We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
896 results
Traveller rating
329
403
112
30
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
403
112
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room train station nice hotel mini kitchen no window small balcony shower door opera house business room oslo fjord great room the upper floors akershus fortress aker brygge excellent breakfast minute walk wet room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 896 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Nothing particularly special about the hotel itself. It is clean, the rooms are fairly spacious. It does have some excellent views, depending on the room you get. It is a great location and near to the waterfront. What stood out to us during our stay was the customer service. Madeline at the front desk went above and beyond to help us out navigating the city, the public transportation and making recommendations on places to eat, things to do and overall very engaging.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The hotel is located in the heart of Oslo, only 10 minutes’ walk from Oslo Opera, Railway Station and Aker Brygge.

The rooms are spacious. The rooms on the upper floors offer panoramic views of Oslo Fjord. We were lucky to get our business room from the 11th floor.

During our stay, they let to use the terraces of one of the duplex penthouse suites on the 13th floor. So everybody was able to enjoy the views.

Free tea and coffee are available in the lobby area at all times.

The food selection at the breakfast buffet was wide and tasty.

This hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Arrived at hotel with confirmed parking. Alas, no parking available and nowhere to park while you off-load bags etc without blocking the footpath and cycle path. Got some dirty looks from locals. However, eventually got situated in parking 200 meters around the corner. Family room was a good size, with a great bed, but no air conditioning on an extraordinarily hot day in Oslo - well over 30C. Finally was given a small fan that needed a bit of maintenance to operate properly. Also had no view or balcony. Great view though from a suite on top floor that was open most of the day. Well done breakfast. Hotel was close to all amenities, shopping and sightseeing stuff.

Room Tip: Try an get an upper floor with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenthurstian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Kenthurstian

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

The hotel is located very centrally in the historical city Centre. A part of our building is actually one of the oldest buildings in Oslo from 1755. Streets are narrow and parking is limited. We have four parking spaces for our guests, but we also have an agreement with a large and modern parking garage right next to the hotel.

Because of the unexpected heat wave this summer we have ordered fans for all our rooms. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite the lack of a view from your room.

We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to Thon Hotel Panorama!

Best regards
Thon Hotel Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Located 700m from the Central Station.
Receptionists are very friendly, check-in quick. Room very clean, but renovation somehow needed. There is no aircondition, which was a little problme since the temperatures were quite high (approximately 28). Breakfast buffet is good, especially for scandinavic level. Breakfastroom is maybe a bit too small.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Markus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S, General Manager at Thon Hotel Panorama, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Markus N

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

This summer has been exceptional with a heatwave that is very atypical for Norway. We have ordered fans for all rooms. Thank you for the kind words about our front desk staff and popular breakfast.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards
Thon Hotel Panorama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We stayed in Oslo for a couple days after a cruise and had made reservations through Hotels.com. We arrived mid-morning and the hotel was able to get us into rooms immediately which we greatly appreciated. The room we were assigned was a problem due to its location and the fact that the window did not open but the staff was very good and changed our room. As it was unusually hot they found fans which helped.
The rooms were very clean and the design very Scandinavian.
Elevators are small and slow.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful.
Hotel location is excellent with access to most of the town sights by foot.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better but are higher priced.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews