We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$156
View deal
Expedia.com
US$154
View deal
Hotels.com
US$154
View deal
PricelineUS$156
TravelocityUS$154
Orbitz.comUS$154
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
69
140
52
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
69
140
52
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay nice bathroom smoked salmon few minutes walk breakfast buffet is shower centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

While checking in I asked for a room on a higher floor seen that the hotel is at the centre of Trondheim on a busy street. The receptionist claimed that all rooms were fully booked and were given a room right above the hall where a high school party was taking placed The hotel didn’t bother informing us beforehand or at least choose a more convenient room away from the noise despite knowing about the party. We only discovered the noise once we got to the room. When we went back to the reception to ask for another quieter room, the receptionist seemed very bothered by our request and after insisting on changing the room we ended up being downgraded being the “only” solution. For clarity, we only discovered we were downgraded later since the receptionist tried to sell it to us as a newly refurbished room not a downgrade. However, there was still noise although not as audible as before but we were assured the party will be wrapped up at 23:00 since it was a Thursday and that was the time agree with the organisers. Later than night, past 23:00, the party was still going on and louder than before. I had to call the receptionist twice before the hotel finally shut down the party (about 23:30). The following day was not better especially that we were still in the downgraded room and right above the bar. We tried again to have another room but in vain as it was a Friday and all rooms were full. Luckily this time, there was another receptionist who tried to help and managed to find a more suitable room on a higher floor for our last night and offered a gesture after she realised we were not given the room category we booked and actually were downgraded.
Other than this horrible experience, the hotel itself was not in top shape. Facilities have seen better times. Minimum amenities, not even a bath mat or slippers to stand on. We’ve seen three different rooms and couldn’t see the effect of any cleaning. We had to indicate the breakfast time due to “COVID consideration” but nobody seemed to follow any timeline and the breakfast area was always crowded. I wouldn’t recommend this place at all.

Room tip: They tend to hose parties on the same floor where guests are staying. If you absolutely have to stay here, make sure to check that.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank traveller_jvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tonje-Marie Hansen, Guest Services / Front Office at Quality Hotel Prinsen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2021


Hello and thank you very much for giving us feedback after your stay here with us. We really appreciate that. We are constantly improving and experience that there were clearly some shortcomings and mistakes during this stay. We are so sorry for this.
We of course want you to have a good night's sleep and a good experience here with us. I take the feedback further so that we can improve ourselves and our routines. Again, we apologize so much for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

If you want to stay at a Central hotel thats not too expensive Prinsen is absolutely one of the better ones to og to. It is a Perfect location since the main HUB for buses has to stop straight outside. Its also a very short walk from the main attractions like the Nidarosdomen cathedral, the town square, restaurants, pubs, and shopping center.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank Slashgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anette_THP, Resepsjonssjef at Quality Hotel Prinsen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Thank you so much for Your kind feedback :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2019 via mobile

The hotel is not really a 4star hotel as I was used to stay. Anyway, there is a very nice hotel, clean and very nice located. I really appreciate the free coffee and fruits from the lobby.
The reception staff are both very nice and eased my stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Anette_THP, Resepsjonssjef at Quality Hotel Prinsen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Thank you so much for your kind feedback :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

These Thon hotels can be spartan, to say the least but this one was one of the worst examples I’ve stayed in. Barely two thin pillows on the bed; no net curtains or blinds so either fully on show or in the dark; towels had been laundered until they were thin and and devoid of anything approaching ‘fluff’; a phone in the room but no indication of how to call reception never mind make an external call; limited TV channels. On the Norwegian scale of breakfast buffets, this one was poor. Thank goodness I didn’t pay for the room! (Business trip).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank EnglishViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sofie T, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Prinsen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Dear guest.
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate knowing what room number you stayed at so we can fix these errors. Please contact us on email prisen@olavthon.no.
Kind regards,
Sofie
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Me and my fiancé had a weekend at this hotel. The hotel is located centrally in town, and we find easy parking underground near the hotel. The staff gave the good service, and the breakfast was very good. But room was very worn and too small.
The elevator was out of service the first day, and the other elevator was in second floor and very small. I think this is not good enough for handicapped people.

Room tip: The suits at 6 th floor are large
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
1  Thank Inger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Hi! Thanks for your feedback. We look forward in welcoming you back, on your next visit to Trondheim :-) Kind regards, Front Office Manager, Maria T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews