We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Nearby Hotels
US$463
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Inn by Radisson Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Citybox Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$252
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Youngstorget(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Saga Hotel Oslo(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$141
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic St. Olavs plass(Oslo)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$188
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
985
515
142
63
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
515
142
63
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskate mosscentral stationlight dinnerclarion collectionfree evening mealfloor loungeincluded in the pricefantastic breakfaststorage spacesuperior roomhotel breakfastbreakfast and dinnercold meatsan expensive citytea coffeethe hotel offerssmall room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Spent 1 night there but I was convinced it is a very good hotel for both business and tourism in Oslo if prices remains accessible.

The hotel is located about 500 m from the train station in a pedestrian street in what was the former opera house of Oslo at the entrance of a wide gallery lined up with bars, restaurants and stores.

Location is hard to beat, whether you are travelling for tourism, you will be in the heart of Oslo, 5 mns from the new opera house and the new "bar code" neighbourhood with its bars and restaurants or the pedestrian center and old town, stores and parks on the other side.

Reception area is nice and cozzy with couches and tables and a coffee machine and teas on the house.

My room was rather wide, 630, but facing the pedestrian street. Despite being on 6th floor you can hear the noisy street cars under the windows, which can be bothersome. However insulation from other rooms was perfect.

It is delightly designed and decorated in tones of red and black.

Bed was very soft and bathroom with a floor heating and modernly designed.
Bathroom amenities are of high quality so are towels and beddings.

Wi-Fi worked very well in my room.

Breakfast is served on ground floor near the reception. Food selection was wide, but mostly Norvegian, I could not get a cappuccino or an espresso and service was absent in the breakfast room, as I couldn't find anyone to ask for anything, including an espresso. Probably the weakest point.

Check in and check out was swift and efficient, my request for a quieter room was well honoured.

The price was a bit steep (230euros a night) but Oslo isn't cheap.
However this hotel is far better than the SAS Radisson which is now aged and almost as expensive. I can strongly recommend the Clarion collection over the SAS if the price difference is not too large.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank FFM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana_Urdalen, Kundeansvarlig at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear FFM9,

Greetings and thank you very much for taking time to write such a well detailed review.
We really appreciate it.
As you mentioned the hotel is in the heart of Oslo and I completely agree with you the "Location is hard to beat"! :)
Amazing that you liked the hotel design, it was developed to give a Theater experience as the hotel is located at the old Opera House and near to Folketeateret.
We are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Oslo :)

Warm regards,
Luana Urdalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Centrally located in Oslo with friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous breakfast with all ingrediens and very good tasting. Omelets, egg, bacon, cheese, olives, coffee, tea, fruit and many more. Stayed for 2 nights and we can recommend the superior rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Pål M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana_Urdalen, Kundeansvarlig at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Pål M,

Greetings and thank you very much for your kind review about our property!
Amazing to read that you had such a good breakfast experience :) .
I´ll also be sharing your very generous thoughts with the breakfast team.

We are looking forward to your return!

All the best,
Luana Urdalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

The hotel offers super service, nice feel and good food. But the rooms are the smallest I have seen. There is not even a table for your lab top. When unpacking, the only place to put your stuff is on the floor. That alone does the at least i wont be visiting this hotel again. Unfortunately for the rest of the package is good.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Nils F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairaLalayan, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Nils F,

Greetings and many thanks from your review. I am sorry to read that the room category you choose didn't attend your expectations. Our hotel has 160 rooms, and only in the single rooms we don't have working desk. We have superior and delux rooms, 2 floors suits, standard double rooms. Next time that you are in Oslo please do not hesitate to contact our front desk team, they can give you the best advice, and help you to choose the right room according to your needs.

I really hope you will give us another chance to show you that we are the right choice for you :) It was a pleasure to read that you got super service at our hotel! I wish you a great week ahead,
All the best, Luana Urdalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Fantastic and warm welcome from the front office agent . Breakfast crew could have been more friendly but the full buffet with a huge variety paid it off :)
Room standard was excellent, highly recommend it

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank FloriH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana_Urdalen, Kundeansvarlig at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear FloriH,

Greetings and thank you so much for your kind review about Clarion Collection Folketeateret.
I am really happy to read that you had a fantastic and warm welcome, and that you've been well taken care of as our guest.
Great to read that you had such a nice stay.


We certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

All the best,
Luana Urdalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This hotel is located quite central and with easy access to bus/tram/trains etc. I have been in several of the Clarion Collection hotel and like the the evening meal concept. Great when your traveling with small kids - alot less hassle then having a tired kid in a restaurant. The breakfast was one of the best i had at a hotel. The staff was friendly and nice. We had a nice deluxe room with seperate bedroom and big balcoon. Will definitly use this hotel again!

Room Tip: our deluxe room had a seperate bedroom. nice when your traveling with a kid.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jtnilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luana_Urdalen, Kundeansvarlig at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Jtnilsen,

Greetings and thank you so much for this amazing review about our property.
It was a pleasure reading that you have been in several of the Clarion Collection Hotels, we truly appreciate your fidelity.
I have a child as well, and I completely agree with your comment, that is a lot easier having the evening meal at the hotel.
This gives you the feeling "Home away from Home".
I am happy that you had the perfect rom for your needs, and that our staff was friendly and nice.


We hope to see you soon again, welcome back!

All the best,
Luana Urdalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews