We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norway on business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

In November 2011 I was in Norway on business. It was my first visit to Alesund and my distributor booked the room for me for my 3 night stay. Don't think I could have done better in Alesund.

Staff were very friendly, nice lobby with comfortable sofa's, TV etc. Drinks can be ordered from bar at reception. Like my red wine and was very competiitvely priced (for Norway). Had a single room with balcony over the water. Next time will go for a double as I don't like single beds, even when on my own, but otherwise clean, modern and everything I need.

Breakfast was fine, more than enough for everyone's tast. Dinner is included, which is something I don't often come ac ross and I travel a lot. Was out for dinner two nights, but went with this option one night. Pretty basic, but does the job, if tired and in need of an early night.

Location cannot be better, splapbang in the middle of Alesund, Everything you need within a 5 - 10 minute walk, Even Dirty Nelly's and Irish pub, one minute away. Good place for a Guinness on a cold November night.

Will not stay anywhere else when I return. If they are full, will change my dates.

Room Tip: Go for water facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for the good words about our hotel. The water facing rooms are just beautiful with the boats passing. It is also good to read about our friendly staff, the food and the location.
You are very welcome back to our hotel, Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 264 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Four wonderful days in Aalesund (with a couple of tours around) and the nice feeling to come back to this hotel and find a so quiet, comfortable and relaxing room, with a magnificent view over the main channel. Great pleasure in having a cup of coffee and some waffels at the restaurant (actually free in the afternoon! - which is not bad) at just few metres from the sea... we were here in August but I can't imagine how gorgeous it should be in winter... And when you go outside the Jugendstil buildings are just in front of you. The buffet dinner is also interesting (nothing special but of good quality, if you like plain norwegian food you will find it), but try to go there at the opening so you can enjoy the highest choice.
The staff was also very kind and ready to help for any advice or suggestion.

Room Tip: If possible ask for those over the main channel at the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krumiro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time writing these beautiful words about our hotel, Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen. Welcome back the next time you are in town.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Due to poor weather, my flight was late into Ålesund. I was just missing the free evening buffet, but at checkin which was prompt and friendly, I was told that some food would still be available despite being late. Great service !

Got upgraded to a large room with sofa area. Room was great and in good condition facing seaside.

My only remark was the TV set not being flat screen. This should be standard in any hotel !

WIFI was free and being both fast and reliable.

Breakfast was standard Choice fully suiting my needs.

All in all a great stay and I would definetely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for these wonderful words. We are working with the tv-setting. It is nice to read about the service we provide at front desk and that you were happy with our big rooms, Wifi, view and breakfast.
I hope you soon will be back at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I'm always trying to use this hotel when staying in Ålesund. It is in the center of the city, close to the water and they also have a free evening meal from 18:00 to 21:00. It is almost like a breakfast with one warm dish. Very ok.
The rooms are ok and service is great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms against the sea, then you'll see down to the boats. vEry nice view of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear guest,
I am so glad to read that this is your place in Ålesund.
You are always welcome.
Best regards, Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Hotel is on a splendid location at the harbour.
We had a beautiful and spacious room at the streetside but there was some noise from a bar opposite the hotel, especially during the week-end. Good breakfast and light but tasty buffet in the evening is included in roomrate.
Parking (paid but not expensive) nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much. Wish you a good day and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best regards
Camilla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.3 km away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.3 km away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: €115 - €210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing