We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice situated hotel, lovely breakfast!”
Review of Scandic Nidelven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Nidelven
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Room is okey, nothing special but clean. Hotel staff is very polite and smiling, always trying to do the little extra that you appreciate. Reception very effective, although it was very busy when we checked out on a Sunday. Very nice and comfy view since the hotels is by/on the Nidelva river.Especially at night with all the lights on. The breakfast deserves it's own chapter. We have been traveling around and visited many hotels, mostly in Europe, but this breakfast is some of the best we have ever experienced. It had all you could wish for, and much more. Several chefs serving the food and could tell you all about its origin. One Chef preparing smoothies, a barista making your coffee exactly as you want it. This is not a cheap hotel, but the breakfast made it worth the price without any doubts! Next time in Trondheim, we know for certain where to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front side of the hotel. It can bee noisy there at night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oslo_NorwayKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Nidelven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 498 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed for new year weekend. Nice staff at reception. Allright room, pretty basic, everything average. Way too soft bed for me, had difficulties adjusting the heat in room for the night, ended up with open window. Good breakfast bur crammed breakfastroom, hotel seems to be caring more for outside breakfast guest, there was a lot of these, rather than caring for the actual hotelguests. No parking, you will have to pay to park in an ungarded outside public parking out of sight. The room was not cleaned second night, even though I twice gave notice of this as it was january 31th and I had my fears, everything under control was the reply.... Compensated by bringing clean towels from the reception and cut the not very low price with NOK 200,.-

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turistkjell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had the pleasure to spend 2 nights on this hotel, and will certainly stay at the same hotel next time we come to Tr.heim.
Friendly and warm welcome in the reception, good sized room, very well cleaned, superior breakfast, great view at the river and brigde crossing it and the list goes on and on.

If you're about to plan a trip to Tr.heim, be sure to stay at Nidelven. It may cost a little bit more (like 100 kroner9 a night but it's sure worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaManga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just got home from spending new years at the Rica Nidelven Hotel in Trondheim and we loved it.

We had a deluxe room, I think the lovely lady on reception told us we were upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was really nice. Blackout curtains were great and we had a huge balcony. It was a really big room with a separate 2 seater couch with two single seaters so it was essentiallly another area you could watch TV in separate from the bed (which was simply incredible.. sooooo soft!!!).

One of our friends came by around 11am on new years morning and he was not feeling well at all so we let him sleep for a little whilst we watched TV. Unfortunately it became clear when we tried to rouse hime that he was going to be too unwell to move at check out time at midday which was a bit of a tricky situation as he was our ride home about 2 hours away. Reception kindly let us extend until 2pm which was much appreciated.

The Breakfast was amazing as others have described. We've travelled fairly extensively and always stay 4 star plus, so its not the best breakfast we've ever had, but I would say its the best in Norway for sure, it was declicious thats for sure and the range is very extensive including smoothies and a barista who can make you a coffee of choice.. mmmm we had a smoothie shot which was perfect for new years morning (trust me!), dont know what was in it but it had ginger and it was fantastic.

Whilst it is not the most 'cool' hotel as far as modern and funky goes, the decor is in need of some refurbing/updating, I still cannot fault Rica Nicdevlen, we highly recommend the hotel yes - oh and the price was really really reasonable through their website we found.

Room Tip: I hear you need to ask for a non-smoking room but we forgot and the room didnt smell. Ask for a vie...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed for one night for business and because we came directly from Christmas holiday we had to bring our dog.

The hotel was happy to accomodate dogs for a small extra fee which is a nice treat. However one had to choose a smoking room if accommodating pets. Upon reserving the room we asked if the smoking rooms smelled bad from the smoke. The reply was that "no guests had complained about this". Maybe since pet owners are happy the hotel does accommodate pets in the first place. However the room smelt seriously bad of smoke and it would be a problem if we had stayed for more than one night.

We also checked with Rica Bakklandet which is a new hotel in the same Rica chain of hotels. They also accommodate pets and in non smoking rooms we were told. However they were closed for Christmas. Pet owners should choose the Rica Bakklandet instead if you don't smoke yourself.

The room we had was a bit tired and looked like it was designed in the 90s with bright yellow furnitures, bright blue and red carpeting and faux wood. Not exactly up to todays design, but probably it was the pet situation that gave us an older room. We got the impression that many rooms are now renovated and updated.

The common areas look nice and modern. The service is nice, however as in most Norwegian hotels it's not first class because you miss portiers and simply enough service staff. The people that do work there are very nice and pleasant.

For example to iron you need to walk down to the reception area and take the stairs to the basement. I believe that even a 4 star hotel should provide iron and iron boards in the rooms or at least housekeeping should bring upon request.

Breakfast was the best ever and we haven't been in any hotel where breakfast may compare to this. The staff and service at the breakfast room was comparable to a 5 star deluxe hotel.
The location is perfect in the midst of the old center area and the newer harbour area with lots of cafés and restaurant. The location on the pier gives it a really nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Make sure not to end up in a smoking room. Ask for renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misterminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.5 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
756 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.4 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
426 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#7 of 25 in Trondheim
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Nidelven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegt 1 - 4, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Family Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range: €121 - €214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing