We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
64
85
30
21
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
85
30
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator stained glass breakfast room minute walk train station public park quaint hotel coffee and tea boiled eggs yogurt tiny bathroom spiral staircase hotel experience bed was very comfortable included in the room price sitting area cold cuts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I stayed at Steens Hotel November 10-12 2017. The location is excellent, close to the City Center, but still very quiet and nice view to Nygårdsparken. No traffic, so you can sleep with open windows!

It is an old fashion hotel in an old Villa, classy and nice (but not modern). The bathroom was small and the stairs steep (no elevator), but the room was very nice with exellent beds. TV and refridgerator in the room.

A simple, but fresh breakfast is served at 2nd Floor. There ara nice sofas here and you can have a cup of coffie here in the evenings and relax and enjoy.

In my view, Steens hotel is real good value for money! Hovever, if you like it modern or if you need an elevator, choose an other hotel.

The receptionist is friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Some rooms got balcony!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerS190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The hotel is located next to a public park. Most part of the city is accessible by foot. I used the bus just once during my stay.
The rooms are small bu comfortable. Breakfast is included in the room price which is very economical compared to the quality.
The breakfast room is open during the day where one can have coffee, tea and enjoy the nice ambient.

In short, very advisable.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Classy small hotel in a lovely quiet location near the University. It's a 10 min walk to Bryggen through a very pretty neighborhood. Great breakfast with the best bread ever. Only negative was the VERY small bathroom. I would certainly recommend this hotel to any guest.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Thea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. This hotel was very cozy. I am not sure how else to put it. They have smaller rooms and bathrooms but this is par for the course in Norway.

They have a super friendly and helpful staff. Feel free to ask them anything and they will help out. The decorations of this place are very nice, I really felt more like I was in a room of someone's house as opposed to a hotel. It was great. The breakfast room also has all day coffee and the breakfast is really good here. If you are looking for stuff to do in Bergen they also got brochures set up and you can call a taxi from the front desk without any trouble.

It is also a 15-20 minute nice walk to the main harbor tourist area and we never had any problem going back and forth from there to our hotel. It is at the top of the hill so if you have trouble with hills maybe get a taxi for the way up.

Also very close to the train station as well so that is great. Just a great time here.

Room Tip: no elevator so go bottom floor if you can't handle stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soptheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel is located next to a charming park which descends down a hill and is a wonderful place to stroll. The hotel is not centrally located but is only a 10 minute walk from the train station. Comfortable bed, good breakfast, friendly staff, clean rooms. An excellent place to stay for a couple of nights or even longer periods.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, the only noises you will hear from outside are the beautiful birds singing.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dacilpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews