We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel central in Trondheim” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Grand Olav

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence
Akershus, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel central in Trondheim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel 2 nights, during a family get together in the city.

What I liked with the hotel:

- They have a light supper from 18.00 until 21.00, and before that, you have the possibility to "cook" your own waffle. I like that touch, no fancy stuff, just som plain and good supper if you feel up for that! The food in general is great at this hotel, not the largest range of food, but the food is good, and Choise hotels in Norway is known for healthy food.

- In the lobby you can find a big collection of DVDs, and that is GREAT for a hung over Sunday.. You simply pick up the DVDs you'd like to see, get the discs in the reception, ask for a pot of tea and some fruit, and your Sunday is saved.. :-)

- The rooms are comfy and good looking, the beds are soft and you got everything you need in the room.

What I don't like:

- The rooms who lies on the "street"side of the hotel, don't have AC, and unless you ask for some help, you can't open the windows more than just a little bit on the top.. If it's a hot night, you'll be boiled.. It's no problem to ask the front desk manager, for some help to unlock the window.. But you don't bother do that the first hot night, with hot and bad air in the room. That said, the rooms with windows in to the atrium has AC, and that gives a comfier sleep.

- With my 194 cm height, I don't care much about bathtubs, so that's a small minus from me.

- The hotel don't offer free parking, so if you're staying at the hotel with a car for serveral days, find somewhere else to park.. It's 170 NOK a day..


All in all, it's a good hotel, it gives me all that I need from a hotel. The food served is great, and that what I like best of the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    138
    46
    14
    1
See reviews for
65
110
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is another good standard hotel. Nice big room, with a sofa, which makes relaxing easier. The staff were very helpful.
It is a good location on the edge of the city centre, so every thing is a short walk away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Checkin was fast, friendly and efficient.

Room was very spacious and in good condition. I assume I was upgraded as my colleague told me that his room was standard size.

WIFI was free being both reliable and fast.

Hotel offered evening buffet free of charge which was highly appreciated.

Breakfast was also good with selection to suit most tastes.

Liked the proximity from airport bus stop as well as being middle in downtown.

I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This hotel is actually a bit funny. For breakfast you even have to fry the eggs yourself.

The hotel is in a nice location. Reception staff are welcoming. There is free internet.
The rooms were surprisingy nice and pretty, but unfortunately they only have a heating system, and no cooling. In the summer the room got so boiling hot I had problems sleeping. I tried to open window but it was too noisy outside. They should have some fans. They hava a minibar but no room service, so if you need more drinks you will have to go down to the reception which is also a bar.

They do not have restaurant for dinner or lunch only breakfast. Well, they do have a sort of light evening meal which is included in the price, self service. To be honest if it wasn`t included in the price noone would pay to eat that food. Its possible to eat if you are very hungry, and dont want to spend money to eat elsewhere, but the food is not good. which is sad as the idea is good, and it would have cost so little extra to make something more edible.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glukos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

Located in the northeast corner of downtown adjacent to a shopping mall, 6 blocks from the train station. Modern decor is very tastefully done, with a music theme. Location is on a narrow (cobblestone) side street, so there is no traffic noise. Rooms are spotless. Windows open. Bathroom is nice size. Staff was very accommodating. Room rate includes substantial buffet breakfast with hot and cold dishes, afternoon waffles, and a light (one hot entree, vegetable, starch) plus an assortment of cold dishes which was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.6 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.2 km away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
0.2 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Grand Olav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Grand Olav

Property: Clarion Collection Grand Olav
Address: Kjoepmannsgata 48, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#7 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Grand Olav 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Grand Olav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Trondheim
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing