We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast”
Review of Sjoglott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sjoglott Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here several times both in the summer and now for the first time in winter as well. This hotel is definitely my go-to hotel for when I visit Kristiansand. They have a cozy outdoor back area with a fireplace and even a hammock in the summer which is perfect for relaxing. Their breakfast is delicious and the staff always go above and beyond to make sure my accommodations are perfect. I've stayed at other hotels in the area as well as I travel here for business quite often from California, but they all pale in comparison to the price and experience here. I also love the aesthetic they have going with all the striking paintings from a current Norwegian artist which adorn their walls, it's a refreshing change from the typical "hotel" art which hangs in most other hotels.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
Thank wanderlust1332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

We had just arrived at rush hour in Kristiansand and was hopeful after I saw all the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Upon arrival, we found the door locked and the person behind the intercom said we would have to call and make a reservation before they would open the door. Sounds completely fishy to me. Buyers beware! And, if the owner sees this review and can explain why access to reception was denied, that would be great. How can you expect to do business if you won't let a potential customer walk into your business?

Stayed: November 2015
2  Thank EJMcMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I`m a part time student at the University in Agder, living in the Oslo area. When I`m gooing for my studies I need a nice place to stay with affordable price. And I also want a nice breakfast. Both I got at Sjøgløtt Hotel. A small rom, but with all you need. Your own bathroom and a large smile for the Nespresso machine in the room. Som capsules on the house an possible to buy more at the breakfast. In the evening there is a possibility to make your own waffles. I`m going back in May.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Good place to have a short night after arriving in Kristansand via ferry. Easy to find with affordable price. Didnt have a time to meet the staff as I checked in after midnight with noone on the ground and left early before the breakfast. Still, had a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JorgenJacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

We spent two nights at there. If cosy was a hotel, it would be Sjöglott. It was warm, lovely. Breakfast was delicious, not just cereals and milk like some other BBs. There were plenty of things to eat. Hot tea and coffee always available in the kitchen, waffles can be found in afternoons. The backyard was also lovely, the weather was not suitable to hang out there but warm seasons it would be wonderful. Also because of the weather we couldn't spent much time at the outside, the city center but it was nice to have some tea and eat waffles in the hotel. The rooms were a little bit small but they don't have to be bigger. It was neat and clean, and the rooms get cleaned everyday, sheets and towels changed everyday (not many hotel does that).

If you gonna visit Kristiansand, the hotel you stay should definitely be this one.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sakavepalamut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
641 reviews
0.7 km away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
359 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Clarion Hotel Ernst
#4 of 19 in Kristiansand
719 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#9 of 19 in Kristiansand
262 reviews
9.4 km away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sjoglott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sjoglott Hotel

Address: Oestre Strandgate 25, Kristiansand 4610, Norway
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range: €70 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sjoglott Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small hotel in the centre of KristiansandSjøgløtt Hotell is a small and peaceful hotel in Kristiansand with good standards, and an excellent location by the sea. Our rooms are small, but clean and welcoming. We also have two bigger rooms for families. Each room has its own Nespresso machine, so you can have warm coffee or tea whenever you like. Sjøgløtt Hotel is a bed & breakfast hotel, with check in until 7 pm. You are only a few minutes walk away from the city beach, the fish market with its many restaurants, and the main street, Markens gate. The promenade and Christiansholm Fortress is right outside the door. Wifi included!In 2012 we upgraded and expanded our backyard with a new grill for our guests to use and comfortable outdoor furniture. Relax and start your day with breakfast in the backyard on hot summer days!Our breakfast room is also open in the evenings, and you are welcome to make your own waffles – free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sjoglott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing