We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a complete disappoitment on all levels”

Hotell Refsnes Gods AS
Ranked #5 of 79 Restaurants in Moss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The most elegant restaurant in the area. Restaurant Munch is located in the main building built in 1767, and several of the old master’s works adorn the walls in the restaurant. The restaurant has a French-inspired cuisine based on the best Norwegian and international raw materials. A fully stocked wine cellar can also be rented for smaller parties. The building faces west with a magnificent view of the fjord. Outdoor service during the summer. Big pavillion in the garden, perfect for barbecues and summer parties.
Reviewed 24 August 2017

hard to find. then a pile of noisy construction in front,. Check in : quite slow. No help up two flights of stairs with luggage ( we were on a six week trip which included a wedding ) biggest disappointment was the food. Billed as a gourmet place; the options were extremely limited, and while had communicated frequently about my wife's vegatarianism , a plate of steamed vegetables doesn't =gourmet ... especially at the prices charged.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank laoban173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Very good but not cheep very good atmosphere good food and vine list not to bad serveis. friendly staff

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank georgeNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunn1960, Daglig leder at Hotell Refsnes Gods AS, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear George. Thank you for giving us such a nice review regarding the atmosphere, food, wine and staff. Welcome back to us. Best regards Gunn Salbuvik

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

The restaurant at Refsnes Gods is a up class establishment known for its very good wine cellar and for respectable food. We visited on a Saturday evening and the place was not crowded, but about halve full. The menu was on the small side with only two main course dishes, lamb or trout. We settled for 3 courses and found everything we were served to be tasteful and well prepared, and especially the lamb was rich on flavors and a very pleasant experience. For wine we chose a Chateau Montrose 2001. Sadly the wine was served in small glasses, we would have preferred to have it served in big glasses as we think a wine of this caliber deserves that. The staff was very nice, but sadly they lack a bit of the kind of knowledge which would have made our visit perfect. For instance the small glasses for the wine is not up to the standard of their reputation of being especially good on wine, and they never came around to remember always to serve the lady at the table first. Apart from these small mistakes our evening was a pleasant experience and we hope someone in management will provide the last touch in staff knowledge, the place is full of atmosphere and with fine art hanging on the walls and exquisite wines filling their cellars we think the restaurant deserves that final touch of finesse.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank per e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Enjoyed ar Rich buffet of good Food. Good variety, great presented. Friendly an helpfull staff,
highly recommended

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Egil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Upon arrival seven thirty, reception was friendly, but somewhat unfocused. Then the waitress disappeared for ten minutes and she and her colleague was generally hard to get hold of throughout the evening. We were offered nothing in the way of water or aperitif but left to ourselves. Eventually, the waitress reappeared with the menu that basically contained the seven course meal of the day (that could be scaled down to two dishes). The menu came with a wine pairing that wasn't to impressive, hence we asked for the wine list. Another wait. When it eventually materialized the main impression was pricey, indeed very pricey. Not due to the rather comprehensive list of claret (they are proud of their wine cellar), but rather due to what they charge for the less expensive ones. We ended up ordering four courses to start with, telling the waitress that we might want to order cheeses and desserts, if we did not feel to full towards the end of the meal. When the fourth and final dish arrived a little past ten thirty - that is three hours later - we were not in the mood for additional fare. We ordered a bottle of riesling from Trimbach, symptomatically this had not yet manifested itself when the first course arrived. When it finally did arrive, it must have come straight out of the kitchen as the temperature was easily the same if not above that of the dining room. The first dish was passed of as asparagus served with verjus but the few pieces of green asparagus (that if added together probably would have made up one small specimen) disappeared in a rather messy presentation where volumewise the bulk of the dish was made up of a mousse of chèvre, salad, red beets and various other ingredients. While the dish was okay, it was not quite what the menu had announced. And this set the tone for the rest of the meal. Let me just add that the sole was replace by halibut (overcooked). The main course, the veal, was OK, though. Strangely enough, these people, that pride themselves on their wine cellar, and whose wine list contain a number of wines that sell for five digits, were not able to provide us with proper burgundy glasses even though we tried to insist. In the end, it took us a while to get the check, but not as long as it did the couple across the room that eventually gave up, got up and left. In conclusion, unless one happens to be staying at the hotel, there is little reason to visit the restaurant (and be prepared for a wait).

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank KOE211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hotell Refsnes Gods AS also viewed

Moss, Moss Municipality
Moss, Moss Municipality
 
Moss, Moss Municipality
Moss, Moss Municipality
 
Moss, Moss Municipality
Moss, Moss Municipality
 

Been to Hotell Refsnes Gods AS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing