We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
47
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
1
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit gas stove well stocked kitchen lovely weekend log cabin cross country two nights horses hammocks tents rathwood hens facilities fires hosts hendricks fridge
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Had the most amazing weekend with friends and horses! Stayed in a bell tent, really comfortable & cosy, stove & hot water bottles to keep us warm, perfect. Enjoyed the campfire/Hendricks Bar at night and the Munny Trail during the day. Cannot say enough about Belinda & Lorcan and their hospitality, nothing was too much for them. It is a really magical place if you want a holiday with your horse, lovely paddocks & stables. Special memories were made that will last a lifetime.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBGIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We loved it!
We purchased a voucher for the Old Forge Glamping nearly a year before we actually stayed however due to other commitments it was really difficult for us to find a weekend that suited us all and thought we had lost out, however Belinda was kind enough to offer an extension on the voucher which was great.

We eventually booked a tent for 4 people (2 couples). On arrival, we were given a very warm welcome and a tour of the facilities which were, everything you could need for Glamping........ camp fires, BBQ's, fully serviced kitchen and dining area etc. We were then shown to our tents. As we chose to stay Sunday/Monday we were fortunate enough to have a choice of tent BUT what made this extra special is that Belinda noticed we were two couples and as she had a tent spare, she very generously offered a second tent free of charge which made our stay perfect.

The tents were fab, beds very comfy with plenty of linen and blankets plus there was gas heating available within :-)

Each tent had its own Campfire/BBQ area and plenty of space, although there are other tents nearby, they are not so near that you do not have privacy and not so far that you feel isolated. A great lay out.

Toilets/showers are shared which is to be expected but of a great standard with cosy tea lights and other subtle lighting in use.

The grounds are breathtaking (we were fortunate enough to have good weather which made it super special) and we were advised we were free to roam the estate at our own leisure. Belinda was always available if needed and really helpful with advice on local things to do. Yet at the same time we often felt we had the place to ourselves (which when staying on someone’s property is often not the case).

We made the most of our two days there and all agreed it was a trip and experience we would never forget. (The locals were all really friendly too - especially after we'd had a few!!)

Super Facilities, excellent grounds, a real treat and will definitely return and hope to bring more friends the next time.

Well done Belinda and all for a super product and thank you for being so accommodating. Wishing you all the best, Sean, Stephen, Rachael, Gillian.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MusicMaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Just back from a single night stay in then old forge glamping site.
Belinda the owner was very pleasent and helpful,we would highly recommend a stay.We also visited the local pub,crab lane bar which was also a great Irish pub again well worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colm5steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Not knowing what to expect, we had a truly wonderful experience at the Old Forge. We had a lovely welcome from Belinda , showing us around and making us feel very at home. Staying in a yurt for the first time we had everything at our disposal, from a BBQ to kitchen and toilet facilities. we had a terrific view over the beautiful Irish countryside. We will definitely be visiting this hidden gem again.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank seaniemcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Last week we went Glamping for the first time and boy did the Munny trail live up to our expectations (..and more). The location was just breathtaking and we had such good fun !! Belinda was so lovely, helpful and welcoming ! For all the horsie people looking for a trip away with your four legged friend the Munny trail is a must !! The horses enjoyed it as much as we did (loads of fresh grass for them to munch on). Everything was so relaxed and nothing was a problem. The facilities on site were excellent and the yurt we stayed in was spotless and so comfortable ! I really can't recommend the Munny Trail enough to people!! Even people who don't have horses that just want a relaxing, enjoyable and different weekend away this is the spot ! Thank you so so much Belinda, see you soon

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Niamh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews