We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Expedia.comUS$89
Hotels.comUS$89
TravelocityUS$89
PricelineUS$90
Orbitz.comUS$89
ZenHotels.comUS$92
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
25
97
93
65
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
97
93
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station the ground floor basic hotel walking distance breakfast room hangers fjord
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2021 via mobile

I chose this hotel as it was the closest to Trondheim station and I was arriving alone by train after 10 pm at night. It was also the cheapest hotel I stayed in during my 3 week travel around Norway and it was easy to see why. There were no amenities in the hotel room such as a kettle, iron, hairdryer or safe. The carpet was stained, and the TV offered about 6 channels, one of them was Al Jazeera and two of them appeared to be Chinese Government sponsored channels. There was not even the usual offering of Norwegian TV channels, just NRK1 and NRK3. The channels that there were were not properly tuned in and there was distortion on the screen. The WiFi kept dropping in and out so I couldn’t watch anything on my iPad either.
There was an overhead light when you entered the room above the door, but nothing above the bed, just two tiny bedside lamps so the room appeared dark and unwelcoming. Neither was there a wardrobe or draws, just a frame to hang clothes on with two hangers. The room was warm, and there was a temperature control so that was a bonus. The view from the window of the room I was in was over the train station and out into the fjord beyond. Luckily it was not noisy although I am aware that there were trains running throughout the night.
The shower room was also quite sparse - the seat on the toilet was broken, the two towels provided were quite threadbare, and there were two dispensers on the wall, one by the sink, the other in the shower dispensing minute quantities of soap. The good point was that the shower itself was strong and hot, and appeared quite clean. The light in the shower room was on a sensor which took a while to switch itself off, this has the potential to be quite annoying if you are sharing the room and one of you gets up in the middle of the night
On the ground floor was a breakfast room but I did not have breakfast or anything from the reception area so cannot comment on the food or drink on offer - there were also hot and cold drinks and some pastries on sale from the reception desk. The main thing going for this hotel is its’ proximity to Trondheim Station, however I realised on my first morning there that there significantly better hotels within close, well-lit walking distance across the bridge from the station

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Wales_Solo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

overhead light didn't work and the power plugs did not charge at all. receptionist was already unfriendly at the checkin.

while the location is really attractive since it is less than 2 minutes away from the train station, I would highly recommend investing a little bit more money and going instead to a slightly more expensive hotel like Radisson Blu or similar that are just a few minutes further away

Room tip: don't waste your money on this hotel. better pay some more bucks for a proper hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Evolyzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 December 2019 via mobile

Require a stay in the presented case:
- short distance from the Train station (Had a morning 7+AM train to catch).
- first visit to the City of Trondheim.
- Clean, quiet place to stay.
- Reasonable Price.

I gave it high 5s. It answered to all I was looking for.

Very helpful staff. I requested for hot water, I got it in less than 10-mins. Requested for early breakfast, their crew sent the breakfast pack earlier than I thought.

Not to mention the crews of Charlize Theron and Chris Hemsworth lookalike.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 44willyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 November 2019

So 2 weeks ago The Urbanaut had to unexpectedly stay a night in Trondheim on business.

For some reason there were no hotels available at all that night - not a room anywhwere, except for this hotel, who had a few left.

There is a reason for that. This hotel is woeful. It cost 1500 kroner (around £130) for the most basic, not very clean room, overlooking train tracks. The amenities at this hotel are pitiful. No bar, no restaurant, no nothing really, just a bunch of unwelcoming rooms that are way overpriced. The business model seems to be 'if they are desperate they will come'. That really is the only reason you should even consider this hotel.

The staff were not very helpful or engaged, they made promises they failed to keep, despite my usual friendly approach, and they could not care less about their customers. I asked to speak to the manager 4 times, each time I was told they were not in the building but 3 of those times I was asking at the time I was previously told they would be there.

The TV remote was sticky to the touch, dubious stains everywhere in the room - even on walls, basically it was not somewhere you would want to find yourself, so if you have any alternative at all - you should seize it with both hands!

The kicker is the breakfast. It is a plastic bag, which is hung on the door handle of your room, which contains a dry ham and cheese sandwhich, not even cut, just two bits of old bread with a piece of ham and a piece of cheese inside and a bottle of orange squash which is the colour of urine and is almost entirely tasteless. I kid you not - that's breakfast!

It is as if the breakfast is a legal requirement and they do the absolute minimum to comply - it really makes no sense as it only serves to reduce your opinion of the place even further, very weird.

I can only sympathise if, like me, you find all other options unavailable, but my advice is to just bite the bullet and book something a little out of town, you'll pay for a taxi but you'll save yourself the worst hotel stay of your life.

Room tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 October 2019

This place is worth sleeping in if you are limited with price. Hotel is nice, rooms are comfortable, staff do their best and location si good. Breakfast as advartised , you get a package on the door with sendwich and juice. It could be better, but at least they give you something.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DzemoMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews