We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for the price”
Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skansen Hotell
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 25 March 2017

You aren't going to be staying in your hotel much in Tromso, just sleeping there. Skansen provides everything you need to sleep, shower, eat and get back outside to enjoy the wonders of the arctic.

Our room was conveniently located near the breakfast room and the 'night entrance' doorway, so we only had to go through reception to check in and out (both painless and fast processes).

The receptionist was able to recommend some great restaurants and we enjoyed our time there all the more thanks to that.

The hotel is on the main shopping street and mere minutes away from the central meeting area for (most of) the tour groups.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crouchek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Skansen Hotel for four nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is located at the northern end of the town. As the town is small almost everything is within walking distance.

We were given a nice room overlooking the bridge and mountains. The room was quite spacious. There was a fridge, microwave and hot water kettle. Room was adequately heated.

Breakfast was good.

The mattress was slightly too soft for my liking.

It would have been better if they provided hair shampoo and also glasses in the room.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay. It is not the cheapest but is priced right for Norway. Recommended.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kwoksum L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I really not recommend, and I ll not give just one star because of two employees, the guy who made our check in (earlier than the regular time), and the woman who made our check out, Ludmil, she was lovely! But the beds is very lousy, bad sleep, the smell in the room was horrible, breakfast is poor, very poor, the service during the breakfast is horrible. We ask to get in warm our baby's milk, and they don't wanna do. Localization is a little far from the main attractions. Price is not compatible with the service.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rodrigo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I stayed there for three nights in a single room.
Good location, excellent and helpful staff, great breakfast, good wifi, spacious room but could have been cleaner, good value for money, a bit old-fashioned, would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel has a great location, situated on the main high street; everything you have to see or tours to organise are within walking distance. Airport is just 15 min by bus/taxi (would recommend the taxi as it's almost the same price/if you not travelling alone, and driving you right to the hotel). Lovely, cosy little hotel with friendly and helpful staff members. The breakfast is a typical European breakfast style with tea/coffee/juice/milk, bread,salami,butter,eggs; some nutella,jams and some cereals.
Nice and warm room, floor heating in the bathroom. Bed could be more comfy, but it's ok for few nights.
Perfect hotel if you are staying for few days in Tromsø :)

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.7 km away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
188 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.5 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
535 reviews
0.8 km away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
473 reviews
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: €89 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing