We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,035)
Filter reviews
2,035 results
Traveller rating
1,501
366
109
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,501
366
109
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsastrup fearnley museumrooftop barjeff koonsmodern artturn down servicesmall balconyaker bryggedeluxe roomgreat designluxury hoteloslo fjordnespresso machinecool hotelamazing hotelwater frontbreakfast was deliciousrestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 2,035 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This place will never disappoint. Perfect service from the second you walk in, we loved our with balcony with views of the ocean. We stayed over night during Easter to relax and enjoy a mini break. While we were at the spa they prepared our room for us by getting the bed ready and left tea and cookies. Dinner at Fru K was perfect, they had prepared gluten free choices for me due to celiac disease. Our waiter was incredible charming and made sure our evening was perfect. The rooms are spotless as the service. Overall, the Thief makes wild dreams come true.. we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Santana-Lundvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thif . Great to read you had such an enjoyable Easter break . Glad that you enjoyed dinner as Chef takes great pride in his locally sourced, seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . As you mentioned we have some fine views across the beautiful Oslo Fjord and harbour . To read the term “ perfect service “ is a true pleasure and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues.

Wishing you a long , hot Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is a beautiful property in an upmarket area next the harbour. Hotel rooms modern clean and we'll maintained. Breakfast good quality however restaurant could be lighter in decor rather than the dark colour (which makes it smaller than it is). Hotel staff professional and responsive to requests. High number of business people stay at the hotel and tend to talk loud and interfere in holiday makers having a peaceful breakfast (who would want to get away from business talk when on holidays) . Overall very pleasing stay. Thank you

Room Tip: Choose a room on high floor with view of harbour
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydneytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay, We do have a very strong business segment from Monday to Friday but at present it’s a full on holiday season with guests from the four corners of the planet . Your comments concerning the staff were a pleased to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves

Wishing you a long , hot Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Theif for 1 night after a very long journey from Australia. The airline lost our luggage and the Theif staff were very helpful with phone calls to the airline and directions to appropriate shops for clothes for us and our young boys.
We ate a wonderful meal at the restaurant. They made our boys feel very welcome and the kids menu was fantastic.
The rooms were clean, quiet and very comfortable.
A take away breakfast was provided for us the next morning since our train was due to leave very early.
The Theif staff were exceptional and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Seldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. Glad that the staff were able to assist you with your lost luggage as that is a tiresome way to start your stay . Your comments regarding our service were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves.

Wishing you a long , hot Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Thief hotel is very exceptional in its proximity to the sea and its great location near everything one is looking for.
The service was excellent, the breakfast was short of delicious and the bed was comfy.
It may look expensive, but the location, the service and the luxury the Thief demonstrates its well worth the price.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank GrandTour725949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. Glad that you enjoyed breakfast as Chef takes great pride in his locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . Your comments regarding service were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my colleagues

Wishing you a long , hot Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The Thief is a wonderful hotel. The staff to a person is very attentive, professional and so interested in making your stay a great one. Desk staff, restaurant servers, housekeeping-all were terrific. The location is perfect--you can see the water and all the activities, the ferry and many great restaurants. The buffet breakfast has so many choices and the food is delicious and plentiful The reason that I gave The Thief 4 stars instead of 5 is the room....... The rooms are just don't go with the rest of the fabulousness of the Thief. Ours was really noisy all the time, night and day. Very hard to sleep. The desk staff offered to move us but that room was noisy, too--you could hear everything on the street and also in the other rooms. There is no closet for clothing--just a rod with 5 hangers. The bathroom has almost no counterspace but 2 shelves with lidded jar on one and 2 glasses. I kept thinking whoever designed the rooms talked to their kid brother about the design and should have consulted their mother, instead. I must say that the AC was perfect, which was a surprise since we were having very hot-95 degree weather--and our room was very comfortable. I might give it another try because of the staff and location but they need to improve those rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic G, Manager at THE THIEF, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we’re located in a new , vibrant district called Tjuvholmen , adjacent to the Astrup Fearnley museum and some fine eateries . Your comments regarding the staff and service were a pleasure to read and I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves . I was surprised to read your comments regarding noise as the area is well known for its quiet , calm profile especially in the evening.

Wishing you a long, hot Summer and looking forward to your return

Dominic
GRM
The Thief

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews