going again. We had noticed prices at the hotel and in Barbados had increased quite a lot since our trip the previous year and this wasn't helped by the weak pound against the dollar. If you've got the budget then try the Tamarind !

Room Tip: Rooms over looking garden in main building are spacious and have great views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JayJayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear JayJayBear,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we value your recommendation for couples and families alike. We are so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your second stay with us. We could not be happier that you had the opportunity to experience our Elegant Inclusions and that your kids enjoyed the water sports. We send our apologies for the rowdy crowd and hope your stay with us next time will be a more pleasurable experience.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Tamarind soon!

Warmest Regards,

Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews