We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen 3 stars like that!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 8 December 2011

A beautiful hotel in the center of the City very close to the Parliament- You can reach by feet the main part of Oslo attractions. It is also close to the Hard Rock cafè and to many other hot-spots for the nightlife.
Maybe the rooms are too little, but extremely clean and nice.
The price is absolutely competitive.
Continental breakfast is good, and if you like you can eat smoked fish in the perfect Norwegian style!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flucini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 389 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed here one night.The location is great and bang in the middle of the shopping district and easy to walk to from the station. However the single rooms were tiny and not enough room to work at the desk. They were helpful about an upgrade, but in the second room the TV was completely fuzzy and impossible to watch. I was told that they had a problem with all the TVs which they had reported to the TV company and I may need to try 5 different rooms before I could find a working TV.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are bigger and more expensive - the single rooms down the long corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onlybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The day before we arrived at The Best Western hotel I was looking on Trip Advisor and saw in several reviews that some of the rooms had balconies. So I sent an E-Mail off to them asking if we could have a balcony if there were any available. When we arrived we not only got a balcony but a whole suite! We had a main room with a fold out sofa, a six seat dining suite and still enough room for our daughter and us to play ball. We, of course had the balcony, which looked over the main street, along with three windows along two sides of the building. Then there was a totally separate bedroom with a super comfy bed and black out curtains, a boon in Oslo in July. I should mention though that our room was not the standard size and when I peeked into other rooms they did seem quite small. The breakfast was excellent, although I was unwell and didn’t eat much, but my Husband and Daughter were well catered for. The location is perfect, right in the main street and across the road from a handy café which had good coffee, beer & ice-cream and was next to a lovely fountain. Next door was TGI Fridays which is good if you are travelling with a six year old. It’s a ten minute walk to the palace and about five minutes beyond that to the harbour which is a hive of activity on a warm summer evening. All the staff were friendly and helpful and provided us with all the help we needed, even letting us use their computer when the public one was out of order. Overall I was very impressed with everything.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menicci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Satyed there one Friday night. Unfortulately the rooms on the second floor are right above a Disco! Loud music until 2 am! The friendly staff gave me a new room, but still on the same floor so the music was even louder in that room. Besides that the rooms are not in the best condition. The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room was uninspering.
Centrally located, but most hotels in Oslo are...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

If you like to be in the middle of everything, this small, intimate and unassuming hotel is your place. All the rest is pretty mediocre. One of the receptionists was superb, the other a bit rude. Rooms are small, and although clean, carpets were a bit dirty. it was also very noisy and the internet never worked. Breakfast is convenient. The building itself must have been a beauty.
the web says it is 100 meters from the main station but it is more like 1000 meters.

Locations is perfect...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliciacch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Scandic Victoria
#30 of 102 in Oslo
903 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#40 of 102 in Oslo
526 reviews
Hotell Bondeheimen
#42 of 102 in Oslo
819 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Karl Johan
Scandic Karl Johan
#39 of 102 in Oslo
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Karl Johan Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Karl Johan Hotell

Address: Karl Johans Gate 33, Oslo 0162, Norway (Formerly Norlandia)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: €115 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Karl Johan Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Oslo's main street and in the heart of the city centre lies this historic hotel from 1899. Next to the Parliament and within immediate walking distance to a variety of museums, attractions, shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel has 114 rooms, as well as 5 meeting rooms with a maximum capacity of 70 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Karl Johan Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell Hotel Oslo
Norlandia Karl Johan Hotell Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing