We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
315
284
99
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
284
99
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location pedestrian zone central station the main street gluten free options rooms are small the heart of the city stayed here for one night late check visiting oslo hotel is located great shower long weekend hotel is perfect would stay here again breakfast was delicious free tea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Everything about the hotel itself was great, staff, rooms, location near train, meals, etc. however, do not get a room facing the courtyard, because what we were told is an adjacent nightclub played loud music until 3:00am our first two nights. A few days later, our third night was quiet as the night manager gave us rooms on the other side of the hotel. We wouldn't stay there again, unless assured the music problem was addressed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank dennisj718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This hotel is ideally situated on Karl Johans Gate, right in the centre of Oslo. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly when we needed extra pillows in our room and with restaurant recommendations. On arrival, we were upgraded to a larger room which overlooked a small, quiet courtyard. The room was large with an armchair and a comfortably-sized bathroom with a very good shower. The beds were very comfortable because they have a soft mattress topper on each one.

Breakfast was excellent. A huge amount of choice and good quality produce. Everything from different breads and pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, hot food, meats, cheeses and traditional Norwegian fare was on offer. A very wide variety indeed.

Internet speed was excellent throughout the hotel. The downstairs bar, which specialises in gin, was a great place to relax at the end of the day, or to come back to after eating out. The bartender there was very helpful and friendly.

Our room did not have a safe to store valuables, or a bath mat for the shower, but these are only tiny negatives for what was otherwise an excellent stay at a fantastic mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HollyT247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel went through extensive renovations recently and it seems brand new. Its location is unbeatable (main pedestrian street in the city, two blocks away from the train station).
Rooms are surprisingly large for a European hotel in this price range. It includes the washroom, big and well appointed.
Breakfast is free and it is good although it lacks variety.
Unfortunately, I can't give such a great hotel a better review for three specific issues:
First, there was a mixup with my reservation (partly an hotel issue) and the person at the reception desk was extremely unhelpful close to be rude. It came to the point she took away the key from my hands when I said I was going to escalate my complaint. Yet, the next day a fine gentleman explained to me in 30 seconds what the issue was and how it could get resolved. There is an old saying in customer service: "There is only one chance to make a first impression". In this case, it was not good at all.
Second, at breakfast time is difficult to find an open seat, not because it is full but because the tables are left with dirty dishes for long periods of time.
Lastly, the beds have strange thin mattresses that tend to slip throughout the night. Two of my three nights I awoke to a mattress half hanging outside the bed... weird.
All in all, I would come back and recommend if these issues are resolved.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank RanyDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

If you are looking for a great hotel in the centre here you go. It was the best choice to stay at Comfort Karl Johan Hotel. We had amazing time and the staff was really helpful. Breakfast at hotel was delicious and also if you are a vegetarian or you want to eat gluten free products, everything was there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank teresan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Everything is perfect here.. price/quality. Staff is very friendly, breakfast to much to choose from... area of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing and close to the trainstation for the airport. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Z6260AAangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews