We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality at good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Karl Johan
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Booked this hotel as I was there once for a lunch and gave a good impression. Quality of room, breakfast and staff was good. Also we had room for a meetinig at a very quiet place.
Near the railway station was convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Matthijs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Everything about the hotel itself was great, staff, rooms, location near train, meals, etc. however, do not get a room facing the courtyard, because what we were told is an adjacent nightclub played loud music until 3:00am our first two nights. A few days later, our third night was quiet as the night manager gave us rooms on the other side of the hotel. We wouldn't stay there again, unless assured the music problem was addressed.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank dennisj718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This hotel is ideally situated on Karl Johans Gate, right in the centre of Oslo. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly when we needed extra pillows in our room and with restaurant recommendations. On arrival, we were upgraded to a larger room which overlooked a small, quiet courtyard. The room was large with an armchair and a comfortably-sized bathroom with a very good shower. The beds were very comfortable because they have a soft mattress topper on each one.

Breakfast was excellent. A huge amount of choice and good quality produce. Everything from different breads and pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cereal, hot food, meats, cheeses and traditional Norwegian fare was on offer. A very wide variety indeed.

Internet speed was excellent throughout the hotel. The downstairs bar, which specialises in gin, was a great place to relax at the end of the day, or to come back to after eating out. The bartender there was very helpful and friendly.

Our room did not have a safe to store valuables, or a bath mat for the shower, but these are only tiny negatives for what was otherwise an excellent stay at a fantastic mid-range hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel went through extensive renovations recently and it seems brand new. Its location is unbeatable (main pedestrian street in the city, two blocks away from the train station).
Rooms are surprisingly large for a European hotel in this price range. It includes the washroom, big and well appointed.
Breakfast is free and it is good although it lacks variety.
Unfortunately, I can't give such a great hotel a better review for three specific issues:
First, there was a mixup with my reservation (partly an hotel issue) and the person at the reception desk was extremely unhelpful close to be rude. It came to the point she took away the key from my hands when I said I was going to escalate my complaint. Yet, the next day a fine gentleman explained to me in 30 seconds what the issue was and how it could get resolved. There is an old saying in customer service: "There is only one chance to make a first impression". In this case, it was not good at all.
Second, at breakfast time is difficult to find an open seat, not because it is full but because the tables are left with dirty dishes for long periods of time.
Lastly, the beds have strange thin mattresses that tend to slip throughout the night. Two of my three nights I awoke to a mattress half hanging outside the bed... weird.
All in all, I would come back and recommend if these issues are resolved.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank RanyDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

If you are looking for a great hotel in the centre here you go. It was the best choice to stay at Comfort Karl Johan Hotel. We had amazing time and the staff was really helpful. Breakfast at hotel was delicious and also if you are a vegetarian or you want to eat gluten free products, everything was there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank teresan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 103 in Oslo
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,714 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Karl Johan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Karl Johan

Address: Karl Johans gate 12, Oslo 0154, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: €107 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Karl Johan 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Karl Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing