We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Staff was friendly and helpful , our room was quiet , clean, nicely furnished and had with very comfortable beds.

Location was good. Not too far away from transportation or anything really.

We were also satisfied with the food, it was mostly delicious and you had wide range to choose from.
Food in Olso, like everything else is very expensive so we were happy that we could have our meals at the hotel.

Downstairs the hotel had nice areas where to spend cold, dark nights if you preferred to stay in.

Oslo was beautiful and had nice things to do and visit.

Would love to go back, and i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMvdE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    436
    146
    48
    26
See reviews for
197
429
115
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhoose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I can't fault this hotel.

Good value. Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. Location was excellent - easy walking distance from the Oslo Central Station and the city centre.

The room was clean, modern, comforatble and a nice size with a wetroom style bathroom.

A supper buffet was included in the price of the room which waas excellent - simple traditional hot and cold food and plenty of it. Breakfast again was excellent. But what we really liked was the afternoon pancakes - From 3pm to 6pm you can cook your own pancakes - all included!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Steve from UK,

Thank you so much for your superb review! We are so happy you enjoyed everything from the location, the room and our pancakes!

A warm welcome back
Best regards
Hilde Hammervold Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Excellent vibe and service. My room was a little cramped, but the bed was big, UK king size.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grinch_at_xmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear guest from Hampshire,

Thank you so much for your nice review! I understand you have tried one of our smaller rooms. Facing the back and very quiet, not to much space as we have prioritized the good quality bed.

A warm welcome back
Best regards
Hilde Hammervold Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Been there one night traveling for business. Friendly welcome and helpful staff. The room was small and had an unusual shape so it seemed even smaller than its actual size. All interiors have a somewhat old feeling and should be refreshed; my bathroom had a distinct 70s style and sported a curious power outlet on the ceiling; also, bedside tables and desk had a serious lacquer peeling issue that gave them a shabby look.
Besides that, my stay has been comfortable and the room was very quiet. Free WiFi is available with daily password available on request at the reception desk.
Morning breakfast is nothing special though: hot beverages are dispensed by an automatic machine (not so good) and bacon was surprisingly not available at 8AM. Positive remarks to the management though as they got in touch with me via email to comment on my written feedback an assured this was taken care of.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DriftSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear guest from Amsterdam,
Thank you so much for your nice review and feedback! Our rooms are almost all different, and all our De Lux rooms and suites are individually decorated with furniture from antique shops etc from the previous owners travelling.

We hope to see you again in Oslo soon!
Best regards
Hilde Hammervold Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Excellent welcome. We stayed in a room with everything we needed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knut F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Knut from Tromsø,

Thank you for your nice review! awarm welcome back!
Best regards
Hilde Hammervold General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
Address: Skippergata 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#7 Business Hotel in Oslo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#9 Family Hotel in Oslo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing