We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
2
6
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
6
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived late and tired after some trouble finding the hotel. I was taken aback by the hostel style appearance. I was told that there was no smoking in the hotel, which was fine with me, I don't smoke. The smoking area is outside the front door.
I went to my room and the window looked out on to the smoking area, there were people sitting smoking looking right into my room. The window did not close tight so the smoke was drifting into the room. I pulled the curtains but they only just covered the window, I mean just, not a mm to spare. I was not happy!
At 1:30 I was woken up by a lad talking on his phone sitting in the smoking area. At first I thought he was in the room. I chased him away. Even less happy!
I mentioned this the following evening and the lovely lady on reception moved me to a quite room. She was so nice and apologetic. The next room was fine, clean but very basic and not cheap by European standards but that is Norway I think.
I would stay here again but I know what to expect now.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Nordealltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stian Edler P, Daglig leder at Hotell fritidsparken, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Hello.
Thank you for your review and feedback. Our hotel is situated outside Skien and should be easy to find if you follow the signs from Skien center.
I am sorry that you were placed next to our smoking area. I am happy that you got a new room the next day and that you would like to stay with us again. Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

This is a nice and clean place, a bit outside of the city centre of Skien. It is pretty basic, but with everything you need. The staff was excellent, very friendly and service minded. I booked a single room, but wanted a proper desk to be able to work. I got a bigger room, with a proper desk for no extra cost. Breakfast was nice, a good selection of spread, there were different bread and rolls, hot breakfast: bacon & eggs, baked beans, sausages. The hotel is just nex to a big water park, and other activities such as bowling/skating/curling etc so I can imagine it would be good for families. I didn't try any of this. The hotel offered free WIFI which was very good. All in all a nice and basic place with everything you need for a few nights.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merethe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritidsparken, Markedskoordinator at Hotell fritidsparken, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hi,
Thank you for your feedback and we hope we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015 via mobile

The room was basic, but clean and functional. Slept well on these beds, and the shower was nice and warm.

The disappointment came with the breakfast. Very basic, unfresh sliced bread. No warm food (egg etc), the overall selection was minimal. The bananas and grapes were laying under heating lamps, which had a bad effect.

The personell however was friendly and service minded.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MauriceAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hkrosa, Leder  at Hotell fritidsparken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Dear Maurice,

Thank you for your recommendation.
We are happy to hear that you slept well and had a nice warm shower.
We have upgraded breakfast and supper since you where here.
Extra nice to hear that you met a friendly and service minden staff.
Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hkrosa, Leder  at Hotell fritidsparken, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hkrosa, Leder  at Hotell fritidsparken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews