We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (621)
Filter reviews
621 results
Traveller rating
356
155
58
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
155
58
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargrand experiencethe room service menuindoor poolfabulous locationparliament buildingupgraded roomonly stayed one nightfabulous breakfastcentral locationhuge selectionair conditioningthe heart of the cityroom was largeroyal castlepublic areasyour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 621 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Currently staying in a so called "deluxe" room at this hotel and believe me tere is nothing deluxe about it.
Firstly it doesn't have air-conditioning, in fact it has no cooling system in the room of any sort and at 10:30 pm (current time) it's 24degrees inside. How can a hotel achieve a 5star rating in this day with no AC?! (TripAdvisor you should update your website as it stated rooms have Air-conditioning)

Secondly our view is of a building construction site, oh so grand.. Not!

Thirdly the room itself is dreadful, with what can only be described as a rather poorly executed cheap renovation job it just doesn't meet the expectations one has when booking/staying at a 5star hotel.

My advice.. Don't stay here, but if you do be prepared for a 3star experience. Oh wait even most back packer hostels have air-conditioning..

Shocking!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank jsh_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosifa, Group Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear jsh_15,

First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences and frustrations you experienced during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your time for sending us an feedback, and we will bring this forward to the team.

I still hope that we will have the opportunity to host you in the future!

Kind regards,

Tosifa Jasrae
Group Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

If you are accustomed to staying in elegant hotels, this hotel will not let you down. It's quiet, beautifully furnished, sparkling clean and the breakfast is something to rave about. It's also located right in the middle of the city with great shopping all around.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosifa, Group Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Michelle B,

Thank you for taking the time to write at feedback from your recent stay with us. It was lovely having you at the Grand Hotel. We are pleased to know we have earned your thumbs up. We sincerely wish we can welcome you back again the next time you are in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Tosifa Jasrae
Group Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We are halfway through a six week holiday in Scandinavia and have stayed in a mix of boutique and five star hotels
The Grand has been our poorest choice to date. For $400AUD per night we are on level 7 (Room 702) which is located adjacent to the meeting rooms and right next to a store room that we hear staff in regularly
Our room has two small windows facing the sky, more like skylights so there is no view whatsoever
We may as well have stayed in a three star hotel in the back blocks
The reception staff are helpful but the whole place feels impersonal
There is no way we could recommend this place to anyone when there are plenty of other good options particularly near the waterfront
Alas as travellers we all make mistakes but rest assured we won’t make the same one twice and be back here a second time

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosifa, Group Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Mr. David,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Grand Hotel. Your feedback is very important and allows us to maintain, and when necessary improve, our overall guest experience. We strive our best to keep a well maintained property. We have different type of rooms at the Grand Hotel, and we have also rooms which are facing the Front Street with French balcony and in a size of 50sqm. Please contact us directly, next time you will visit Oslo.

Again, we allow us to extend our sincerest apologies that we were not up to our usually high standards.

Hope we can welcome you to Grand Hotel another time, and show a better side of us.

With warmest regards,

Tosifa Jasrae

Reservation Department
Group Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We arrived at the Grand somewhat disheveled, after a week's cruise above the Arctic circle. One member of our party was deep into a laundry crisis, and the staff at the Grand had his clothes collected, washed, dried, and returned to him even before we had unpacked. Still wondering how that happened. There are marvelous public spaces in this hotel -- an old-fashioned palm court that serves as a late-night bar, and a magnificent high-ceilinged room for breakfast. This is the grand old part of town, facing a park and not far from the Royal Palace and the Houses of Parliament, and the Grand fits in with the scheme. Nonetheless, it was the trendy rooftop bar that was really hopping. Rooms were comfortable and elegant.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosifa, Group Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear Carol W,

Thank you for taking the time to post an feedback on Tripadvisor. It was lovely having you at the Grand Hotel recently. We are pleased to know we have earned your thumbs up. We sincerely wish we can welcome you back again the next time you are in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel again soon, and please feel free to reach out to us at booking@grand.no so we can help plan another wonderful stay for you.

Warm wishes,

Tosifa Jasrae
Group Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

So first the pros of the Grand Hotel: fabulous location, easy to get to most city sights, close to train station that can take you to the airport (at the National Theatre), iconic, historic, spa, great bed, hot danish and good coffee for breakfast. After a long day of travel my husband and I were excited to be able to visit the float pool, wet and infrared sauna in the spa, then walk to a nice restaurant on the harbor for a late dinner, then sink into a most comfortable bed. We were there when it was unseasonably warm (80 degrees) and this was the only place we stayed with air conditioning, which was nice because the area is noisy and we were able to close our window at night. We got the room with breakfast and it was a decent breakfast buffet, especially the coffee and the hot Danish. Now the cons: this place is definitely not handicap friendly. There are lots of stairs to negotiate even if you take the elevator. There are little boards across all hallways every 50 feet or so, which I kept hitting with my toes and did once fall flat on my face. The breakfast area is loud and chaotic and you have to wait to be seated. So even though the food is good is it not a very enjoyable atmosphere. The price is high for the value. I know Norway is expensive but this was comparably more expensive than other hotels and food. Many of the guests clearly have a LOT of money and are kind of snotty and entitled acting. Glad we stayed here? Yes for the location and good night's sleep. Would I stay here again? Not if it cost more than $300/night with breakfast for 2.

Room Tip: our scenic view was a dumpster and an alley, so not really the right person to ask
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kansaskayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tosifa, Group Coordinator at Grand Hotel Oslo By Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2018

Dear kansaskayaker,

Thank you for your detailed feedback. Replies such as this one really makes it easier for us to improve. It is sad to know that you falI flat on your face, and I hope everything went well. I will take your comments in regard to the rate forward, as well as the positive feedback on experienced on your stay.

Hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel.

With warmest regards,

Tosifa Jasrae
Group Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews