We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
On Line Purchase from Florida

I am over the top pleased with my purchase of a walking stick from Liam O'Caidhia at Olde... read more

Reviewed 19 December 2020
paddymac317
Fine balckthorn sticks - the best you will find anywhere.

At the last minute and on a whim I diverted to the tiny village of Shillelagh as I knew the only... read more

Reviewed 22 October 2019
Archaeobuff
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 34 reviews
  
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
28
4
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
28
4
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking stick tiny village liam sticks souvenir purchase fighting shop ireland blackthorn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We didn't visit in person, but ordered from their web site. The communication was excellent and the whole experience was not only trouble free, but also a pleasure. We selected our stick and it arrived safely within 10 days of ordering (we are in Australia).
The walking stick itself exceeded our expectations. We are planning a trip to Ireland and Shillelagh is now firmly on the itinerary.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank OzBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

A very pleasant visit to compare shillalaghs and learn about their history and pronunciation. Liam, the owner, is a walking text book on the subject! Very nice of him to be so patient and friendly with us, without gaining a sale.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank MargotAlgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Missing a oppertunity to buy a shillelagh when we were visitting Scotland a few years ago. I was determined to get one when in Ireland. Upon arriving and googling where to get one, we came across this place. So we took a little detour and we were not dissapointed. Choices were some what limeted as the owner explained a lot of his sales are done online. But the history and information he gave us was great. Ended up leaving the place with two sticks and a little souvenir for the GF. So if looking for one and in Ireland it's well worth a visit. If looking but not in Ireland go to their site.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We are walking the Wicklow Way and arranged for Liam to pick us up at the Dying Cow after a good days walking! The accommodation was ideal , clean and very comfortable ! We had a pizza at the local pub which was good. there is also a local take away fish and chip shop in the village!

Liz provided breakfast which was excellent and set us up for another days walking! Liam dropped us at the Dying Cow to start our days walking the Wicklow way and then transported our bags to the next B&B !

Liz and Liam are great hosts and thanks to Liam for giving us a brief history of the fighting sticks!

highly recommended

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This is a wonderful B & B to stay in. We are doing the Wicklow way hike in Ireland and we are very satisfied from this place. The owners are very friendly (they picked us up from the path) The rooms are clean and beautiful. The Irish breakfast is excellent. I strongly recomend staying there
Yaron

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank YaronK40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews