We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Expedia.com
US$295
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$250
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/23
Hotels.comUS$295
PricelineUS$295
TravelocityUS$295
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
199
37
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
37
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great spa tv in the mirror turn down service palm garden unforgettable stay beautiful room elegant hotel public areas up to date comfy bed included in the price breakfast room other hotels brasserie luxury concierge reopened
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2022 via mobile

Recently renovated and did a wonderful job. The location is outstanding for exploring the old downtown section of the city. Easy walk to the Cathedral, shopping and very good restaurants. The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. The one drawback is the electronics gone wild system they have to control the lighting in the room. If this is an improvement over just having switches I fail to see it. What really makes it hard to deal with is that there are no written instructions to refer to. There also is the annoying euro system of having to have a card in the slot for the electricity to be on when you're leaving the room. Just makes it impossible to recharge electronic instruments except when you were in the room.

Room tip: We arrived by train from Oslo. This is a beautiful way to see the interior of Norway without doing any work.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E6492Zbobh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2022

Dear E6492Zbobh,

Thank you for staying at Britannia Hotel in Trondheim.

We are very pleased to read that you had a great stay and appreciated the renovated property, the location and the service from our team members. I will make sure to forward your praise to them We are in the process of adding a printed Room Directory in all rooms, with a more extensive explanation of the lightning system in the room. As you mention, most hotels operate here with a card needed to be in the card slot for full electricity, but we do recommend having a second key card if you prefer to have it on at all time for your next stay with us.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay with us.


All the best,
Andrès Reyes Gjerme
Hotel Manager
Britannia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2022

I am super impressed with this hotel on many levels.
We stayed 3 nights and never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator.
There is plenty of staff, always ready to help.
A key is required in the slot by the door for electric to work. However, the foyer lights up when you enter the room even when power is off. You can touch an icon on the wall panel to night time settings. The lights go off, but you can still turn on your bedside reading light, and get this: When you enter the bathroom the dim lighting comes on.
You don’t see the tv. When you turn on the remote, the screen appears on the mirror on the wall.
Plenty of outlets.
This one might be my favorite: what I call the goody basket. In addition to personally sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bars of soap and shower gel, there are also the following, each individually wrapped: comb, shaving kit, dental kit, feminine hygiene kit, sewing kit, vanity pack, and shoe sponge.
The rooms and common areas are all gorgeous with lots of marble.
This is truly a magnificent hotel

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2022

Dear Martha H,

Thank you for choosing Britannia Hotel and for your cordial review.

We are above and beyonce excited to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and especially appreciated the service from our team members, the technical fittings and the "goodie basket" in your room and the design of the hotel to mention a few. This truly validates our efforts in delivering 5-star experiences to our guests.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdivsor.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us.


Sincerely,
Andrès Reyes Gjerme
Hotel Manager
Britannia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2022

We just spent 2 nights at this Hotel. The location is very central and close to every where you wish to be in Trondheim. The rooms were spacious and fresh. Good A/C and of course great faucets etc. The beds and bedding are top drawer. You just melt into the bed after a day of touring. The breakfast WOW the breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel property. Worth the price.

Room tip: I think every room is good
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertkulhawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Dear robertkulhawy,

Thank you for choosing Britannia Hotel in Trondheim.

It's with sincere joy to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and most notably appreciated the location, the room, the bedding and our Hästens bed. As a member hotel of The Leading Hotels of The World, we aim to provide 5 star service each time to each guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us.


All the best,
Andrès Reyes Gjerme
Hotel Manager
Britannia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2022 via mobile

Just completed a road trip up the West of Norway and finished in Trondhiem. What an excellent way to finish - 2 nights in the Britannia.
Really good mix of high end finish and facilities but without being stuffy. Palm Garden is beautiful room for breakfast with extensive choices.
Well stocked vibrant bar.
Great spa included for guests.
Thoroughly recommend this fantastic hotel.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SWF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2022

Dear SWF_13,

Thank you so much for your cordial review of Britannia Hotel in Trondheim.

We are so glad to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us, and especially appreciated the service from our team members, Palmehaven, Britannia Bar and the spa. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Norway.


All the best,
Andrès Reyes Gjerme
Hotel Manager
Britannia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2022

We were sorry to leave. It's a beautiful building; the rooms have been redone, and are fairly large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is amazing, including omelettes made to order. Afternoon tea also fantastic, a Trondheim attraction in its own right. Concierge and other staff all helpful. Main regret was arriving during the summer holiday of the main (Michelin star) restaurant.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andrès Reyes Gjerme, Guest Services / Front Office at Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2022

Dear drlaz,

Thank you for your cordial review of Britannia Hotel in Trondheim.

We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay, and especially appreciated the property itself, the room, the breakfast, our Afternoon Tea and felt well-cared for by our team members. Not to mention that you enjoyed the city, it is indeed a special destination! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us and for you to try our Michelin starred restaurant, Speilsalen.


All the best,
Andrès Reyes Gjerme
Hotel Manager
Britannia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews