We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Okay stay, poor internet connection” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Oslo
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Okay stay, poor internet connection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Reasonable room and okay bathroom facilities. Poor internet connection in Room 720 and I wasn't keen on the breakfast options. Good location, my room was pretty quiet except when people walked through the hallway talking loudly! Heater was broken on arrival but I was given a spare one immediately, the nice receptionist also offered me a hot chocolate on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TweetyPiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    558
    378
    75
    37
See reviews for
211
392
170
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We originally booked to stay the night at Anker Hostel, which is about 50m away from Anker Hotel. We were lucky to get upgraded to Anker Hotel upon arrival. Oslo is an expensive city, Anker's properties are some of the cheapest in the city.

The room was ok and was reasonable clean. The room and bathroom are considered big when compared with other budget hotels.

The hotel is about 20 mins walk from the bus terminal. We went to look for something to eat in the night, but came across a few doggy streets at the back of the hotel... though nothing happened to us, I would recommend to stay on the main roads after dark.

There is no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. When we saw that there is a hot drink machine in the hotel lobby, we were delighted- especially that it was -1 degree outside! However we couldn't believe that they charge 1 euro per drink (small drink) and they even charge 1 euro for hot water! Moreover, the drinks area was messy with drinks spilled on the table and the floor!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

RECEPTION: Remember to ask for your own kettle with paper cups, tea bags etc if you intend to boil water. Water in Norway is potable from the tap.

HOTEL FACILITIES: Bonus was buffet breakfast included in room rate, which really helps as eating in Oslo is really expensive about USD/EURO 20-30 per head.

ROOM: Decent, clean and functional. Good shower pressure. Beds comfy. TV Channels were the best of our trip, with English channels so we watched James Bond. Limited wardrobe space and hangers, open concept wardrobe


LOCATION: Quite a far walk from the central train station. About 15-20 min and you pass some dark streets on the way. Bus is about 40 NOK. Beside it is Anker Hostel which seems packed but decent enough.

OVERALL: Would say it's a comfy functional stopover hotel. Didn't have time explore Oslo but seems pretty much typical city feel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked this hotel in a wholesaler website. It was one of the cheapest in Oslo.
The day receptionist were cold and not friendly, few instructions given. The entrance was nice and clean.
The room is "ok". New furniture but the mattress was very soft. I guess we got the old rooms... because there seems to be newer rooms in the other part of the corridor. The room was very clean.

There were two elevators that we were never aware of. Of course, we were given instructions to use the old one that was far away of our room.

The cleaning staff left garbage bags in the corridor all day long, even in front of our door. No body care if we had to jump them to walk to our room. The corridor needs painting and also the rooms (seems to be worn out)

The breakfast was good, plenty vegetables, fruits and there was also hot sausages & eggs.
The hotel is not far away from the center. I actually walk from the train station without getting lost.

Overall, the service was just "ok", the breakfast good, the room so so. Would I stay there again? only if I cannot find accommodation in another hotel. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Deutschland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights beginning of Dec 11 with two friends. The price was around 50 EUR pp and night incl. breakfast. The hotel is quiet big with 264 rooms of which 100 were only renewed in 2010. The hotel is located only 10 min by foot from the central station and there's a bus and metro station just 2 min away from the entrance. Additionally one of the party areas of Oslo "Grünerløkka" is only up to 10 min by foot behind the hotel!
They provide free wi-fi and 2 free computers in the lobby. Behind the reception is a small bar which sometimes sets up nice parties. Next to the bar and the lobby you will find a spacious breakfast room with a really great buffet offering everything you need for a good start into the day. Only the warm things like sausages and scrambled eggs were not that good but the offer of fresh fruits, different fish and a great variety of bread more than compesated this.
The wardrobe in our 3 bed-room was a little small for the 3 of us, but the beds were comfortable, the room itself was big enough as well as the bathroom. The latter one would require some more hangers for towels etc.
The staff at the reception was always very friendly and helpful. They also sell snacks, postcards, stamps and the Oslo pass. The staff in the breakfast room was not as friendly as the one from the reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affrofant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 90 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#39 of 90 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
P-Hotels Oslo
#78 of 90 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#53 of 90 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Property: Anker Hotel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 90 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing