We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$192
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thon Hotel Terminus(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
US$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$268
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Byporten(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$153
US$144
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (1,817)
Filter reviews
1,817 results
Traveller rating
577
918
250
52
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
918
250
52
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvending machinecity boxno frillstrain stationself serviceautomatic checkcheckin and checkoutbudget hotelthe ground floorcommon areasextra towelsluggage storageopera houserooms are basicchecking inwatch tvfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
759 - 764 of 1,817 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2015

If you plan to travel by train to and from Oslo, this hotel is a good choice. Ten minutes walking to Railway Station. The price of the room was not high (I mean, in Norway everything is REALLY expensive) compared to other hotels, so it's a good option.
Rooms have no TV. if it's an issue for you, take this into account.
Just one tip: they don't provide complimentary lotion, so you'd better bring your own.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Hi Viajante_del_Planeta!

Thank you so much for a great review!

Really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us! Actually you must have done some exploring on your way from the central station, as it should not take more than 5 minutes! :)
Even more glad to hear that you found us to offer a room at a fair rate. We totally agree that Norway and Oslo in particular is a really expensive place, and we really stribe to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider a fair rate!

You are right in pointing out that we do not offer lotion, as in our other service products we only offer the basics - so if you need more than handsoap and shampoo, then we also recommend that you bring your own (or buy it in our vending machines in the lobby).

Thanks for your recommendation, and hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2015

we visited oslo in january and really enjoyed our stay in citybox, very new and modern hostel, good wifi, perfect location, the room was warm and clean, towels and linen included, would deffinitely recommend and stay again if comming back to oslo

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mischelinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I stayed here for a night in a quadruple room. The room had a double bed and bunk beds. The room was nice and bright, and it was decorated nicely (very modern). The room was very clean, as was the bathroom.
The ground floor has lots of couches and tables and chairs. There is also a fridge and microwave. It felt a bit like a common area of a hostel (in a good way!).
The location of the hotel is great, only a two minute walk from the train station and only metres away from plenty of shops and restaurants.
The prices are about as cheap as you can get in Oslo, and overall you get good value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Hi KeenanL!

Thank you so much for a great review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Also really cool that you liked our lobby/lounge-area! We totally agree that Oslo is an expensive city, and that is why we take even more pride in you calling us good value for money! We really do try to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider a fair rate! :)

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

i had pleasure to stay there with my boyfriend last year in December during our 3 days trip to Oslo and it was a great experience. Great quality and location for a good price (comparing to prices in other accomodations in Oslo if course, it is quiet expensive generally in Oslo). Room was tiny but clean and looks like never been used before. It's only a pity that you can't have a breakfast or anything included. Simple place to stay at while your short city escape. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Lovely atmosphere. nice lounge to chill downstairs.everything looks very fresh and contemporary I had really good memories about this place and would recommend it to my friends and with pleasure I would go back there myself. It's not a place for those who are looking for fancy stuff tho. :)

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MariMarysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

Stayed with husband and two children, 5 and 9, for 2 nights. No TV or other electronics in room but this was expected. Downstairs there is available microwave, hot water kettle and frig. There is also a hot drinks dispenser and vending machine with all sorts of drinks, snacks, candy and even shampoo. There was no nearby grocery store other than at the train station mall. There is serious street construction on Prinsengate at this time, but construction stops at 4pm and means that there is no traffic on street below at this time.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Hi!

Unfortunately there had been created a duplicat profile of our hotel at Tripadvisor. We managed to connect the two profiles in June 2016. But when we connected these two profiles we received over 150 reviews that had not yet received a response.

We take all feedback from you Tripadvisor-reviewers very seriously, and we therefore normally always respond within 2 days. However, as many of the extra 150 reviews deal with matters that we have already reacted to (many are even from before our completed expansion in December 2015) were are not able to write an individual response for each review. But rest assured that all the 150 reviews were still read, and we greatly appreciate all the feedback!

Thanks for making us better, and hope you will visit us again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews