We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anker Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$490
US$467
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$254
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$190
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$188
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$180
US$117
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,500)
Filter reviews
1,500 results
Traveller rating
236
672
457
88
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
672
457
88
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecentral stationbudget hotelexpensive citytriple roomfree wifitram stopminute walkclose to the hotelmunch museumbuffet breakfastwalking distancestayed here for nightsclean hoteldecent hotelby footincluded in the price
Filter
Updating list...
590 - 595 of 1,500 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We originally booked to stay the night at Anker Hostel, which is about 50m away from Anker Hotel. We were lucky to get upgraded to Anker Hotel upon arrival. Oslo is an expensive city, Anker's properties are some of the cheapest in the city.

The room was ok and was reasonable clean. The room and bathroom are considered big when compared with other budget hotels.

The hotel is about 20 mins walk from the bus terminal. We went to look for something to eat in the night, but came across a few doggy streets at the back of the hotel... though nothing happened to us, I would recommend to stay on the main roads after dark.

There is no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. When we saw that there is a hot drink machine in the hotel lobby, we were delighted- especially that it was -1 degree outside! However we couldn't believe that they charge 1 euro per drink (small drink) and they even charge 1 euro for hot water! Moreover, the drinks area was messy with drinks spilled on the table and the floor!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

RECEPTION: Remember to ask for your own kettle with paper cups, tea bags etc if you intend to boil water. Water in Norway is potable from the tap.

HOTEL FACILITIES: Bonus was buffet breakfast included in room rate, which really helps as eating in Oslo is really expensive about USD/EURO 20-30 per head.

ROOM: Decent, clean and functional. Good shower pressure. Beds comfy. TV Channels were the best of our trip, with English channels so we watched James Bond. Limited wardrobe space and hangers, open concept wardrobe


LOCATION: Quite a far walk from the central train station. About 15-20 min and you pass some dark streets on the way. Bus is about 40 NOK. Beside it is Anker Hostel which seems packed but decent enough.

OVERALL: Would say it's a comfy functional stopover hotel. Didn't have time explore Oslo but seems pretty much typical city feel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orbidtank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked this hotel in a wholesaler website. It was one of the cheapest in Oslo.
The day receptionist were cold and not friendly, few instructions given. The entrance was nice and clean.
The room is "ok". New furniture but the mattress was very soft. I guess we got the old rooms... because there seems to be newer rooms in the other part of the corridor. The room was very clean.

There were two elevators that we were never aware of. Of course, we were given instructions to use the old one that was far away of our room.

The cleaning staff left garbage bags in the corridor all day long, even in front of our door. No body care if we had to jump them to walk to our room. The corridor needs painting and also the rooms (seems to be worn out)

The breakfast was good, plenty vegetables, fruits and there was also hot sausages & eggs.
The hotel is not far away from the center. I actually walk from the train station without getting lost.

Overall, the service was just "ok", the breakfast good, the room so so. Would I stay there again? only if I cannot find accommodation in another hotel. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minoo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights beginning of Dec 11 with two friends. The price was around 50 EUR pp and night incl. breakfast. The hotel is quiet big with 264 rooms of which 100 were only renewed in 2010. The hotel is located only 10 min by foot from the central station and there's a bus and metro station just 2 min away from the entrance. Additionally one of the party areas of Oslo "Grünerløkka" is only up to 10 min by foot behind the hotel!
They provide free wi-fi and 2 free computers in the lobby. Behind the reception is a small bar which sometimes sets up nice parties. Next to the bar and the lobby you will find a spacious breakfast room with a really great buffet offering everything you need for a good start into the day. Only the warm things like sausages and scrambled eggs were not that good but the offer of fresh fruits, different fish and a great variety of bread more than compesated this.
The wardrobe in our 3 bed-room was a little small for the 3 of us, but the beds were comfortable, the room itself was big enough as well as the bathroom. The latter one would require some more hangers for towels etc.
The staff at the reception was always very friendly and helpful. They also sell snacks, postcards, stamps and the Oslo pass. The staff in the breakfast room was not as friendly as the one from the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank affrofant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed a couple of days in the Norwegian capital. I chose this hotel because of other reviews as well as the location of the hotel. The very location of the Anker hotel is a big asset. You can easily get to the train station which connects you to the airport. Also, several shopping venues are easily accessible by foot if that is your thing. The breakfast assortment was good. However, because of its advertised strong points and the reasonably priced rooms the hotel seems to be quite full. So be prepared to enjoy your breakfast in a crowded hall and better be quick in grapping an empty table. Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the hotel room was beneath contempt. My business partner who stayed in another room complained about bed bugs and received an upgrade to another room on the same day. The internet connection broke down for one evening which was not so pleasant if you are dependend on constant communication with your company. However, the management fixed the problem during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews