We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosmos tour”
Review of Scandic Solli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Solli
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 9 July 2017

This is good hotel relative to location near the waterfront. An easy 10 minute walk. The rooms are small, but ok. Being there 2 days I noticed chaos in the restaurant during breakfast. The lines were long and some people gave up trying to get a cup of coffee.
What I found to be offensive was the rude bartender who insisted we move to another part of the bar. We were guests in a group staying in this hotel and this bar was not busy.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the street. Lots of noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IUhoosier83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus Thomas P, Daglig leder at Scandic Solli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thank you very much for yor feedback.

We are sorry for the troubles at breakfast and for the incident in the bar.

Please have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017

We arrived early before a room was ready for us. They asked us to return in an hour so that they could prepare a room for us. We returned and sure enough, a room was ready. This was greatly appreciated after a midnight flight into Oslo.

All of the staff members were very helpful and they all spoke excellent English.
The breakfast was delicious and the room was quite large with a fantastic view of the harbor.

We traveled on a very hot day, the room came with a shade to block the heat and a window that opened.

The hotel is located near the harbor and right on public transportation lines.

We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gromit2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus Thomas P, Daglig leder at Scandic Solli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

THANK YOU!!

It is lovely to get feedback like this. It sertainly gives us extra energy to keep up yhe good work, and serve our guests the best way possible.

I wish you a nice summer, and welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

We came here for a short break for my birthday. This establishment was reasonably priced compared to many others and it's location being near both public transport and the main shopping area and indeed tourist zone in Oslo is perfect. 5 minutes and you're in the thick of the action.
This enabled us to save quite a bit of possible transport costs and easily walk everywhere from our hotel.
Our room was a little on the small side so that we couldn't really pass each other by in the room. Someone has to hop on the bed to let the other pass which was a bit awkward but it did the job.
The shower was a tad disappointing for us also. It wasn't very powerful and was also awkwardly located so that you couldn't really stand under it fully but had to pick it up to fully get the job done.
The breakfast was lovely though. A good variety of options with cooked English breakfast, sandwich options and the usual pastries and cereals.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LynsFrostee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus Thomas P, Daglig leder at Scandic Solli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you very much for your nice review.

It is always good to hear when our guests have enjoyed both the hotel and their visit to Oslo.

We do have some smaler rooms, but for NOK 100,- you can buy an upgrade to a larger room category.

Enjoy your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank ajayb382
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claus Thomas P, Daglig leder at Scandic Solli, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I spent 2 nights there and it was just ok. The size of the room is just right. Getting to the hotel was not a good experience for me. I took the train from the airport ( flytoget)and based on the recommendations I read online, I stopped at the national theateret, so I did. I didn't know that there's another stop or maybe I exited the other way And it took me maybe over thirty minutes walking from where I exited towards the hotel. Not to mention walking uphill with cobblestone-like road and that broke the wheels of my luggage .i was sweating buckets when I arrived at my hotel. Since it was my fifth destination on this trip, I had several dirty laundry. I asked the receptionist if I can have them do my laundry but the receptionist told me they have a laundromat in the hotel. That made my day. Expecting I will be able to wash several of my dirty clothes, when I went there I found out that the machine is broken. When I asked the receptionist ( the original person I asked a day before was not working that day), told me that it had been broken for a few days now ( meaning they knew this all along and hasn't been fixed yet?!). Also why do they serve breakfast late? I went there around 7:30 hoping I will have breakfast early so I can start strolling the city but they didn't serve it until 8.. seriously? Of all the hotel that I've stayed, this is the one that is slightly farther to the main shopping areas , restaurants and happenings. It is located at a quiet area so if you wanted to go out late or bar hopping, you have to walk a little farther ( though technically it's not that far, basing on European standards and everything is somewhat close by around Europe anyways). There is a grocery store located close to the hotel. I mean generally it was a good stay but If ever I get back to oslo, I would probably choose a hotel closer to where everything is..

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank joero24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus Thomas P, Daglig leder at Scandic Solli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you very much for your informative review.

You were unlucky and went out the "wrong" exit from the train station Nasjonateateret. If you had picked the exit marked Parkeveien you would have been 200 meters from the hotel.

I am really sorry about the laundry machine, it should of course have been working.

We will look at our breakfast times, we will try our best to improve our service to our guests.

Please have a nice summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#5 of 102 in Oslo
866 reviews
Scandic Vulkan
#25 of 102 in Oslo
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Solli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Solli

Address: Parkveien 68, Oslo 0254, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range: €83 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Solli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the central Scandic Solli hotel and walk to Oslo attractions like the Royal Palace and Akershus fortress. Try fresh seafood and Nordic tapas in the modern V Solli Bar & Spiseri. Enjoy free wifi throughout the hotel. Explore fabulous shopping, just 300 metres away, including House of Oslo with 20 interior design shops. Enjoy a workout in the fitness room before relaxing in the sauna at the Scandic Solli hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Solli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kna Oslo City Hotel Oslo
Scandic Kna Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing