We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, not the best room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Anker Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anker Hotel
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location, not the best room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I booked this hotel in a wholesaler website. It was one of the cheapest in Oslo.
The day receptionist were cold and not friendly, few instructions given. The entrance was nice and clean.
The room is "ok". New furniture but the mattress was very soft. I guess we got the old rooms... because there seems to be newer rooms in the other part of the corridor. The room was very clean.

There were two elevators that we were never aware of. Of course, we were given instructions to use the old one that was far away of our room.

The cleaning staff left garbage bags in the corridor all day long, even in front of our door. No body care if we had to jump them to walk to our room. The corridor needs painting and also the rooms (seems to be worn out)

The breakfast was good, plenty vegetables, fruits and there was also hot sausages & eggs.
The hotel is not far away from the center. I actually walk from the train station without getting lost.

Overall, the service was just "ok", the breakfast good, the room so so. Would I stay there again? only if I cannot find accommodation in another hotel. You get what you pay for!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minoo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    585
    394
    77
    40
See reviews for
224
410
177
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Deutschland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights beginning of Dec 11 with two friends. The price was around 50 EUR pp and night incl. breakfast. The hotel is quiet big with 264 rooms of which 100 were only renewed in 2010. The hotel is located only 10 min by foot from the central station and there's a bus and metro station just 2 min away from the entrance. Additionally one of the party areas of Oslo "Grünerløkka" is only up to 10 min by foot behind the hotel!
They provide free wi-fi and 2 free computers in the lobby. Behind the reception is a small bar which sometimes sets up nice parties. Next to the bar and the lobby you will find a spacious breakfast room with a really great buffet offering everything you need for a good start into the day. Only the warm things like sausages and scrambled eggs were not that good but the offer of fresh fruits, different fish and a great variety of bread more than compesated this.
The wardrobe in our 3 bed-room was a little small for the 3 of us, but the beds were comfortable, the room itself was big enough as well as the bathroom. The latter one would require some more hangers for towels etc.
The staff at the reception was always very friendly and helpful. They also sell snacks, postcards, stamps and the Oslo pass. The staff in the breakfast room was not as friendly as the one from the reception.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affrofant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

I stayed a couple of days in the Norwegian capital. I chose this hotel because of other reviews as well as the location of the hotel. The very location of the Anker hotel is a big asset. You can easily get to the train station which connects you to the airport. Also, several shopping venues are easily accessible by foot if that is your thing. The breakfast assortment was good. However, because of its advertised strong points and the reasonably priced rooms the hotel seems to be quite full. So be prepared to enjoy your breakfast in a crowded hall and better be quick in grapping an empty table. Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the hotel room was beneath contempt. My business partner who stayed in another room complained about bed bugs and received an upgrade to another room on the same day. The internet connection broke down for one evening which was not so pleasant if you are dependend on constant communication with your company. However, the management fixed the problem during the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charl3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Oslo is expensive. Reallly expensive. So the Anker hotel is a godsend.
We went for my birthday, four of us in all. This hotel was the cheapest in the centre we found. And that always worries me.
I neednt have worried.
The staff were nice and checkin was no hassle.
The room was basic but spacious and had a nice bathroom. The view was really nice which was unexpected.
Beds were very comfortable and things were clean.

As everyone said, the breakfast was amazing!
Definately one of the best hotel breakfasts i have ever seen or eaten. The stuff was so good we sneakily made sandwiches for later.
Checkout was also easy.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmetGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The hotel was a bit out from the centre, so consider the places you need to get to before booking a room. A nice, simple hotel for a reasonable price. And while all other hotels in the centre were almost fully booked or very expensive, Anker hotel was still available. The breakfast however surprised me pleasantly with quite a wide offer of food unlike many hotels in Europe. The bathroom was nice and clean, but the carpet in the room could have used more attention.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaijaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#24 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#36 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 100 in Oslo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
P-Hotels Oslo
#85 of 100 in Oslo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hotel

Property: Anker Hotel
Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Anker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hotel is a popular and affordable 3 star hotel in Oslo city centre. Walking distance to the central station and to all major attractions. Parking facilities. Buses and trams nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oslo
Oslo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing