We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$160
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$144
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$139
US$136
ClarionCollection
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$130
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$141
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$134
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveller rating
233
267
135
37
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
267
135
37
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightscatch the buscaviarbreakfast spreadquiet roomoutdoor activitiesrooms are nicethe main streetfree coffeebreakfast was amazingreception areacity centrejunior suitemidnight sunhotel is centrally locatedaurora chasingreception desk
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Before I arrived I asked if it was possible to have a room with a view and they promised to check if it was possible. So when I arrived I was given a room with a very nice room facing the harbour and with a great view of the mountains. Great service! The staff were very friendly, the breakfast was nice and plenty of it, the room was clean and what I expected. If you're not used to Scandic's style you may find it a bit empty of amenities. There are no little bottles of shampoo etc, no coffee making facilities in the room, no minibar and so on. But if you just want a comfy bed and a clean room with fluffy towels Scandic is just fine.

My one complaint would be that the wifi is not that great, the signal was a bit weak and whenever the phone or the tablet locked the wifi disconnected.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Resepsjonist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

We thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and we welcome you back if you ever visit Tromsø again. On behalf of team Grand, Elizabeth (Receptionist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We were a large group coming to Tromsø to experience this lovely city and tours. Hotel is centrally located and offers a great service as very well kept rooms, very good breakfast with multi choices that can satisfy all palates, free coffee and got drinks at lobby all day long and lovely and friendly staff. Good job

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NadaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Receptionist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hello and thank you so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us in Tromsø. We welcome you back again should you visit Tromsø in the furute. On behalf of Team Grand, Elizabeth (Receptionist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here on our honeymoon. Room was lovely with a great view over the harbour and looking across the bridge on to the Polar Cathedral. Clean, roomy and heated floor in bathroom. Great breakfast.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Resepsjonist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us on your honeymoon nonetheless! We welcome you back at any time. On behalf of Team Grand, Elizabeth (Receptionist)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

We were on honeymoon and the hotel was kind enough to give us a free upgrade to Junior suite! We were very shocked yet very happy about it! It was a pleasant surprise! The room was awesome and clean! We had a good view over to the harbour! It was snowing alot and cold outside but the room was very warm and toilet has heated flooring as well! It was a very nice stay! the only fault I can find is the cups in the room was too small. It's meant for the expresso but what about tea and hot water?

Breakfast
Good selection of food including the famous Norway brown cheese.

Location
Near to many meeting venues for tours. Flybussen bus (airport bus) stops here too!

Not so quiet room
We can people talking and laughing on the road. We are staying at level 7. This could be your concern if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jasflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Went to Tromso for the northern lights tour as the most central in the world to see them and booked at the scandic grand Tromso for its central location. It also one of the main stops outside for the bus to and from the airport. A quiet hotel for its size and the double room is very good with a bath/shower desk and chair and table . The wifi is very good no drop outs also the breakfast 7 - 10 is good hot and cold selections even serve salmon and caviar nice. The hotel is on the main central street not far from shops and the bars. Took me 35 mins to walk to the cable car station over the bridge. If I stay in Tromso again this will be my hotel to stay at and also scandic the brand for booking other Nordic stays.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank skellis51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews