We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gower bungalow

Outside front of bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside front of bungalow
Parking on the forecourt in picture or across the way on parking bay if preferred. Open plan kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Outside front of bungalow
Parking on the forecourt in picture or across the way on parking bay if preferred.
Open plan kitchen
microwave.
good size double room with wardrobe and drawer space. beds ready made up for visitors.
Bay window view of double bedroom
Adult sized bunk beds in smaller room most suitable for young adolescents or children.
Conservatory
French doors from conservatory lead onto upper and lower patio area. views over mumbles hill.
please note we do not supply body towels only hand towels, tea towels and shower mat.
Lower decking patio area
relax in this sun trap in comfort.
lovely views over mumbles hill
Two minutes walk from bungalow (thats roobee)
Mewslade on Gower Coast.
Plenty of local artists to capture the beauty of the gower coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mumbles, Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
eregriffi...
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice for two...little bungalow in pretty location”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The bungalow is pretty and well presented but during our stay, the heating had been turned off and even the cleaner, who called in thinking the bungalow was empty, could not find a way of turning it on. We used pound coins to pay for the electric heaters but this didn't help in the bathroom. The idea of a wet room is great, but with no heating on, the room stays very cold and wet, with no dry floor space to dry yourself after a shower. If more than a couple stayed here, I would think this may be a real problem, as the small wet room come bathroom houses the toilet and basin as well. I would say this is a cute little place to stay for an intimate break, but only really when the sun is shinning, but that's just my personal view. The location is lovely and a lot of thought from the owners has gone into making the bungalow pretty and as comfortable as possible for a small space. We chose to leave a day early and return home, this was due to the weather as we had unfortunately just missed the sunny days the week before, but we just couldn't stay warm, dry our bath towels, or really enjoy the stay as much as we would have liked. I wouldn't recommend this stay to my friends only because I know they like being warm, and on days off, enjoy taking long lazy showers like me and not feel freezing when the shower turns off. There are no bath towels provided so take your own and you need to take plenty pound coins to pay for your electric. We could smell wet dog really strongly when we arrived, but after airing the rooms and spraying the air fresher around, this wasn't an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pretty looking bungalow in a lovely location
Liked least: Lack of central heating, no bath towels, no where to dry towels on wet days, cold wet room with no dry space to dry off after a shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshinUS...
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent 3 nights at the bungalow and it was perfect for what we needed. It was very clean and well kept. I was glad I read the reviews and had some pound coins for the meter. It might be helpful to helpful to alert guests once they have booked, as we arrived in the dark and the electricity was out.

The house was spacious - just like the pictures, the outside space is lovely and we appreciated being able to spend time out there and hang out washing to dry on the washing thing. Communication with the owner was great, very fast response and easy to deal with. I had all the directions and details of how to get keys once I had booked.

The only downsides (and these are both out of the owners control) was the adjoining bungalow was being completely renovated whilst we were staying there and the drilling, etc was very loud. The workmen were very nice though and we had a nice chat with them. They will be finished no doubt by the time you read this review.

Note that there is little to no mobile signal at the property (due to its location) so we found it impossible to make arrangements to meet friends/family whilst we were there. Sometimes the wind would blow a certain way and we would have a signal for a minute or too(I was on EE, my husband was on Tesco Mobile which got more signal than me). I walked down to the bay at the bottom of the road (by the ice cream shop) where there is a partial signal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of signal for phone/internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynfor H
Ellesmere Port
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Freezing cold. No central heating, the beging of March is too early to switch it off!!”
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were only going for 3 nights but found the bungalow so cold we only stayed for 2. The meter ate lots of £1 coins to keep the main room a little warmer from convector heaters. A water bottle for the main bed was provided. The beginning of March is much too early to turn the central heating off! It's no use providing a torch if the batteries are dead. We had been out for shopping and came back in the dark, the electric had gone, it's a good job we had a torch in the car.
The one consolation was, it was a short walk to the coastal path.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The cold and having to feed the meter.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
I have to admit to finding this review very disheartening. I do of course apologise to the visitors for their less than satisfactory experience in the bungalow. I take on board the issue regarding the central heating and will extend it to include the month of march . I would have responded to the visitor complaint had it been made to me in a positive and immediate manner but alas no contact with me was made. The other complaints are I have to say completely unjustified and perhaps a result of a sense of disgruntlement in regard to the issue of heating. I would however add that the electric heaters in each room are modern efficient and are not overly expensive to run. Gower bungalow is a lovely property that provides a high standard of accomodation that is affordable and for the over whelming number of visitors a throughly enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly L
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful quiet little place that does exactly what it says on the tin.”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We arrived on Saturday with clear instructions from Paula on how to find the key. A fabulous bungalow, spotlessly clean and very tastefully furnished being colourful, bright and airy throughout. Everything worked exactly as it should in the very well equipped kitchen - we didn't eat out once, choosing instead to eat in the dining/conservatory every evening. The garden is small and has really nice sitting areas - we spent all days out so didn't get the chance to do the garden justice. We took along our dog and felt perfectly happy with the security of the back garden.

Located literally a short hop and skip from the beginning of the Gower Peninsula path. A short walk takes you down to Bracelet Bay and the gorgeous coffee and outlook from the Castlellamare. Easy to walk to Mumbles Hill, Langland and Caswell Bays.

If there was one downside it had to be a large barking dog across the way, every time we ventured up the path it barked relentlessly and sometimes set our dog off by it's random barks. It wasn't threatening just slightly annoying. There were one or two dogs in the vicinity that were off-lead and charged towards our nervous dog. These didn't really detract from a wonderful week in an area of truly outstanding natural beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything worked, everything was bright and tasteful
Liked least: bathroom could be damp, toilet seat broken
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans P
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, convenient bungalow in a quiet spot”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The stay in the lovely bungalow was very pleasant and relaxing. We enjoyed the functional kitchen with reliable equipment and a cosy interior. The electricity meter working with 1£-coins is no problem to handle. We needed less than 5 £ in 2 weeks even using the washing machine often (2 children). The shower is easy to handle and should be no problem for elder or handicapped people. In the winter garden there is a big table with a lot of space for 4 persons, even 6 persons can sit there. Sitting outside is lovely, but we had first to get used to English privacy provided by high fences. Children could play in front of the house. The neighborhood is very friendly and helpful. A two minutes walk along a small path leads to a breathtaking view over one of the nicest coast of europe and to the Gover coast path. Bus connections from Mumbles are fine, you don't need a car necessarily. Shopping in Mumbles is ok, but not the cheapest. All of us simply loved the house and the spot there. The landlady of the bungalow was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: almost all
Liked least: Bad phone connection with BT network in the area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing