We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
340
281
104
36
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
281
104
36
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel fantastic breakfast omelet free weights norwegian hotels room facing breakfast buffet central location nice room reception area single room train station family room nice staff parking norway daylight
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Very good location, just a block from the Marken pedestrian area with numerous shops and restaurants, short walk to Bystranda beach and ferry to Denmark.
Main complaint we have was our room had sloping ceiling, and we could not stand up in about 1/3 of our small room. The ceiling was so low in one area, that even top of chair hit ceiling. For Americans: remember many Norwegian hotels do not furnish wash cloths and bath mats

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The hotel is very well located in the city centre, close to the bus and train station without this being in a dubious location. In spite of quite a lot of traffic outside, it was nice and quiet inside. The rooms toward the streets had windows that could be opened. The rooms and the reception area come across as a bit dark with all the brown colour scheme which is in fashion in many hotels these days. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room I stayed in, so if you prefer to have that in your room, make sure to book one of the right category of rooms! The staff was very diverse regarding service. When I checked in, there was not any information given, nor anything to make me feel welcome. The staff in the breakfast room did not even look at the guests, let alone aknowledge anyone. The breakfast itself was really nice. Fresh omelets being made, lots of nice fresh fruit, lots of choices. The breakfast room had good capacity, but a bit dark in corners. The bed was a bit soft for my liking, and the room had carpeted floors, not my favourite thing in a hotel room. The room was also a little bit worn around the edges. The minibar was quite good, the tv didn't have many channels. The standard room is not particularly big, but absolutely adequateThe desk in the room was a bit low, so it was not very handy as a working desk for any length of time. The air condition wasn't very effective either, but with the possibilities of opening the windows this was a minor problem. But I wouldn't want to have a room facing inwards towards the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street if you need fresh air in your room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiseBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Loved this hotel! Located in city center, close to shopping, restaurants and the city beach. Nice room and bathroom, tea and coffee facilities. We had a spacious excecutive room. Nice breakfast. Hope to be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

It is quite expensive this hotel. But it is very nice and the staff is positive and pleasant. The rooms are a bit small, but the standard is quite high. We have the deluxe room. It had ok size bed, TV, mini bar and the bathroom was quite nice. Big shower though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Modern hotel in the middle of town. Excellent service at check-in and a breakfast buffet to die for. We booked fairly late as the visit was quite ad hoc, and still got a room for a descent price. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Kristiansand with work, and this is by far the best compared to the others I've stayed at. We arrived by car, and getting a place to park the car for the night was no problem at all. The only thing that I did not appreciate was the incredible slow elevator.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sveinosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews