We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$182
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thon Hotel Terminus(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
US$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$152
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
156
214
103
49
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
214
103
49
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationcentral stationnice breakfastflat screen tvlate flightroyal palacecomfortable bedwithin walking distancenational galleryrooms are smallperfect staythe main streetmain attractionsbreakfast includedwould definitely stay here againaker bryggecity centre
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Modern, clean hotel. Fantastic breakfast. Friendly service. Room was a bit small but I actually enjoyed the cosiness. Great location, everything within walking distance. Will definitly come again!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank skan711055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Grensen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your great review:) it makes us very happy

see you soon than

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Stayed for 3 nights. Fast check-in and friendly staff.
Room was small but had everything i needed
The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet
The cleaning was ok
Small bathroom
Good location
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Grensen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Jorn

thank you so much for your review, i m really happy that you could enjoy your stay despite of the room size

i wish a great day

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The Scandic Grensen was a real let down. Having stayed in a number of Scandic Hotels I felt confident in my choice but was left feeling I had booked the wrong hotel. First of all there is no lobby, just an entrance and small reception desk. So the hotel has zero atmosphere, there is no bar, no where to sit waiting to check in. The receptionist though very nice was the only staff member, and seemed to be dealing at large with lengthily concierge queries - frustrating when waiting to check in. The room was OK, I managed to get a larger corner one. The carpet was stained in several places, and there was definite lived in feel to the room. Finally there is piped music playing throughout the hotel at all hours, very annoying when you can hear it in the room. I recommend staying at the Karl Johan next door. Plus this hotel was very expensive, one night was £150 - really not worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Grensen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Guest

I m really sorry thet your experience was not like you expected, ufortunately our hotel is not very big, and we reccoment our neighbour hotel karl joha in case our guest want to enjoy a glass wine or something like that.

i will check the volume of the music, since we didn t get any complain about it earlier.

i m happy the the staff was friendly with you, but it looks like it was not enough since you gave us the worst score:(

i hope maybe you will come back or maybe choose Karl Johan next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We had a small but modern room, big tv, many sockets, good bathroom with lots of space, a very soft bed mattress but it was really clean. We enjoyed the stay.
Hotel has very friendly staff,
The best was the very good breakfast with fish, sausage, beans, eggs, joghurt, fruits, a cereal bar and good coffee.
And the hotel has a very good location next to the city center.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Jungo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Grensen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Jungo

thank you so much for your nice review and 5 stars:)

welcome back

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Excellent hotel. Really good and nice breakfast. The rooms are not big, but cosy.
The only problem with it was cleaning, or put it the other way - cleaning stuff. Its careless, and not up to the standards of 4 star European hotel. I believe the reason for this is the stuff's attitude to their work. Some of these cleaners are migrants, and seem to have their own idea on what is clean enough for a 4 star european hotel. On the first day at the hotel we found TV remote control сured under the bed sheet. Did we suppose to sleep on it like a princess on the pea? There was dust of the rail and in the bathroom. She didn change the dirty bed sheet either, Next day the cleaning lady didnt put a new teabags, instead of the once we used, and everything stayed the same. On the next day another cleaning lady fixed it all. So it depends on the stuff, really.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Grensen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your feedback, i m sorry about the variable celaning standard during your stay, but i don t think i something about the igrants, like you say, we are all migrants here. But maybe is more like the focus during the work

i wish you a great day

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews