We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,594)
Filter reviews
2,594 results
Traveller rating
1,200
1,118
194
58
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
1,118
194
58
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station breakfast buffet perfect location arriving by train nice hotel single room great breakfast nutshell tour airport express oslo fjord business room main station hotel is located city centre oslo pass public transportation visiting oslo
Filter
Updating list...
344 - 349 of 2,594 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This hotel is near just about everything...the opera, the train station, the main city square, etc. Rooms are spacious and clean. The exercise bike in the room was a real bonus (Makes it harder to come up with a good reason to skip the workout). The included breakfast buffet was also exceptional...good food and lots of choices

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear H6551XMsharon,

Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed our central location and that the exercise bike has helped you work out comfortably in your room. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast, I do hope we might welcome you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera soon again.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Wonderful location, central to all great attractions, the beautiful Opera, the sea front attractions all the shopping malls and restaurants.
Easy access to all the trains and buses in and around the city. The employers at the hotel are so nice and helpful
The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bed was big and comfortable.
The lunch was a buffe' and it was very nice, one could pick and choose.

Room Tip: All the room are great but get one on a top floor.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vendela Akua E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Vendela Akua E,

Thank you for your top rating and for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m glad you have found our location to be convenient for your visit to Oslo. Thank you for you kind words about our rooms and staff, I do hope we might have the honor of welcoming you back to Oslo and Thon Hotel Opera soon again.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

Central Hotel very convenient to the city centre and Train station.

Restaurant provided excellent Dinner & Breakfast.

Beds were very comfortable & rooms quite.

Bathrooms were a little small & so too were the rooms.

Overall a positive experience. Rated above average based on the restaurant experiences.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jamesrobertedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear jamesrobertedward,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy to read that you have enjoyed your breakfast and that our central location has been convenient for your visit to Oslo. I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to our city and Thon Hotel Opera on a later occasion.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The Thon Opera is conveniently location right by the Central station. This means you can take the airport train, which runs every 10 min and takes about 20 min, and walk to the hotel in 2 min. The check in and check out experiences were simple and easy.

My room was decently sized, clean and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable (soft, if that is what you like). The bathroom comes with soap dispensers, so do not expect shampoo, conditioner or body lotion.

Excellent breakfast spread!

Note that you will only get one room key, and that you should scan your key to lock the door immediately when you leave. If you don't, it will lock in about 30 seconds.

When you book, be sure to ask for a room in the main hotel, and not the separate section. My colleagues ended up there with smaller rooms (one even with a single bed and no desk).

With all the construction in Olso, the hotel will soon be surrounded by other skyscrapers, which means the Opera house and harbor views are disappearing.

Room Tip: When you book, be sure to ask for a room in the main hotel, and not the separate section.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear SATraveller25,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Oslo. It’s correct that your door will stay open if not locked for 30 seconds as this is Norwegian recommendation for all new hotels, so that you may escape back into your room in case of an fire that have spread into the hallway. Shampoo, conditioner and lotions are available in our upgraded rooms, but not in the standard and economy rooms. That being said, I’m glad you have slept well with us and that you have found the breakfast to be excellent. I do hope we might have the joy of welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Opera on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The Hotel is about 20 meters from Central Station (just out and to the left and you will see it). Very well located and for this reason alone one would select this Hotel as a business location to stay at.

The Hotel itself is great looking and stylishly furnished. The rooms are big enough and it is clear that some thought has been provided to detail- including an ironing board has been provided.

Breakfast is great! everything you can think of to start your day!

As you could imagine, the hotel is costly - its in Oslo!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Moses O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius L, Guest Relations Manager at Thon Hotel Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Moses O,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay with us at Thon Hotel Opera. I’m happy that your have enjoyed our visit to Oslo and that our location has been convenient. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel rooms, I do hope we might be able to welcome you back to us at Thon Hotel Opera soon again.

Kind regards
Marius Lilleng
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews