We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and very good staffed hotel in Oslo centre with a sound problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice and very good staffed hotel in Oslo centre with a sound problem”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayd there for a night out (St. Patrics day ;-)) together with another couple. We stayd at a superior room, very big and modern room. The bathroom was not big. It was very clean. At one side of the hotell there is a tram that make som noise, the street is busy too so at that side (southside) you have to expect some noise. It's the middle of a busy city senter. Stay away from room 512 and its neighbours becouse of all guests that are visiting the free eveningfood/coffe aera at the top floor have to pass your door, and some people do not think about others.......

The restourant at the groundfloor is quite good and i didn't miss anything at the ecologic breakfast.

Room Tip: see main text
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BioLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    254
    108
    28
    12
See reviews for
74
197
67
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Booked a room to stay over night in Oslo as I was attending a conference. At check in I was asked if I wanted to upgrade from my standard single room reservation for a reasonable small amount of money, but I didn't. The room was quite OK with a double bed, but the carpet on the floor looked dirty. I prefer wooden floor. The bathroom was the most tiny I have ever seen, and I found the towel with dark stains. Luckily there were double set of towels, so I used the other one. Nice flat screen TV. The rate included free WiFi and breakfast, which was buffet style and included bacon and eggs. Check out was smooth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street where the tram is quite frequent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeavyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed one night for business. I travel overseas frequently and usually stay in the usual US branded chains. I must compliment and thank all the hotel staff for their loverly friendliness. The Ukraninan lady serving the buffet was also a loverly person, and made me feel like I was at home - rather than a hotel. By the way, the evening buffet was perfect and in such a relaxed atmosphere. Maybe its a Nordic thing, but it was very much appreciated. On the down side, bathroom was a little too small (wet room style) and the noise from the trams was too loud for me, but despute this, I found my stay extremeley pleasurable - so thank you!

Room Tip: We are all different with different needs, so hard to say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelena r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This nice hotel is really near of most sightseengs. Receptionisrs are friendly and attentive. My room had been upgraded free of any charge. A breakfast magnificent, a supper good. Fine hotel for city visit for rest or on affairs. I plan to visit the hotel once again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katarina5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My sister and i stayed in the clarion savoy collection hotel in Oslo last July 2011, we found the reception staff extremely helpful.. The breakfast and evening meals were very good along with the free coffee and tea. The Hotel was very central, near all the attractions. We felt very safe there after the bombing which was a very frightening experience. The Police and Army were very helpful and put our mind at ease. it is a lovely city and we were fortunate we could place flowers outside the Church in solidarity with those who died and those who were injured .Beautiful city lots of interesting places to see, Staying in the Savoy Hotel made it possible to see Oslo on a budget. From Ireland

Room Tip: Dont take the rooms facing the red brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numarkilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Hotel Bristol
#13 of 102 in Oslo
1,317 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 102 in Oslo
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Address: Universitetsgata 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#28 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location in the heart of Oslo, Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy offers a free evening buffet and 2 restaurants. All of the air conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Hotel Savoy are decorated in a minimalist style and comfort. They are all equipped with a cable TV, work desk and private bathrooms.Guests can enjoy affordable gourmet dishes at Restaurant Eik, which has been awarded the Bib Gourmand honor by the Michelin Guide. Restaurant Fjord serves sea food. Savoy Bar is the perfect venue for a drink in the evening.Laundry services and currency exchange are provided for guests’ convenience. Tea and coffee are available anytime on the 2nd floor.Oslo’s main street, Karl Johans gate, is a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The Royal Palace is situated 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Savoy
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing