We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Camaron Rouge

Camaron Rouge
Ranked #15 of 25 Restaurants in Pereybere
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

We had a dinner there. Not very friendly, but the food was okay. A little overprized. Noisy, as direct at the road.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GermanTravellerDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Not a place I would have picked out nor recommend. I'm sure our guide is a friend of the owner. I got the corn soup which was good but it's hard to mess up broth and a few kernels of corn. The other dish we ordered was grilled king prawns. They came plated, already cut, and peeled so hard to know if they were really king prawns or not.

This was a pretty mid-tier place, mediocre at best. I would suggest to either pay a bit more and get a nicer experience somewhere else or find some street food. This place just screams tourist trap.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

it is about average place. food was not good, neither was it fresh.its reasonably priced but food is not worth it

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hemant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

We went there a Friday evening after a waiter advertised it to us few days before with a bargain menu of ~300 Rupees for a starter, welcome drink, main of your choice (fresh fish, crab or chicken grilled and fries) and a complimentary rum ! The weekend menu slightlty differs and offers fresh seafood catch served in a shell for 1000 Rupees with all the above. We ordered both and were surprised by a live dance and music programm which lasted for the main part of our dinner. It was quite nice but forget about conversations as it's also quite loud! The welcome cocktail is a bit of a joke but the starter was delicious (pâté de crabe) and unfortunately the seafood was a bit of a mess to eat (no appropriate cutlery or preparation, you get a full camaron (petit homard) to crack yourself and can struggle to get the flesh out (we borrowed the "nut cracking " tool from our neighbours) . Overall nice and more than fair prices!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Héloïse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening here.
If you want an easy evening, good food and friendly staff...try it.
Special menu simple, well priced and can't fault the service.
If you want posh go elsewhere.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Thequinnfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camaron Rouge also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
 
Pereybere, Grand Baie
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Camaron Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing