We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic Byporten
Nearby Hotels
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Hotel Boersparken(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$224
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Thon Hotel Vika Atrium(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
440
528
176
31
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
528
176
31
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegon restauranttrain stationadjacent restaurantcentral locationsame buildingreception staff were friendlybunk bedsbreakfast is servedrooms are smallopera housestayed here for three nightsbreakfast restaurantshort staynice breakfastexcellent locationfamily roomexploring oslo
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jannicke H, General Manager at Scandic Byporten, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed for a night during a weekend in March. I have chosen this hotel due to available parking garage which is very convenient and easy accessible from the hotel, just one floor up by an elevator/stair. There is a parking automat machine in the parking garage and guests get parking discount which is NOK 295 per night. The hotel is very well situated, in the middle of Oslo, easy to walk to all main attractions. Check in and check out very smooth, very nice and professional reception staff who was very helpful. Our room on the 4th floor was clean and had everything we could need. The bed was comfortable and we got good night sleep. Complimentary breakfast in next to restaurant Egon was very good with wide variety. All in all it was an excellent stay and we will definitely come back when visiting Oslo next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kleopetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke H, General Manager at Scandic Byporten, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Hello Kleopetra,

Thank you for your visit with us here in march. We are so happy to read to our hotel was convenient and easy accesible for your car, sites and to the main attractions. Thank you also for sharing feedback on our staff, we very much appreciate that you took time to praise our amasing staff and the front desk! We hope to see you soon back! A Happy Easter and a warm welcome back!

Thank you!

Best regards,

Jannicke Holmgreen Lorentzen
General Manager Scandic Byporten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Located in a large shopping centre, and on the edge of the central train station, so very convenient for access, travel and the city. Despite the location, the rooms are not a bad size (though not big) quite quiet and some have nice views of the harbour and beyond over rooftops. Breakfast is in the restaurant next door and was good, if not exceptional. The main problem was the room termperature - much too warm for sleeping, at least for me, and not adjustable. Despite claims that the reception staff can change the heating in specific rooms, this didn't seem to have any effect. Very friendly staff, and a relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke H, General Manager at Scandic Byporten, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Hello John W,

Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience staying with us! We are grateful for the nice feedback on our rooms and friendly staff! We very much appreciate the time you took to share you feedback!

A Happy Easter and a warm welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Jannicke Holmgreen Lorentzen
General Manager Scandic Byporten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

Positive first, the location is very central ideal for exploring downtown Oslo by foot. The hotel do not have its own restaurant you use Egon next door for breakfast which was good. If you are a regular customer and get a dinner voucher you can not use it for dinner, but I guess a beer in the lobby will not kill you.
Rooms is clean and fresh, very friendly staff. The only downside with the room is that you can not set the temperature yourself, you have to ring down to the front desk! I find this quite strange and cumbersome.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Innino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke H, General Manager at Scandic Byporten, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2016

Hello Innino1,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are so happy to read that you took the time to share your experience with us! Thank you for the great feedback on our clean and fresh rooms notbutleast friendly staff!

Welcome back!

Best regards,

Jannicke Holmgreen Lorentzen
General Manager Scandic Byporten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Room was nice, quiet and modern with hardwood floors and possibility to open the windows. A bit on the smaller side, but large enough. Great bed and nice amenities and a iron in the room which is always nice when your on the road.

Hoten is located Very close to Oslo Central Station

No hotel restaurant and the hotel bare is in the "reception". Hotel is a little confusing to find if you come from street level, look for a restaurant called Egon. Hotel Breakfast is also located here. Don't bring your luggage if you plan a quick bite and run, you'll be lugging it around several stairs and corridors..

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carl Georg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jannicke H, General Manager at Scandic Byporten, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2016

Good Morning Georg T,

Thank you for your visit and thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay with us! We are so pleased to read you liked our functional rooms and our location. Dont hesistate to leave the luggage with us in the reception for a quick bite at the breakfast!

A warm welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Jannicke Holmgreen Lorentzen
General Manager Scandic Byporten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews