We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
284
354
132
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
354
132
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews food hall bars and restaurants nice hotel city centre room was a bit small big windows karl johan great breakfast close to the hotel business trip comfortable stay air condition the room was nice walking distance short stay breakfast room central station
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed only one night there and it was fine. The neighbourhood around the hotel was rather ineresting and the breakfast was very good but otherwise the experience was average. Would rate it 3,5 if possible.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank olafurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you so much for your honest feedback, we will take action to make stay more than average!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

The hotel is overlooking a trendy big food hall with many small restaurants and bars. The breakfast has everything one can think of, but not a menu a la carte or an omelette chef. The rooms are rather dark and on level 4 you do not have much storage but a lot of hooks to hang your close openly along a rail, cool... No, just the same cheap industrial style. There was no booklet with information in my room and there is no bar/fridge. The reception has some daily products for sale but they do not have any items like a comb when you forgot one. Some of the smaller conference rooms have a clear glass front, the bigger ones are closed.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackHide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for this nice review! Hope to see you soon again, and then I can promise you that we will have information in our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Room was quiet an comfortable and everything worked. Nice view from window.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel is near lots of local bars, restaurants and a great food market. I’d suggest a walk up the river - lots of waterfalls and restored industrial history.

Outside hotel there are lots of steps down to river and Vulcan area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank X1652OCrichardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, so nice to read! Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Excellent room, staff, value and exceptional breakfast! Loved it. We were in Norway two weeks and this was the best room of the 8 rooms we had. My only comment is that in general in Norway, there is no sheet, only a comforter which is too warm. This is not a comment on Scandic - just a general comment. I would choose the Scandic Vulcan on any trip!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank kem542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We LOVE IT! <3 from team Vulkan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

I could have rated this hotel 4 or 5. I chose 5 because it is a very good hotel (all considerations), in a nice fun area where multiple great food and activities exist right outside the hotel door, all at good (for Oslo) prices. I would have preferred to be located closer to the Central Train Station for the 5 because we wanted to walk for sightseeing. Oslo is a large clean "safe" city for walking but distance and time are always important. A taxi cost us $20 USD for 2 with luggage and tip from the Central Train Station and the Scandic Vulkan Hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica E, General Manager at Scandic Vulkan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you so much for choosing the 5, we really appreciate this <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews