We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Really nice and warm hotel close to the centre of Oslo. 5-10 min walking distance from national theatre station (metro, train to airport and other locations) and well communicated with trams and buses. Breakfast is very good! Rooms are nice, comfortable but a bit small. There are not so many options for eating (and cheap eating) around but it's easy to reach other city area in not so much time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank PaoloComo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017

My friend and I ended up in one of the "family" rooms, which was two regular rooms and baths joined with a connecting door, so we each had lots of space -- a real bonus! The hotel is not your standard sterile place. With reindeer skins on the beds and other critters in the lobby, it won't appeal to everyone. But the service was friendly and helpful, the breakfasts good (including my first taste of carmelized goat cheese -- it's the brown one), and the location great. 10 minute walk to Aker Brygge and 10 to the Karl Johan pedestrian street.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FellowTraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for us. Great location, quiet room, healthy and delicious breakfast and super helpful staff. It is on a quiet street, but very close to transit and restaurants. We will definitely go back if visiting Oslo again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yinsandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast had plenty of variety, was healthy and tasty. Totally unrelated to the hotel, we had a problem with a sim card purchase. The front desk staff worked with us until the problem was resolved. She is exceptional! You know you've found a great hotel when the staff fix problems that have nothing to do with the hotel. Great place; highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was not for me at all. It was clean and the staff ok, but I'm sorry the eco-warrior meets animal hunter in some confused approximation of earthy style did not work for me. This hotel was booked on my behalf, upon arriving I struggled to get my suitcases up the stairs, the front desk staff did not assist me. I was put off by dead animal skins that seemed mottled underneath on the bed. I told that staff member that I suffered from asthma and asked for all of the dead animal skin covers and pillows to be removed, as they were making me wheeze, only to be told that they did not have housekeeping there at that time ( Sunday evening) so had to remove and carry the. To the front desk myself. The towels are made of some type of recycled material and are like bathing with sandpaper, there was one iron for each floor, no mini bar, no closet - I had to hang my clothes on a narrow rack by the door, there are no telephones in the room to contact the front desk or anyone else for that matter and to make matters worse the stairwell door leading to outside the back of the hotel was propped open- all day. Definitely a security risk. I would not recommend it, if you like hypoallergenic, modern, hotel rooms. This was supposed to be rustic and charming but it did not come up to a the standard that I expect. I was due to be there for 11 days and stayed for one night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Afroveganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#19 of 102 in Oslo
1,699 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: €101 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing