We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Ernst
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

One of the best hotels i Kristiansand. Very helfull og service minded reception.
Single room are small but very nice designed.
Good and service minded bar but could have a couple of more food choices on the meny.
The in door parking are very narrow so be aware, easy get stuck if you have a big car.
Excellent breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank I-Hardstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Very good location, just a block from the Marken pedestrian area with numerous shops and restaurants, short walk to Bystranda beach and ferry to Denmark.
Main complaint we have was our room had sloping ceiling, and we could not stand up in about 1/3 of our small room. The ceiling was so low in one area, that even top of chair hit ceiling. For Americans: remember many Norwegian hotels do not furnish wash cloths and bath mats

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The hotel is very well located in the city centre, close to the bus and train station without this being in a dubious location. In spite of quite a lot of traffic outside, it was nice and quiet inside. The rooms toward the streets had windows that could be opened. The rooms and the reception area come across as a bit dark with all the brown colour scheme which is in fashion in many hotels these days. There was no tea and coffee making facilities in the room I stayed in, so if you prefer to have that in your room, make sure to book one of the right category of rooms! The staff was very diverse regarding service. When I checked in, there was not any information given, nor anything to make me feel welcome. The staff in the breakfast room did not even look at the guests, let alone aknowledge anyone. The breakfast itself was really nice. Fresh omelets being made, lots of nice fresh fruit, lots of choices. The breakfast room had good capacity, but a bit dark in corners. The bed was a bit soft for my liking, and the room had carpeted floors, not my favourite thing in a hotel room. The room was also a little bit worn around the edges. The minibar was quite good, the tv didn't have many channels. The standard room is not particularly big, but absolutely adequateThe desk in the room was a bit low, so it was not very handy as a working desk for any length of time. The air condition wasn't very effective either, but with the possibilities of opening the windows this was a minor problem. But I wouldn't want to have a room facing inwards towards the reception area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street if you need fresh air in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiseBB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Loved this hotel! Located in city center, close to shopping, restaurants and the city beach. Nice room and bathroom, tea and coffee facilities. We had a spacious excecutive room. Nice breakfast. Hope to be back!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nordkvinnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

It is quite expensive this hotel. But it is very nice and the staff is positive and pleasant. The rooms are a bit small, but the standard is quite high. We have the deluxe room. It had ok size bed, TV, mini bar and the bathroom was quite nice. Big shower though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Anders G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kristiansand hotels
0.8 km away
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
Scandic Kristiansand Bystranda
#2 of 19 in Kristiansand
726 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
Comfort Hotel Kristiansand
#3 of 19 in Kristiansand
641 reviews
9.8 km away
Scandic Sorlandet
Scandic Sorlandet
#8 of 19 in Kristiansand
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge
#9 of 19 in Kristiansand
262 reviews
0.4 km away
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
Yess! Hotel Kristiansand
#5 of 19 in Kristiansand
359 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Caledonien Hotel, Kristiansand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Ernst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Ernst

Address: Radhusgt. 2, Kristiansand 4664, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kristiansand
Price Range: €112 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Ernst 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designhotel in the middle of Kristiansand. Primeraly used for business with great offers during the weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Ernst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Kristiansand
Clarion Kristiansand
Kristiansand Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing