We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Viking Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$152
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Thon Hotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$214
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$130
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
US$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
347
202
54
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
202
54
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroast restaurantgreat locationhotel doorairport busamazing breakfastbreakfast buffetfamily roombusy hoteljunior suitetours starti highly recommend this hotelsalmonwide selectioneasy walking distanceexcellent viewtours leavehurtigruten ship
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

My stay at Scandic Ishavshotel in Tromsø was a a real pleasure. The things I look for in a hotel room in particular filled the bill: clean bathroom with a nice tiled shower stall with 2 options for water delivery (waterfall & handspray). The TV was huge: HD with many channels, including dedicated HD channels. Room temperature (usually too hot and/or stuffy at most Norwegian hotels) was perfect! Only complaint: Opening the window to make it even cooler when I slept did not lower the temperature. I missed not having a thermostat I could adjust. Other things:; The restaurant (Roast) is good. Limited menu, but a whiff of a gourmet experience (hotel restaurants usually vastly overpriced and unsensational from a culinary standpoint). Prices were also good for what you got. The breakfast buffet is famed as the best in the region. Everything imaginable was available, and all well-prepared. The personnel behind the desk were unfailingly friendly and helpful during my entire 2-day stay. The hotel is right by the water, and most rooms have breathtaking views. Most things you'd want to do or see are within walking distance, and airport bus is just outside the main door (not the case with many Tromsø hotels).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the water and mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 18Stephen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear 18Stephen90,
Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Having stayed in several Scandic Hotels during this Globus Tour, we were so surprised to see that this standard room was larger, with a larger more comfortable bed too. We had a lovely corner view of the harbour which added to the ambiance. The bathroom great too. Very friendly staff.
The buffet breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner at The Roast Restaurant. The menu is limited but the food excellent, as was the service.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank yous o much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The hotel was in an excellent location but the main plus of our stay was the view out our window. Any room on the northeast side had an excellent view of the docks and bridge as well as mountains and church. The room was nicely furnished and very clean as well as comfortable. The hotel restaurant had a terrific buffet for breakfast. Couldn't ask for much better. Excellent variety that tasted great. It was within easy walking distance of a number of restaurants, souvenir shops, and local attractions. I would recommend to anyone looking for a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed50_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Brilliant four day stay here celebratiing a 60th birthday. Location, views and breakfasts all just as good as previously described....stayed in a junior suite on floor five with marvellous views of the harbour and the cathedral. (Also rendered us up close and personal with Hurtigruten ships and the beleaguered Poseidon ...that was quite diverting). .
Ate once in the evening at Roast...that was probably enough, there are some excellent restaurants about the centre of town.
Lovely stay, Tromso well worth the journey in summer .....thank you.

Room Tip: Harbour view amazing but comes with harbour activity....into the small hours.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear DJH2,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review! it means a lot :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, great view and next to the pier in Tromsø and 1 minute walking distanse to centrum.
Parking place on the outside (with app).
Big rooms, perfect breakfast (and plenty of bacon).
Some noice from boats at the quai.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Kvalitetsreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie A, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ishavshotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Kvalitetsreise,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel. Hope you enjoyed your stay with us! See you soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews